Book Notification

Clifford Irving Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Eddie Mancuso & Vasily Borgneff Books

The Death Freak (1978)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Sleeping Spy (With: Herbert Burkholz) (1983)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Legal Novels Books

Trial (1990)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Final Argument (1993)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Spring (1996)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Boy on Trial (2014)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Losers (1959)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Stranger (1961)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Valley (1962)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The 38th Floor (1968)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Project Octavio (1976)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Tom Mix and Pancho Villa (1982)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Angel of Zin (1984)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Clash by Night (2014)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Bloomberg Discovers America (2011)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Congress of Baboons (2014)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Spy (1968)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Fake! The Story of Elmyr de Hory, the Greatest Art Forger of Our Time (1969)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Battle of Jerusalem (1970)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
What Really Happened (1972)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Hoax (1981)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Howard Hughes (1982)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Daddy's Girl (1988)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Clifford Irving's Prison Journal (2014)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Anthologies

After Berkeley: Objectif Exhibitions, 2010-2011(2012)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Clifford Irving

Clifford Irving was born on November 5, 1930 and was an American investigative reporter and novelist. He died in December of 2017 at the age of 77.

While he was alive, he traveled the world twice, crewed a 56 foot schooner that sailed on the stormy Atlantic from Mexico over to France, stood guard in an Israeli kibbutz. During one spring he lived on Dal Lake on a houseboat, and from here he rode a horse to get into Tibet. Clifford also made the cover of Time Magazine.

He is best remembered for the “autobiography” that was allegedly written as told to Irving by Howard Hughes, a writing event he set up in the year 1970. This fictional work was supposed to have been published in the year 1972, however after Hughes denounced Irving and sued McGraw-Hill, the publisher of the book, Irving and his collaborators on the project confessed the hoax.

For this hoax, he spent sixteen months in three different federal prisons, something he detailed in his prison journal. This is due to the White House worrying about Hughes’ revelations of bribery on Nixon’s part to approve the break-in at Watergate. But this was something for another writer to tell.

Three high points in his life, he feels, are battling the chess champion of Spain to a draw during a simultaneous exhibition in the year 1958. Driving in the winning run during the annual East Hampton Writers v Artists Softball Game thirty years later. Finally, he published twelve of his twenty novels simultaneous event to both Barnes & Noble Nook and Amazon’s Kindle. He work on getting the rest of these books transferred into ebook form by the year 2014.

While growing up in Manhattan, he studied painting at the High School of Music and Art and went to Cornell University. Here, he chased after some gorgeous and unconquerable Ivy League coeds, wrote some romantic poetry, and rowed on the crew. It was also here he realized he was not the greatest of artists and instead wanted to become a great writer, instead.

After Cornell, he worked in the New York Times’ newsroom, and sailed to Europe in the year 1953 to make his dream of being a writer a reality. He hiked from France to Spain, and found the then unspoiled Mediterranean Island of Ibiza. Here somebody could live on just sixty bucks a month, and he settled down here and wrote his first novel.

After he finished the book, he shipped it off to some literary agent in New York. She liked the book, a miracle to Clifford, and she shopped it around before it was published by G. P. Putnam’s Sons. It was not that quick and not that easy, though. Clifford was both lucky and determined.

After teaching in the year 1961 at UCLA graduate extension school, with Cary Grant and Betsy Drake being among his pupils, he went to work for NBC as a correspondent to the Middle East.

Sometimes, Clifford believed that his novel “Tom Mix and Pancho Villa” was his best work of fiction. This is despite his legal thrillers “Daddy’s Girl”, “Final Argument”, and “Trial” are the hottest sellers. Clifford always stood by each and every one of his books equally.

“On A Darkling Plain” is the first stand alone novel, which was released in the year 1956. Barbie, Fletch, Joe, Pete, Mike, and Liz want sex, money, and their freedom, without any cop out or compromise. The book shows that the discovery that life without any illusions can be just as tough as a life with too many.

Irving’s spontaneous exuberance in portraying characters is on par with other writers like Hemingway and Fitzgerald. This is a fine debut that is feverish and memorable, thrilling and frantic. Irving’s career as a novelist is kick started by this vibrant and vital, sensitive and bold book, a story where young folk attack their lives dead on.

“The Losers” is the second stand alone novel, which was released in the year 1959. Best friends fight for a dangerous woman’s love, a femme fatale. The Losers are all gorgeous people that hold all the cards, but are unable to keep from losing in the game of life.

The story has been called a shocking one that is told with much vigor. The book is a serious one that has been built out of thriller elements. The telling is its strongest point, in the economical and clear narrative through which the author is able to create these unforgettable characters. This is before he works them right into a powerful situation that explodes with dynamite force.

“The 38th Floor” is the fourth stand alone novel, which was released in the year 1965. The world is teetering on the brink of war as John Burden, an African American, gets elevated to be the acting Secretary-American of the UN. Soon, while he takes exception to the U. S. position, he soon finds himself in danger of going down in the history of his country as “the great black traitor”.

The book begins with a threat of nuclear conflict with the Chinese and it ends with a rather desperate manhunt through Manhattan streets.

Here is some smashing skullduggery, complete with chases, shadowings, and a marvelous finish. This is some high-powered political fiction, one that is a powerful and illuminating read. It deals eloquently with the threat from the Chinese.

“Tom Mix and Pancho Villa” is the sixth stand alone novel, which was released in the year 1982. In the year 1913, a young Tom Mix meets with the revolutionary Pancho Villa. He travels with his band across Mexico during a journey that opens his eyes to violence, love, life, and violence, as well as his own illusions.

This is one of the great and overlooked masterpieces ever written. The story telling shows one master writer at work, and proves he is one writer that has got total mastery of the craft. This is an excellent adventure story, as well as being an examination of a revolution, a philosophical treatise on nature, and a historical fantasy.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Clifford Irving

One Response to “Clifford Irving”

  1. Gary: 3 years ago

    Clifford Irving was a great character and a fine writer.


Leave a Reply