Book Notification

Claribel A. Ortega Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Witchlings Books

Witchlings (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Golden Frog Games (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Anthologies

Reclaim the Stars: 17 Tales Across Realms & Space(2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Our Shadows Have Claws: 15 Latin American Monster Stories(2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

About Claribel A. Ortega

As an acclaimed American author, Claribel A. Ortega has made her mark on the literary world with her riveting fantasy novels. Leaving behind her former career as a journalist, she now dedicates herself to crafting enchanting narratives for middle-grade and young adult audiences. These narratives derive inspiration from her Dominican roots, as well as her fascination with eighties pop culture, video-games, and magic. Thanks to her skillful character creation, her works have captivated countless readers and earned her a spot on the New York Times Bestseller list.

Ortega’s passion for storytelling isn’t limited to her writing; she also co-hosts a podcast named Bad Author Book Club. In this platform, she shares a different side of herself, speaking about the world of celebrity written fiction. Through her engaging narratives, Ortega’s capacity to weave engrossing tales readily becomes apparent in all her pursuits. Her ability to expertly craft personas and protagonists contributes significantly to the entertainment value of her works, making her a celebrated author in the fantasy genre.

Claribel’s influence extends beyond the realm of novel-writing, with her pieces appearing in various notable platforms. Marvel, the famous comic book company, features her contributions, reflecting her versatility as a writer. Successful media sites such as Good Morning America, Buzzfeed, Bustle, and Deadline have also acknowledged her exceptional writing skills. Clearly, Claribel A. Ortega’s diverse writing career and her extraordinary storytelling abilities make her one of the leading voices in young adult fantasy fiction.

Early and Personal Life

Hailing from The Bronx in the United States, the renowned children’s fantasy author Claribel A. Ortega’s origin story is as multifaceted as the tales she spins. Growing up, she was immersed in an environment which served as a vibrant tapestry of real-life stories, shaping her natural inclination towards literature. Taking inspiration from the world around her, she would put it all back into her work and writing.

Developing an early passion for reading and writing, she would soon come to realize how impactful storytelling could be. As she discovered different worlds and characters within the pages of her beloved books, she nurtured her interest in penning her own narratives. These experiences, soaked in the magic of words and imagination, sowed the seeds for her successful career in writing fantasy novels for young readers.

Over time, Ortega’s passion for written words evolved into a profound understanding of literature, helping her inspire, entertain and connect with her audience. Drawing from her rich childhood experiences and diverse cultural background, she creates captivating fictional worlds that resonate deeply with her readers. Today, as an eminent writer, she continues to enchant young readers, constantly growing and reinventing herself in the limitless realm of fantasy literature.

Writing Career

Claribel A. Ortega has established herself as a highly respected author, adding an impressive list of books to her name. She launched her writing career with the ‘Witchlings’ series; ‘Witchlings’ was published in 2022, and its sequel, ‘The Golden Frog Games,’ was later released in 2023.

Additionally, she wrote the standalone novel ‘Ghost Squad’ in 2020, which has since become a bestselling novel and has even been adapted into a full-length movie.

Ortega continued to make significant strides in her career with the release of her graphic novel, ‘Frizzy,’ in collaboration with Rose Bousamra in 2022. ‘Frizzy’ was a recipient of the prestigious 2023 Pura Belpré Award for Children’s Text and also made its mark as an Indie Bestseller. Her book ‘Witchlings’ received exceptional acknowledgement, achieving an Instant New York Times Bestseller status and taking the number one spot on the Indie Bestseller list.

As she continues her writing journey, readers eagerly anticipate what this accomplished author will bring to their shelves next.


Released on October 18, 2022, the middle-grade graphic novel ‘Frizzy’ is the collaborative work of author Claribel A. Ortega and illustrator Rose Bousamra. The book was published by First Second. Just a year later, in 2023, ‘Frizzy’ achieved notable recognition, winning the prestigious Will Eisner Award and the Pura Belpré Award.

Marlene cherishes three things in her life: her books, her hip Tía Ruby, and her best buddy Camila. Much to her dismay, her mother Paola insists that she straighten her hair every weekend to meet societal standards of “good hair.” Distressed over the constant salon sessions and the implied criticism of her natural curls, Marlene feels disheartened.

Yet, with a mix of awkward moments, the support of her best friend, Camila, and Tía Ruby, she embarks on a journey to embrace and proudly sport her curly locks.

The Golden Frog Games

The children’s mystery fantasy, ‘The Golden Frog Games,’ was another hit crafted by Claribel A. Ortega, arriving on May 2, 2023. This exciting release, which is the sequel in the beloved ‘Witchlings’ series, was brought to print by Scholastic Press.

In the mystical Ravenskill, twelve-year-old Seven Salazar eagerly anticipates gaining her witching powers at the Black Moon Ceremony alongside her favorite ally. However, in a twist of fate, she finds herself in an unfairly judged Spare coven. The underwhelming ritual, meant to solidify their sisterhood, doesn’t activate; leaving them powerless.

Defying these odds, the trio undertakes a formidable task: should they triumph, they will receive their anticipated abilities, but failure promises an eternal toad existence. Against all odds, the potency of friendship might just prove to be their most extraordinary enchantment yet.

Ghost Squad

Claribel A. Ortega’s first book, called ‘Ghost Squad,’ hit the shelves on April 7, 2020, with Scholastic serving as its publisher. The magic of this debut work was acknowledged when it clinched a nomination for the Goodreads Children’s Choice Award that very year. It’s been labelled as ‘Stranger Things’ meets ‘Coco’ and ‘Ghostbusters.’

Lucely Luna, who has a unique bond with spirits, accidentally unleashes harmful ghosts into St. Augustine due to a spell gone wrong. Together with her best buddy Syd, Syd’s witchy grandmother Babette, and a chubby cat named Chunk, they must confront the eerie menace.

They are focused on reversing the curse and defending both their town and Lucely’s cherished firefly spirits from disaster.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Claribel A. Ortega

Leave a Reply