Book Notification

Commander Grimes Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Commander Grimes Books

Rendezvous on a Lost World (1961)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Deep Reaches of Space (1967)Description / Buy at Amazon
Catch the Star Winds (1969)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Far Traveler (1977)Description / Buy at Amazon
To Keep the Ship (1978)Description / Buy at Amazon
Matilda's Stepchildren (1979)Description / Buy at Amazon
Star Loot (1980)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Anarch Lords (1981)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Wild Ones (1984)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Last Amazon (1984)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tramp Captain (1990)Description / Buy at Amazon
Lieutenant Of The Survey Service (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
Survey Captain (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Rim Runner (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
Reserve Commodore (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon

Arthur Bertram Chandler was born on March 28, 1912, in Aldershot, England and is an exceedingly famous Australian based author. Chandler also wrote under the pen names of George Whitley, S.H.M, and Andrew Dunstan. He served as a marine merchant officer, thus sailing throughout the world on every tramp steamers. In the year 1956, he emigrated to Australia and eventually became an Australian citizen. Chandler commanded numerous ships in the New Zealand and Australian merchant navies. He was the last master of HMAS, an Australian Aircraft Carrier since the law required that it should have an officer aboard, while it was waiting to be taken back to China so that it could be broken up.

Commander Grimes Books

The Rim of Space is the second book in the Commander Grimes book series. In this book, the author introduces the reader to Derek Calver, who has just recently touched down on an industrial hub, Rim Runner. He is more than determined to join the industrial hub so that he could explore the desolate Rim planet. Eventually, Calver manages to join the crew of Lorn Lady and sets of for Mellise, a planet, which has been inhabited by a race of exceedingly intelligent amphibians. The inhabitants of this planet have slightly qualified to be humanoids and also had the beginnings of space travel. Stree was home to tea loving deep-thinking lizards, while Tharn was home to a preindustrial civilization. As Calver was traveling towards the edge of the Rim, he had the experience of encountering the lure of the life that is beyond, warped by the unknown infinity.

Derek is the protagonist in this installment. The Rim worlds have been attempting to separate from the grip of the centralists, The Federation, which has been ruling the confederacies of the inner galaxy. The human worlds of the Rim are exceedingly bleak, industrialized frontier settlements, however, beyond these human worlds, lie several other worlds. Most of the worlds beyond the human worlds are alien worlds where the traders are more than determined to establish agreements with the remaining races before the centralists, do. With that said, Calver was one an officer who used to serve in the Federation fleet before he eventually joined the French Foreign Legion. Having played a key role in destabilizing an old-fashioned, feudal system, Calver now travels on Lord Lady, where he quickly rises through the various ranks. All in all, this is a cozy read, that is exceedingly interesting and tends to avoid the extreme separation of the sexes and the hyper-masculinity that is a common trait with some of the novels of the time.

With that being Said, the aliens that the author has created are exceedingly simple and can be considered much similar to Johnny Foreigners who appear in the form of green-skinned warlords and tea drinking lizards. One of the most realistic and interesting aspects of this novel, is Leaven, the Psionic Radio Officer, who intensifies his telepathic powers by making use of the brain tissues of a dog, that was kept alive within a glass container. This story has numerous episodes; there are numerous encounters with spies who have been sent from a distrustful Federation central government and entanglements with the native populations that were involved in the civil wars.

To Keep the Ship is another excellent read in the Commander Grimes book series. The book begins as John Grimes is at the lowest point in his career. The Amin reason as to why Grimes is stuck due to his inability to pay the port dues, various fines, and the legal expenses. As all this was happening, his little sister was still behind bars. In this book, Grimes is forced to shift from one job to the next , and in some cases he was forced to change his loyalty. However, irrespective of everything that Grimes was going through, he was still the owner of a small vessel which was made of pure gold. Nonetheless, Grimes still used his small ship to rune errands. As all this was happening, Grimes was still lonely and had no one by his side. Thus he was forced to turn to alcohol so that he could forget his predicaments.

Later on in the Cookbook, Commander Grimes falls directly into the clutches of terrorists. Susie together with her comrades was pushing for a cause and Grimes was more than determined to keep the one thing that he had. At some point in the novel, Grimes has forced off a ship that was full of mini-studies; some exceedingly little homunculi’s which looked exceedingly similar to their sexy prototypes. The only downfall is that the homunculi’s were sharp-toothed, exceedingly hungry and their only cause was to ensure that they have eaten Commander Grimes alive. Another great read in this series is the Far Traveler. The Far Traveler was not the ideal ship to use especially when one is studying colonies. There was a high chance that the lost colonies would not only be desperate but also eccentric and unappreciative. This novel is the story of a rich woman’s space toy, that was constructed out of pure gold.

An omniscient, Tyrannical and feminine computer that was widely known as the Big Sister mainly directed it. Just like all the previous books in this series, John Grimes is the captain of the golden ship. He was a captain by name only because it was clearly apparent that no one had the ability or confidence to talk to the big sister. Furthermore, Captain Grimes could not talk to the haughty beauty who was the proprietor of the ship. However, Captain Grimes was a man who had numerous resources at his disposal. Upon traveling to the lost colonies Captain Grimes discovers that all these colonies did follow the civilized rules that other colonies were following. In the Far Traveler, the author addresses numerous issues such as tourism and fake cultures. One of the major tourist attraction in this novel, which was full of luxury hotel, Emporia native artifacts and gambling casinos. With that said, this is an excellent book that will keep you entertained as Captain Grimes traverses through the lost colonies.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Commander Grimes

Leave a Reply