Book Notification

Connie Briscoe Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of P.G. County Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Sisters & Lovers (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
Big Girls Don't Cry (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Long Way from Home (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sisters & Husbands (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Money Can't Buy Love (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
You Never Know (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Jewels: 50 Phenomenal Black Women Over 50 (With: Michael Cunningham) (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon

About Connie Briscoe

Connie Briscoe is a much-loved author from America who specializes in creating mesmerizing historical and romantic pieces of fiction. She received acclaim for her initial novel, ‘Sisters and Lovers,’ in 1994, which quickly gained popularity, selling an impressive 500,000 copies in its first two years in both hard and paperback editions.

Briscoe’s knack for crafting relatable characters and captivating protagonists makes her works a delight for readers. This exceptional talent of hers makes her stories highly entertaining and keeps her audience glued to her books. Her writing competence shines through, making her narratives not only compelling, but engaging as well.

Darryl Dickson-Carr, a notable critic, described Briscoe as a superior author who emerged and benefitted from the surge in African American literature started in the early ’90s. This was triggered by the publication of Terry McMillan’s renowned book, ‘Waiting to Exhale,’ in 1992.

Briscoe’s vivid stories and riveting characters continually contribute to and advance this genre, captivating readers far and wide.

Early and Personal Life

Constance Briscoe, soon to be a well-known author, was born in Washington, D.C., on the final day of 1952. From an early age, she had a hearing impairment, becoming completely deaf by the time she was thirty. However, she learned to lip-read and didn’t let this hinder her progress.

Briscoe’s childhood was spent in Silver Spring, Maryland. Here, she started to enjoy reading and writing, which set the foundation for her future career as an author. Her passion for storytelling grew steadily over time.

She went to Hampton University, where she finished with a bachelor’s degree in 1974. Later, she got her Master of Public Administration degree from American University in 1978. These experiences deepened her knowledge and contributed to her growth as a writer.

Writing Career

Connie Briscoe initially worked as a research analyst and an editorial assistant, leveraging her passion for words in these roles. She eventually served as the managing editor for American Annals of the Deaf, a professional journal produced by Gallaudet University Press. During her time at Gallaudet, Briscoe took the opportunity to learn American Sign Language and become immersed in the deaf community.

It was while working here that she penned her first novel, ‘Sisters and Lovers,’ a story focusing on the dating lives of three young Black sisters. Encouraged by the success of this novel, she transitioned to being a full-time professional author.

Briscoe has, over the years, written several books with a unique focus on generating positive narratives about contemporary Black women. Following the publication of her first book in 1994, she has released numerous other works, including ‘Big Girls Don’t Cry’ and ‘A Long Way from Home.’ Her contributions to literature and helping pioneer a new literary form have not gone unnoticed.

In 2000, she received the Amos Kendall Award for her excellence in a non-deafness related field. Additionally, her book ‘A Long Way From Home’ was nominated for one of the prestigious NAACP Image Awards. With these accolades, Briscoe has certainly made her mark as a significant figure in literature, and she continues to create more works to this day.

A Long Way from Home

The historical novel ‘A Long Way from Home’ was written by Connie Briscoe. This remarkable work made its debut in 1999, adding another feather in Briscoe’s literary cap. It was published through Avon.

The story itself highlights the traumatic experiences of an enslaved family – a mother, daughter, and grandmother, living on the Montpelier plantation in Virginia. It begins with Susie and Clara, serving as house slaves for President James Madison and his wife. Complications arise with Madison’s brutal stepson, leading to Clara succumbing to recurrent sexual abuse.

A significant shift occurs when granddaughter Susan, also Susie’s namesake, is unwillingly sold to a Richmond family, inspiring thoughts of possible liberation as the Civil War breaks out.

Money Can’t Buy Love

‘Money Can’t Buy Love’ was a later romance novel penned by Connie Briscoe. It came out to the readers in 2011. Grand Central Publishing was responsible for bringing the book to market.

Lenora Stone, a 38-year-old photographer on the Baltimore Scene, finds herself wrestling with financial stress and a stagnant relationship with her boyfriend Gerald. Her situation drastically changes when she wins the Maryland lottery, instantly transforming her life into a fairytale complete with a shiny BMW, a million-dollar mansion, and a highly anticipated proposal from Gerald.

Unexpectedly, her newfound wealth redirects the spotlight on her, upsetting old friends and sparking a personal interest from Ray, a young landscaper she had previously worked with professionally. Interestingly, things start to fall apart just when Lenora’s life appears to be coming together, making her question whether her sudden wealth is truly a blessing.

Sisters & Lovers

‘Sisters & Lovers,’ a contemporary romance novel, marked the debut of author Connie Briscoe. It was first presented to the readers on April 5, 1994, as the inaugural book in the ‘Three Sisters’ series. One World/Ballantine was the publisher who released it.

Beverly, Charmaine, and Evelyn are three sisters from Maryland who each seek changes in their lives. Beverly, a 29-year-old successful magazine editor, yearns for an equally impressive romantic partner. On the other hand, Charmaine manages a challenging job, a child, and an unreliable husband all while aiming to finish her degree.

Lastly, Evelyn, with her thriving psychology practice and successful lawyer husband, seems exceedingly fortunate, yet she is unwilling to address the underlying issues brewing within her seemingly perfect life.

Can’t Get Enough

The romantic drama ‘Can’t Get Enough’ is another work from Connie Briscoe’s pen. It was unveiled to readers on April 26, 2005. Marking the second installment in the ‘P.G. County’ series, it was brought out by Doubleday.

Barbara Bentley, P.G. County’s prominent figure, is slowly embracing a new lifestyle, ditching the alcohol habit that played a part in her troubled marriage to Bradford, a millionaire with a weakness for shallow women. After nearly a year of sobriety, her self-esteem improves, fueled by her real estate job and the unexpected affection of an attractive young coworker.

However, Bradford’s scheming ex-lover, Jolene, is still yearning for a status that seems far from her grasp. Her husband, Patrick, leaves her for Pearl, a proud beauty shop owner ready to provide a loving household for Patrick and his conflicted teenage children. Meanwhile, the arrival of the wealthy and intriguing Veronique stirs things up in Silver Lake.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Connie Briscoe

Leave a Reply