Book Notification

Clare MacKintosh Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of DC Morgan Books

The Last Party (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Game of Lies (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

I Let You Go (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
I See You (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Let Me Lie (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
After the End (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Understudy (With: Sophie Hannah,B.A. Paris,Holly Brown) (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hostage (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

A Cotswold Family Life (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
I Promise It Won't Always Hurt Like This: 18 Assurances on Grief (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Dead Simple(2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
First Edition: Celebrating 21 Years of Goldsboro Books(2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

An established freelance writer and a promising woman of letters who had overnight success, Clare MacKintosh is a tricenarian British author. Even though she debuted relatively recently, she already has two bestsellers under her belt. It is tempting to be carried away by the perception that Clare MacKintosh has written merely two books. However, one of her two books has a whooping thirty one translated versions. Her literary work encompasses mystery and thriller genres.

Who is this woman behind these instant hits? Meet Clare MacKintosh. She was born in the late 1970s and is currently aged 39. Her birthplace is Bristol, England, in the United Kingdom. Between 1988 and 1995, she attended Aylesbury High School, a regional grammar school, where she learned English, German, and French. Then she proceeded to the Engham-based Royal Holloway, a constituent of the University of London, where she schooled between 1995 and 1999.

She majored in French and management, and graduated with a Bachelor of Arts (Honors). This course expected the prospective undergraduates to have hands-on experience after theoretical studies. MacKintosh traveled to Paris accordingly. She lived among the French people for one year, working as a polyglot secretary all the while. She is married to Rob, who is also a police officer, and they have three children excluding a boy who died of meningitis at infancy.

Clare MacKintosh: Previous Inspiring Profession
Clare MacKintosh, who has been a policewoman, was prompted to joining the Thames Valley Police by a film that she watched. At one time, she worked in its criminal investigation department. She joined the force as a police constable in January 2004, a position she held for the next four years before, in January 2008, being promoted to a police sergeant. Subsequently, she was promoted to a police inspector in January 2008 and she held that position until September 2011 when she sought a career break. Her request was granted and she used her leave, which was two years, to conduct a pilot project which involved freelance writing gigs.

Her study was propitious and thus she quit the police force, bring a twelve-year-long career to an end. While still policing, she used to be a blogger and often freelanced for notable publications. A particular mind-boggling incident, which involved hit-and-run, immensely inspired her and it is reflected on her first book.

Clare MacKintosh: Formative Years of Publishing
Clare MacKintosh is a circumstantial writer. As a policewoman, her work revolved around writing daily reports which ranged from courtroom work to performance appraisals to witnesses’ recounts. Her job paid well and was pleasurable but stifled and discouraged a creative mind. So when her freelance writing ambition, which she opined she could discard anytime if the pilot project flopped, proved viable a year into her break, she quit the police. And so she started writing fiction.

The first novel-length manuscript of Clare MacKintosh was more or less chick literature. Even though it was not astounding as such, it caught a literary agent’s eye. The agent encouraged and gave MacKintosh tips and tricks for successful manuscript submissions. As a fledgling writer, she had little knowledge on the bureaucracy associated with traditional publishing houses and the literary agents.

Clare MacKintosh drafted her first book in January 2012 which she completed by autumn 2012. By and by, the manuscript reached Sheila Crowley, a literary agent at Curtis Brown and the manuscript was eventually published by Little, Brown Book Group. In the meantime, MacKintosh drafted other books.

I Let You Go: A Summary
The first book published by Clare MacKintosh is titled I Let You Go and it was first published on November 2014. Jenna Gray is the featured protagonist in the book. Gray is tormented by a plethora of frequent flashbacks. The reasons boil down to a life-changing hit-and-run incident which happened at night in November. Jacob, the victim, was a child aged five and the apple of her mother’s eye; in a moment of distraction the boy joyously crossed the road and was hit by an oncoming car; Gray, the driver, bolted for it to avoid being fingered. She tries to seek solace in a far-flung and isolated coastal cottage located in Wales.

I See You: A Summary
The second book produced by Clare MacKintosh is titled I See You and was published on July 2016. The featured protagonist in this book, which is a psychological thriller, is Zoe Walker. Walker, who is a middle-aged woman, chanced upon her picture which has been inserted in a newspaper advertisement announcing and proclaiming that she is an escort. Other clueless women whose images have featured there have ended up being raped or, in extreme circumstances, murdered. Fearing for her safety and life, Walker, who has signs of paranoia, starts unearthing the mysterious advertiser behind the scary advertisements.

Clare MacKintosh: TV Shows
There are currently no film adaptations of books written by Clare MacKintosh. However, Loose Women Book Club has since selected her book titled I Let You Go for a program in the ITV network.

Clare MacKintosh: Awards and Praises
In the short time Clare MacKintosh has been writing, she has been awarded two awards. Her first book clinched the Theakston’s Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year Award. Surprisingly, the book even floored J.K. Rowling’s book which had also been awarded for the said award. In 2016, Te Laisser Partir, the French version of I See You, won the Cognac Festival Prix du Polar under the category of the Best International Novel. A week into the sales, this book has featured in the bestselling listing of Sunday Times, coming numbering three.

Clare MacKintosh: Current Life and Writing Rituals
Clare MacKintosh, who is a full-time writer, doubles as a feature writer and has worked with various notable publications among them Good Housekeeping Guardian, Sainsbury’s Magazine, and Daily Mail. She is a patron of the charity-oriented Silver Star society since October 2015. Furthermore, she founded Chipping Norton Literary Festival in September 2011 where she is also a trustee. She always carries a notebook with her when she is on the go for jotting down spur-of-the-moment ideas. Another writing ritual is writing while sipping wine, munching, and clad in pajamas. She is domiciled in Cotsworlds, England.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Clare MacKintosh

One Response to “Clare MacKintosh”

  1. Gerda Cohen: 3 years ago

    Love her walks right now I am completely serious hooked on “hostage!”
    I love thrillers


Leave a Reply