Nick Petrie Series

Cormoran Strike Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Cormoran Strike Books

The Cuckoo's Calling (2013)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Silkworm (2014)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Career of Evil (2015)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Lethal White (2018)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Troubled Blood (2020)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Ink Black Heart (2022)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

The Cormoran Stirke series is a renowned series of contemporary and crime fiction novels. It is consists of a total of 4 books released between the year 2013 and 2018. The series is penned by popular British novelist named J.K. Rowling under the pen name of Robert Galbraith. In all the 4 books, the story is shown revolving around Cormoran Strike, a war veteran and current private detective, who solves cases of brutal murders. He is assisted by his sidekick and partner Robin Ellacott. J.K. Rowling chose to write the series under the pseudonym for maintaining a distinct difference from her other works. Rowling has mentioned that she is planning to contribute at least 10 books to the series, and has already started working on its 5th book. The series’ first two books have been adapted into a TV series for the BBC One in 2017. It was renewed for another season in 2018 that is based on the series’ third book.

Rowling has described the chief protagonists in the roles of Cormoran Blue Strike and Robin Venetia Ellacott. The secondary characters depicted in the novels include Matthew Cunliffe, Lucy Strike, Johnny Rokeby, Leda Strike, Charlotte Campbell, Eric Wardle, Roy Carver, Richard Anstis, Linda Ellacott, Alexander Rokeby, Nick Herbert, and Ilsa Herbert. Cormoran Strike is introduced as a former SIB investigator and veteran of the Afghanistan war, where he was involved in a bomb attack and lost his right leg’s lower half. Following this, he decides to start working as a private detective. He doesn’t get many customers initially and is in a lot of debt. But, after he successfully solves the suicide case of Lula Landry, Cormoran starts getting recognized. Cormoran Strike is described as an illegitimate son of a renowned rock star named Johnny Rokeby, whose business agent approaches Cormoran to ask for the loan he had given him to start his detective agency. Before joining the army, Cormoran was studying at Oxford, but his mother’s untimely death made him lose interest in studies. Cormoran Strike does not have any relationship with Johnny Rokeby. The only one he is close to is Lucy, the daughter his mother had with another musician. During his childhood, Cormoran used to move around a lot with his mom.

Cormoran meets Robin at the series’ beginning and goes on to have a complicated relationship with her. He finds her attractive, but shows reluctance to admit it. He admires the professional and personal qualities of Robin very highly. The physical appearance of Cormoran Strike is that of a heavily built man with dark, curly hair. Even though he is not described as conventionally handsome, many women find him attractive. Robin Ellacott comes in Cormoran’s life for the first time when she arrives at his office to look for the job of a secretary. Cormoran intends to keep her only for one week, but his competitive skills impress him very much. Robin has studied Psychology, but could not continue with her studies after the second year because of financial problems. In the later parts of the series, it is mentioned that Cormoran suggests Robin to take a course in criminal investigation and offers to pay for it. After Robin completes the course with distinction, Cormoran makes her his partner. Robin plans to settle down in life by marrying her boyfriend named Matthew Cunliffe. But, her growing closeness to Cormoran Strike causes a strain in their relationship. Cormoran and Robin go on to have many ups and downs in their unnamed relationship.

The debut book of the Cormoran Strike series written by Robert Galbraith is entitled ‘The Cuckoo’s Calling’. It was released by the Mulholland Books in the year 2013. Author Galbraith has done the plot’s setting in London at the time of the year 2010, and has introduced the primary characters as Lula Landry, Cormoran Strike, Tony Landry, John Bristow, Charlotte Campbell, Robin Ellacott, etc. At the story’s beginning, it is depicted that Cormoran Strike strives to keep up with his agency after having a devastating experience in Afghanistan. Just as he receives his first case to investigate, the creditors come calling for money. Also, Cormoran his relationship with his girlfriend of several years has just come to an end. It appears quite clear that the time is not going good for Cormoran as he is forced to live in his agency’s office. The next day, John Bristow arrives at his office with an intriguing case. He is the brother of a legendary supermodel named Lula Landry.

John Bristow informs Cormoran Strike that his sister died a few months ago by falling from her apartment. Lula Landry, who is knows as Cuckoo to her close friends, is believed to have committed suicide. But, John doesn’t agree to what the authorities are saying. So, he asks Cormoran to investigate Cuckoo’s death and find out if she really committed suicide. As soon as Cormoran Strike begins the investigation, he gets thrust into a world full of rock star boyfriends, multimillionaire beauties, desperate designers, etc. The world introduces Cormoran to all sorts of enticement, delusion, pleasure, and seduction. But, he doesn’t get affected by the illusions. He trusts his intelligence and nothing else, and ends up catching the culprit responsible for Cuckoo’s death.

Another exciting book of this series is called ‘The Silkworm’. The Mulholland publication released this book too in 2014. It features the central characters as Owen Quine, Liz Tassel, Cormoran Strike, Lenora Quine, Robin Ellacott, Orlando Quine, Christian Fischer, Michael Fancourt, Jerry Waldegrave, etc. At the start, it is shown that Owen Quine is a noteworthy novelist, who suddenly goes missing. His wife becomes very much worried and calls for Cormoran Strike’s help to find him. Initially, Mrs. Quine thinks that Owen has run off somewhere for some days as he has the habit of doing so. She requests Cormoran to find about his whereabouts and bring him back. But, Cormoran’s investigation makes it clear that Owen’s disappearance has more to it than what Mrs. Quine is telling him. After investigating further, Cormoran learns that Owen had finished writing a manuscript just before his disappearance. This manuscript contained poisonous pen portraits of many people he knew closely. And if the manuscript had been released, it would ruined the lives of all those people. This proves that many people wanted to silence him to prevent him from releasing the manuscript. Later, Owen Quine’s dead body is discovered in a shocking turn of events. Someone murdered him brutally and left his body to rot. Now, Cormoran is required to race against the clock to unravel the ruthless killer. Also, he needs to establish the motive before another innocent life is lost.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Cormoran Strike

Leave a Reply