Book Notification

Company of Archers Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Company of Archers Books

The Archers (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Archer's Castle (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Archer's Return (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Archer's War (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Rescuing The Hostages (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Kings and Crusaders (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Archer's Gold (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Missing Treasure (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Castling The King (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sea Warriors (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Captain's Men (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Gulling The Kings (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Magna Carta Decision (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The War of The Kings (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Company's Revenge (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Ransom (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The New Commander (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Gold Coins (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Empire Has No Gold (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Alchemist's Revenge (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fatal Mistakes (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Venetian Gambit (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Today's Friends (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The English Gambit (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The London Gambit (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Windsor Deception (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The New King's Brother (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dawn of the Windsors (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Company of Archers series by Martin Archer
Author Martin Archer pens the “Company of Archers” series of historical novels. These books combine family saga with military historical fiction. The series began publication, when “The Archers” was released.
The series is set in medieval Britain, which at this time is a brutal and dangerous land. This is during the times of King John and King Richard, before the Magna Carta. It forces a lot of Englishmen to either join the crusades in order to escape their fates and seek their own fortunes or become mercenaries.

There was great upheaval in Britain, while the barons rose up against the king, Islamic pirates coming from the Barbary Coast fought for control of the Mediterranean, and the Saracens lashed out against Christians because they broke a truce.
The books focus on brothers, William and Thomas. Thomas is a Priest, while William is an archer. William has a son, named George.

“The Archers” is the first novel in the “Company of Archers” series, which was released in the year 2014. Swords clash, arrows fly, church men and nobles are culled out of their coin, and the Venetians and French are successfully blamed for things they are not responsible for.

An Englishman rises through the ranks to become a company of archers’ captain. He then leads its survivors back to England from King Richard’s ongoing crusade. As a result of the intense fighting, not all of the archers make it back. Some of the former free men and serfs do make it back, and are now hardened veterans determined to improve their own lot in this world.

This is an exciting read that fantastically starts off Martin’s epic saga of novels. The story itself is very interesting, and the book is simply and clearly written. Martin Archer clearly did extensive research when writing these books and he tells it from the perspectives of different characters.

“The Archer’s Castle” is the second novel in the “Company of Archers” series, which was released in the year 2014. William, Thomas, and George finally make it to feudal England with what is left of the surviving archers and have become embroiled with the Earl of Cornwall in a war that is going to change England forever.

Fans found the story telling in this one to be just as good as the first one, and they were just as captivated this time around. The book moves quickly and serves as light reading. Readers have quickly gotten hooked on these books and cannot wait to pick up the next one in the series.

“The Archer’s Return” is the third novel in the “Company of Archers” series, which was released in the year 2015. William leaves George (his son) and Thomas (William’s brother) in England and goes back to the ports of the Holy Land with his galleys and company’s ranks filled up with some newly recruited archers. They are armed with bladed pikes and long bows, in order to earn coin for his men and his family by helping the refugees escape from the victorious Saracens.

They carry merchants and pilgrims between the different crusader ports. The whole time, they go against Moorish pirates, who are dominating the Mediterranean Sea and Barbary Coast.

The book is an exciting and well written read. Martin Archer has an interesting style when he writes these books. The personal stories of these main characters are starting to get fleshed out and emerge. Fans found the section on the system of surnames coming into existence interesting.

“The Archer’s War” is the fourth novel in the “Company of Archers” series, which was released in the year 2015. Blood is spilled, battles result, and ladies become won and lost as William and Thomas come back from the crusades. As they learn King Richard appointed somebody else to be the Earl of Cornwall.

Fans found this to be another book from this series that was just tough to put down, and is a well written novel that sets a brisk pace. Archer describes the battle preparations well, and how certain things will be messed up because of little things.

“Rescuing the Hostages” is the fifth novel in the “Company of Archers” series, which was released in the year 2015. William and the new recruits and the survivors of the company of archers have a successful raid of Tunis coming back to the Holy Land from England.

Instead of continuing their journey to the Holy Land ports in order to get their coin and bread while carrying desperate refugees and pilgrims to safety, they go to Constantinople. Here, they attack the dwindling Byzantine fleet to try to save a few of their fellow archers that got captured and are being held for ransom. They are trying to reap so much destruction and devastation to turn the tables and they get paid to leave.

This is an action-packed piece of historical fiction that makes for some outstanding reading. Readers like how Martin Archer is able to give them the flavor and atmosphere of these times. Fans enjoy these books and find they fly right on through each one they pick up.

“Kings and Crusaders” is the sixth novel in the “Company of Archers” series, which was released in the year 2015. Richard has died and John is set to take his place as king. Action and excitement occur while Pope Innocent III calls for yet another crusade in order to free Jerusalem as well as the cities of the Holy Land.

Thomas, William’s priestly brother as well as the archers get involved when the Pope asks Thomas to aid one of his assistants to carry a “cease and desist” letter to the crusaders. It is a letter that some of the leaders of the crusaders as well as their Venetian allies know about. They are even willing to go to war in order to keep it from being delivered.

These books are fantastic and compelling read and simply brilliant. The characters are complex and enough twists and turns to continue to keep you guessing throughout.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Company of Archers

Leave a Reply