Book Notification

Cooper Kids Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Cooper Kids Adventures Books

The Door in the Dragon's Throat (1985)Description / Buy at Amazon
Escape from the Island of Aquarius (1986)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Tombs of Anak (1987)Description / Buy at Amazon
Trapped at the Bottom of the Sea (1989)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Secret of the Desert Stone (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Deadly Curse of Toco-Rey (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Legend of Annie Murphy (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mayday at Two Thousand Five Hundred / Flying Blind (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon

Cooper Kids is a series of novels authored by Canadian bestselling author Frank E. Peretti. The author began the publication of Cooper Kids series in 1985 when the first book The Door in the Dragon’s Throat was published. The series features Lila and Jay Cooper and their fathers as they try to search and discover the mystery behind an ancient legend, carry out a rescue mission and find a treasure-seeker and race against time to save Lila.

The Door in the Dragon’s Throat

The Door in the Dragon’s Throat is novel one in Cooper Kids series by Series by Frank E. Peretti. If you fancy adventure, action, mystery and Christian fiction, then this is the perfect book for you to read.
This is a story about two siblings named Lila and Jay Cooper and their dad, Jake Cooper. Their father is a professional archeologist who takes his kids on all types of adventures because he simply doesn’t want to leave them alone for long. His children get to travel to different destinations around the world where they learn new skills each day.

In this first book, the Cooper’s travel to Nepur discovers the truth behind an ancient legend. The local people claim that inside the Dragon’s Throat, there is a cursed door that anyone who tries to open it dies. The Cooper’s with the knowledge that God is far much superior to any being ever existed on the face of the earth, the Cooper family makes its way into the Dragon’s throat with only one objective in mind; to find whatever is on the other side of the door.

Their travel in the Dragon’s Throat is faced with many challenges while trying to reach the Door, for instance, a strange person who tries to stop them from accessing the Door and tries to get them to leave.

Escape from the Island of Aquarius

In the second book in Cooper Kids series, what at first is considered as a rescue mission leads Lila and Jay Cooper to a troubling South Sea where they find everything against their expectation. Instead of finding what they first thought to be a primitive civilization they discover a mysterious leader who is claiming to be Adam McKenzie a missionary who was once presumed dead. To add more confusion, there appears to be someone who seems to have pushed the deserted island to self-destruct mode, as erosion and earthquakes are bringing down the island and tearing it apart as well, each moment is vital for the Coopers who are in search of the real Adam Mackenzie.

When a man was found floating on a handmade raft in the deep waters of Pacific Ocean, there were very few persons to identify him, and the only clue the man had was a tiny piece of paper with Adam Mackenzie on it.

However this is a name that the Coopers are familiar with, Adam Mackenzie was a famous missionary who traveled amongst the Southern Sea and vanished into thin air without a trace. The Coopers agree to set out a journey with high hopes of finding the man of God still alive.

However, when the Coopers finally arrive on the island, they find Mackenzie and a group of European living a life of tranquility. The Islanders are more than happy to let the Coopers spend the night and see them on their way the next day.

The Coopers have a firm believe that Mackenzie is hiding something, something linked to the Moro Kunda which apparently strikes certain people and drives them mad. Can the Coopers solve the mystery surrounding the strange Aquarius?

The Tombs of Anak

In this installment, the coopers are approached by to conduct an excavation deep in the tombs of Anak. As with their previous archeological activities, they expected that this would be an easy and an exciting task for them, however, it turns out to be a deadly one, especially when a member of their team vanishes after entering the tombs. The local people warn them of impending danger and the power of their god, Ha-Raphah. Can the Cooper’s figure out the mystery surrounding Ha-Raphah before they too mysteriously vanish?

Just as the previous novels in the series, The Tombs of Anak features a fast-paced, thrilling storyline full of danger, excitement, and spiritual warfare. The author has made a combination of supernatural explanations and natural circumstances- in stories that occur in reality and are only explicable through events which can be explained through fantasy.

For instance, in this story, the coopers are told a story about the existence of a god named Ha-Raphah. However, through their investigations, they later find out that rather than, it is not a god but rather a descendant of the Anakim, a man capable of performing illusions, tricks compared to the ordinary man. The man was first used by his mother to control other people, but as his powers developed, he eventually became uncontrollable. The man demanded animal sacrifices from the people and gave horrible punishments if his demands were not by the people.

However the big question in this story is, are there also demonic forces at work? It is revealed that his mother “nurtured him with witchcraft.” The author also uses the aspect of a supernatural being, God. For instance, during their archeological activities, the Coopers regularly invoke the name of God against all their adversaries. In most cases, you will also find them praying for God to protect them and to aid them in their daily activities. In the last pages of The Tombs of Anak, we find Dr. Cooper encouraging a man to accept Jesus Christ. He tells the man that the Christian God is a giver and not a greedy taker as their god, Ha-Raphah was.

The book also features excellent action sequences and flows at a steady pace. The characterization is brilliantly done, and each of the single characters in the novel will make you love the series even more.
Cooper Kids series is recommended for younger students, most likely not older than middle school. Surely the series will leave you at the edge of your seat, biting your nails and eager to find out what happens next.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Cooper Kids

Leave a Reply