Book Notification

Corban Addison Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

A Walk Across the Sun (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Garden of Burning Sand (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Tears of Dark Water (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Harvest of Thorns (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Call of the Raven (With: Wilbur Smith) (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Wastelands: The True Story of Farm Country on Trial (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Corban Addison is a bestselling author that is well known for his work as an activist and a lawyer, not to mention all the travelling he does in his efforts to bring humanitarian causes the attention they deserve.


Corban Addison has wanted to write since he was a child, though he did not begin to seriously experiment with the activity until he was in his mid-teens; and even then, his work didn’t bear much fruit, probably because the author was primarily writing essays and reflections.

That isn’t to say that essays are without worth. However, Corban Addison’s love always lay with fiction and it took him a long time to find the courage to put pen to paper and produce an actual story of note.

Addison is a student of the University of Virginia and the California Polytechnic State University from where he acquired his law and engineering degrees. Though, most of Addison’s efforts in the job market have revolved around the law.

The author took up a clerkship with a federal judge in 2004 after he acquired his law degree. He eventually found a place at a small firm where he practiced law in the business arena, though he always found the time to experiment with writing.

Of course, finding a workable schedule was no easy task. Addison could only write in the evenings and on the weekends and, even though this wife was supportive of his undertakings, having given him the idea of tackling a story about the global trade of human beings, Addison’s pace eventually wore both of them down.

By 2011, Corban Addison had stopped practicing law. To write his novel, the author had to undertake a journey that took him from Washington, through India and all the way to Europe as he tried to understand modern slavery.

Addison’s education alongside all the experts and activists he spoke to proved useful in preparing him for the task of crafting an intimately disturbing story. Addison’s firsthand experience going undercover in brothels to interact with victims of trafficking added a sense of authenticity to his efforts.

Corban Addison is an author, but he is even more passionate about his activism. Corban loves the publishing industry because it has allowed him to combine his interest in writing with his love for humanitarian causes. He has also been very fortunate to be able to survive and even take care of his family by depending solely on the income from his writing.

Addison doesn’t take his success for granted and he has admitted in interviews that he is aware of many bestselling authors with books that have been published internationally who can barely survive on the income they earn.

However, despite all that he has achieved, Addison believes that he can do so much better.

Addison is committed to his humanitarian causes, and his goal is to make enough money from writing to not only support his family but to drive his causes to new levels. Addison’s work has a lot of support from different spheres of society, and the fact that his books throw light upon some truly disturbing aspects of the world explains why so many people have shown a willingness to support his efforts as a novelist.

+The Garden of Burning Sand

Zoe Fleming is called in when an adolescent girl is brutally assaulted. The American Lawyer has always held lofty ideals about the world and the way things should work, which is why she has poured so much of her strength into the work of an NGO that combats child sexual assault in Africa.

Zoe cannot forget her new charge, a girl of mystery. Her assault could have been a random act of evil. It could also have been premeditated. As Zoe’s connection with the girl grows stronger, she is compelled to find her attacker at all costs.

Luckily for Zoe, she can count on the support of a police officer in Zambia by the names of Joseph Kabuta. The pair will trek through the most dangerous circles of Lusaka to find justice.

This book not only looks at the brutality of sexual assault amongst children but it also explores the culture of Zambia with regards to the AIDs epidemic and how it impacts politics and the economy.

Zoe, the protagonist, is just trying to do what she thinks is right. Some of Corban Addison’s characters are very stereotypical of novels written by European authors about Africa.

However, Addison goes the extra mile to develop his characters. The stereotypes are definitely present but they do not define this story which shines a light on politicians, prostitutes, and the police. The different circles of Zambia are perfectly represented, ranging from the wealthy and well off to those struggling to survive the daily challenges of life.

AIDS is a central element in the book, with Corban Addison putting a face to the epidemic and all the myths that surround it.

+A Walk Across the Sun

Ahalya Ghai and her sister Sita lost everything and everyone they knew when a tsunami tore through their coastal town. With nothing left of their old lives, the teenagers sought help from the convent that doubled as their school.

Abducted soon after, the sisters soon learn that their stint at a Mumbai Brothel is merely the start of a hellish journey.

Thomas Clark is an attorney whose personal and professional crisis pushes him to take on human traffickers in India. The attorney saw what the trade of human beings could do to the mind and it awakened his conscience.

When he learns of Ahalya and Sita’s plight, Thomas makes a decision to save them at all costs.

This is a well-plotted book that keeps readers at the very edge of their seats as they follow the journey of two teenage girls that are only looking for a place to belong. The novel explores the sex trade. However, it avoids explicit descriptions.

Instead, it focuses on the people suffering from the sex trade and the feelings of shame and sorrow they experience. Thomas, the protagonist, is trying to save his marriage but he cannot ignore the two girls who so terribly require his assistance.

Thomas’ determination and the struggles he faces in his efforts to make a difference build his character as a human being.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Corban Addison

2 Responses to “Corban Addison”

  1. Richard Roberts: 1 year ago

    I just finished listening to the first book I’ve read, “Wastelands”. Easily, my best read thus far (now age 84). I could not locate any other of your books on audio. Are there others? Thanks

    • Graeme: 1 year ago

      I clicked through the links above to Amazon and they are available as audiobooks on Audible, so likely other sources too.


Leave a Reply