Book Notification

Conqueror Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Conqueror Books

Wolf of the Plains / Genghis: Birth of an Empire (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Lords of the Bow (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bones of the Hills (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Empire of Silver (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Conqueror (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon

The “Conqueror” series written by author Conn Iggulden is from the historical fiction genre and it is about Genghis Khan and those that succeeded him (Ogedai and Kublai Khan). It is set during the twelfth and thirteenth centuries, during the Mongol conquest. The series began in the year 2007 with the release of “Wolf of the Plains”. The series ended in the year 2011 with the release of the fifth book, which is called “Conqueror”.

“The Secret History of the Mongols” serves as the source material for this series. That being said, however, Iggulden does move away from the sources to tell a better story. He mentions the differences in his author’s note found at the end of book. This is just like another series that this author writes, which is called the “Emperor” series (which Conn Iggulden wrote before this one).

“Wolf of the Plains” is the first novel in the “Conqueror” series and was released in the year 2007. Born with the name Temujin and a khan’s son; he was raised in a hunters’ clan moving its way through the rugged steppe. Some brutal acts shaped his young life. His father being betrayed by a nearby tribe and his entire family abandoning him, which left him all alone to die on the harsh plain.

He was able to endure. This pushed him to survive, in fury, even as death stared him in the face. He also wanted to kill before someone killed him and to defeat enemies that came from out of nowhere.

He carries out some courageous raids against a group called Tartars, and it made Temujin’s legend grow. It made the challenges he stared down grow bigger too. Either a Chinese ambassador’s big ideas to his wife Borte being brutally kidnapped. He has a ferocious amount of courage, not to mention an ability to imagine, learn, and judge others’ hearts that pushed him to bigger and greater things.

He was pushed right up until he had the idea to unite many different tribes into a one big one. All to make the Earth shake under many warhorses’ hoof beats. All to subject many nations and some empires to his own will.

Fans of the novel found this story deeply fascinating; as it tells the tale of a barbaric warlord, who happens to be Genghis Khan. This is a great part of the journey that you are taken along on. It is quite the adventure and something that gets more suspenseful and exciting, right after you pass the half way part of the book. Some were left a little breathless by the break neck pace that the author set with this book. You get to see how life really was for these Mongol’s during this time in history.

“Lords of the Bow” is the second novel in the “Conqueror” series and was released in the year 2008. This book takes place a few years after book one ended, and Temujin is now known as Genghis Khan. Genghis is able to unite some Mongol tribes to get across the Gobi Desert and be able to fight off the Chin. Which has glowing cities, soaring walls and canals.

He lays siege to many fortresses, and Genghis destroys cleverly each of his enemies in a different way. He is able to overcome all kinds of obstacles in his way. Be they barriers, better weapons, and moats. Until his army is able to get the Emperor of Yenking to bend his knee for Genghis.

Genghis’ interactions with his brothers makes him a little more human, and less of a cold military leader. Sometimes, he even is funny, afraid that his pair of wives will get closer with each other. Fans of the novel like the way that the siege of Yenking and Badger Mouth battle make the book a page turner of a read. Some also liked the way that a historical novel could keep them hooked on reading, one that gripped them, right from the start.

“Bones of the Hills” is the third novel in the “Conqueror” series and was released in the year 2008. Genghis wins the long running war against the Chin, which is the ancient foe of the Mongolians. There is trouble coming from another place: his ambassadors are killed, as his western embassies are rejected.

The nation has to go on its biggest journey ever, from what is now Iraq and Iran, to reach India’s edge. Here, they will fight enemies as old and as powerful as those they have ever faced off with. Khan’s path with either bring to the land of victory or the land of defeat.

Genghis proves that he is both a leader and a warrior. He has to fight off the problems that come with civilization. Both what it will mean for his people now and later on in time. His sons are now generals, and he has to pick between one of them before they succeed in destroying all that he has built.

Fans of the novel found that this installment did not disappoint them at all. This is right when the battles are bigger and better in this book than in the past books in the series. And this is an author that is able to write some pretty awesome battle scenes. The books are very good, even though there are some differences between what happens in these books and what happened for real; some believe that is the difference between fiction and non-fiction, though.

“Empire of Silver” is the fourth novel in the “Conqueror” series and was released in the year 2010. Great Khan is not alive anymore. The gigantic empire that he built with raw courage, dominating force, and brilliant tactics is on the brink of collapsing. Genghis’ sons are maneuvering for the top spot. The things that were able to bring the fierce forces of Mongols together in the first place are threatening to rip them apart.

Ogedai (Genghis’ heir and a tough man) is about to become the next Khan. He has been putting off his coronation to build a glorious city (which is called Karakorum) in the middle of wild plains. Some have felt that this project is just folly.

This choice is something that makes Chagatai (who is Ogedai’s arrogant brother) bolder and violently challenges Ogedai. It leaves Tolui (who is their noble sibling) caught in the middle of the whole thing. Even through this clash, Khan’s armies go farther than they ever have before, making his reach bigger than ever before, into the south part of China and over the harsh mountains in Russia. And even into Europe’s vulnerable center. There are some warriors with a lot of courage (who are commanded by the west) are waiting for the fight that is coming soon.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Conqueror

Leave a Reply