Book Notification

Cookie Cutter Shop Mystery Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Cookie Cutter Shop Mystery Books

A Cookie Before Dying (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cookie Dough or Die (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
When the Cookie Crumbles (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
One Dead Cookie (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cookies and Scream (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dead Men Don't Eat Cookies (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Cookie Cutter Shop Mystery series is a popular book series of cozy mystery books written by a famous American author named Virginia Lowell. This series is comprised of a total of 6 books, which were released between the years 2011 and 2015. Each of the novels of this series depicts the lead character in the role of Olivia Greyson, who is shown as the owner of a cookie shop named The Gingerbread House. Olivia Greyson’s cookie shop is very famous and is located in a Victorian home in which she lives. Author Virginia Lowell has set the storylines of the series’ books in a fictional town called Chatterly Heights, located on Baltimore’s outskirts, in Maryland.

Apart from Olivia Greyson, the other important character that author Lowell has described in the series is named Maddie. She is the best friend of Olivia Greyson and is also her sidekick. Maddie assists Olivia Greyson in baking up delicious treats for their cookie themed parties. Other than baking scrumptious cookies, Olivia Greyson also gets involved in solving the cases of mystery that keeping happening in around her cookie house every now and then. Maddie comes in handy for Olivia Greyson in this thing too, as she provides a helping hand to her in carrying out the investigations related to the mysteries.

Over the course of the series, author Lowell has mentioned many intriguing setups in which Maddie and Olivia Greyson get involved and use all their wit and intelligence to come out safely. They also end up solving each and every mystery that they begin investigating. Virginia Lowell has mentioned that the readers of mystery and cozy mystery stories are going to like the series very much and appreciate the characters of Olivia Greyson and Maddie.

The debut of the Cookie Cutter Shop Mystery book series written by author Virginia Lowell is entitled ‘Cookie Dough or Die’. It was released by Berkley in the year 2011. The chief characters of this novel include Olivia Greyson, Clarisse Chamberlain, and Maddie. At the start of the book’s story, it is shown that Olivia Greyson takes a great pride in being the owner of the very popular The Gingerbread House. This quaint cookie shop specializes in a wide variety of delicious cookies. In her making her business and her cookie house successful, Olivia Greyson is joined by her best friend named Maddie. The two often indulge in a cookie-themed parties and bake up scrumptious treats.

A time comes into the lives of the two best friends when they decide that they must put a temporary halt to their hobby of baking and must give their attention to a recently discovered murder mystery. When the news of the death of a prominent business owner named Clarisse Chamberlain spreads in the city, no one else seems to be more shocked than our very own Olivia Greyson. The reason being that it was Clarisse Chamberlain, who had encouraged Greyson to open her cookie house. Also, she was one of Olivia Greyson’s most regular and best customers. Upon taking a first look at the dead body of Clarisse Chamberlain and the situation in which her body was found, the sheriff makes up his mind to declare Clarisse Chamberlain’s death as a suicide. However, Olivia thinks that Clarisse cannot commit suicide as she was quite happy with her life. She decides to put away the sheriff’s declaration of suicide and begin the investigation into Chamberlain’s death in her own way. Oliva Greyson looks more than convinced that it is the case of a cold blooded murder. A word spreads into the town that Clarisse Chamberlain has left Olivia Greyson a huge amount of money and a collection of antique cookie-cutters, along with a few valuable items.

Due to this false news, Olivia Greyson becomes the prime suspect in Chamberlain’s murder. Later, it is learned that the suspicion of the murder is also lying on Maddie’s head as a local postman dies after tasting one of the special cookies baked in the best friends’ cookie house. Now, both Olivia and Maddie are required to find and catch the real killer as soon as possible in order to prevent themselves from getting punished for the crimes that they have not committed and also to safeguard their reputation. Both of them know that the path is not going to be an easy one as they will have to put their lives on the line for hunting down the real murderer. Also, there are chances that they might face resistance from the police authorities for being prime suspects in the two murders. But, the friends do not feel let down because of the unsuitable conditions and seem determined to bring out the truth before times runs out for them, even if they have to go at any lengths to do so.

Another very successful book of this series is called ‘When Cookie Crumbles’. This book was also published by Berkley in 2012. Once again the story is set in Chatterly Heights and consists of the main characters as Olivia Greyson, Paine Chatterley, Maddie, etc.

At the beginning of the story of the book, it is depicted that Olivia Greyson is busy trying to keep up the pace of her cookie baking with the increasing number of orders that she has started to receive. Tensions are mounting very high on her because of the excessive work load and this is because of the upcoming 250th birthday celebration of Chatterley Heights. Olivia Greyson and her best buddy Maddie are asked to bake a gingerbread house based on the model of the prestigious Chatterley Mansion. And so, the two have become quite busy since the day they received this order. As the celebration day approaches, the whole town gets a surprising shock with the return of Paine Chatterley. He was presumed dead, but has now come back to claim the prestigious house of his father. As soon as taking control of the mansion, Paine Chatterley puts a ban on the touring of his mansion by visitors on the occasion of the celebration.

Because of this shocking behavior of Paine Chatterley, all the preparations of the town’s people become a waste of time, and especially for Olivia Greyson & Maddie, all their dedicated efforts turned out to be for nothing. After some time, the lifeless body of Paine Chatterley is discovered from his bathtub. This brings even more shock to the town. Olivia decides to take the matter into her own hand and dig out the dark past of the lives of the members of the Chatterley family in order to find out the truth about Paine’s murder.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Cookie Cutter Shop Mystery

Leave a Reply