Book Notification

Columbo Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Columbo (Tor) Books

The Grassy Knoll (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Helter Skelter Murders (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Hoffa Connection (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Game Show Killer (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Glitter Murders (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Hoover Files (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon

William G. Harrington is one of the most prolific mystery writers of all times. He has authored more than 25 books including Columbo series and “The English First Lady.” If you have never read a book by this author then there is a lot that you are missing in the mystery genre of books. The series Columbo is made up of six books that will leave you earning for more once you lay a hand on them. The series talks about a detective, a role played by Peter Falk. He has also contributed to many research books written by different authors from all over the world including the likes of Harold Robbins, Margaret Truman as well as Elliott Roosevelt just to mention a few of them. Harrington was born in Marietta, Ohio to a family of an oil producer. After completing his primary education he joined Duke University and Ohio State University, where he came out with a degree in the field of law. Thereafter, he practiced law for over 20 years starting from the year 1985. During this time, he was producing books but at a steady pace. Some of the books he wrote during this period include “Which the Justice, Which the Thief,” “The Cromwell File” and “The Jupiter Crisis,” among others. He decided to become a fulltime writer in the year 1980. Here are two of his first books in the series Columbo you must read as soon as possible if you have never seen them before.

Columbo: The Grassy Kroll is the first book written by this author that feature detective Lieutenant Columbo, a role that was played by the talented and able the late Peter Falk in the television series. This is one of the series that will make to fall in love with this author even more. The grassy Kroll as the title of this book simply refers to the place where the former US president John F. Kennedy was assassinated. The story is compelled to delve into this tragic incident when a detective attempts to unveils the truth behind the murder of a television show host who wanted to share with the world about who is likely to have killed the former US president JF. Kennedy. The author did an excellent job in portraying the detective. Regardless of you take on the mystery in the story, I believe the fans of the series will have enough reasons to read it over and over. When we look at the winning television series, there is no doubt that Columbo is one of the best. In fact, this is one of the books that you can read all day long without thinking about anything. The choice of words and characters of this book make it one of a kind. I have read the book repeatedly and every time I read I discover something new. The creativeness used by Harrington will leave you in awe. The puzzle in this book is less directed towards who committed the crime than how the detective deals with the incident at hand. The talented, powerful and energetic television host Paul Drury is killed in cold blood by his ex-spouse as well as besotted lover who is a show producer. Detective is presented with the case so that he can find the person behind the tragic incident. The city is all about television business, gambling, crazies, Vegas mobsters and other things that you can either hate or love depending on who you are. At the center of the killing is the slyly polite detective who works hard to uncover the criminals. Despite the fact that the ex wife tells those who undertook the murder that the detective is not as dumb as he appears, they do not believe her words until they realize it is too late to escape the hand of the law. The author puts his facts right and will be surprised with the way he outlines his facts throughout the book that has been the love of many readers from different classes. The next time you feel like reading anything about mystery, ensure that you grab a copy of this book or the entire series to see what Harrington has to say.


As the second book in this series, Columbo: The helter skelter murders is also a great book that makes this series to stand out from others you might have read at some point in your life. The wife an affluent Los Angeles owner by the name of Arlene Khoury is discovered dead in her bed by her lover. The scene looks similar to that of the murder of Sharon Tate that occurred over twenty five years earlier. The detective has to establish whether the horrific incident can take place once again. The first suspect in this case is Puss Dogwood (sic) who is the secretary of the murdered woman as well as a former cultist and lover to Charles mansion. To find out the truth about the incident, the detective has no choice but to face the evil incarnate. Columbo was not the first to arrive at the scene among detectives. There are two others who had been informed about the same and they arrived at the scene in time. The author has written so many books featuring Columbo but not on television shows whereby he got mixed up by real persons. We realized that Columbo was one of the detectives that were tasked to investigate killings that had occurred in the family earlier on and he did an amazing job.

In conclusion, William Harrington is simply the best author of mystery books. He has written several books that will motivate you to look for more of his work. One of his greatest series is Columbo. This series is all about detective Columbo efforts to disclose murders under different circumstances. The author has done a great job in displaying different characters in this book. The plot and diction of the series makes it worth reading. You can purchase his books online and find out more about the detective.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Columbo

Leave a Reply