Book Notification

Cornish Sagas Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Cornish Sagas Books

The Girl from Penvarris (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Tinner's Daughter (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cornish Harvest (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
Stormy Waters (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Silent Shore (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Granite Cliffs (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Cornish Maid (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Cornish Sagas series is a popular book series of historical fiction, romance, and British literature novels. This series is comprised of a total of 7 books, which were released between the years 1995 and 2009, and were written by a well known English author named Rosemary Aitken. Each and every book of this series consists of a different set of lead characters, whose lives full of romance have been depicted by author Aitken. The books’ stories are primarily set in Cornwall. As the series begins, author Rosemary Aitken has shown the story of Katie Waren and George Trevarnon. The mother of Katie Waren loses her life in childbirth and this results in the forceful abandoning of Katie’s dreams to work as a pupil teacher. Following the sad demise of her mother, Katie is made to serve at a big house along with her sister named Fanny. As the days pass by, Katie Waren begins to develop fondness for the kind and shy son of the big house, George Trevarnon. Even though Katie does not like this change in herself, she continues to harbor her feelings for George. But, when the unscrupulous brother of George Trevarnon comes to know about this affair, he intervenes. Due to this, the Waren sisters get dismissed from their service. Both George and Katie get very depressed with their separation. Katie is made to move to an alien city called Truro, where she struggles to earn her livelihood. On the other hand, George goes on to participate in the devastating Boer War by burying is emotions and faces dangerous outcomes. After some years, the two finally get a chance to meet, but each of them is married to someone else. However, their fates contrive to make them come together again in the peace of one Edwardian summer. This story gave a very happening opening to the series and it was reviewed positively by various literary critics. Author Aitken gained a huge motivation with such appreciation and continued to write other stories in the series. Author Aitken’s joy from her novel’s success knew no bounds and she went on to establish herself as a noteworthy author of the historical fiction genre.

An interesting book of the Cornish Sagas book series written by author Rosemary Aitken is entitled ‘The Tinner’s Daughter’. This novel was released by the Orion publication in the year 1997, after its initial release in 1996. The main characters mentioned in this book include Carrie Trimble, Ernie, and several others. Author Aitken has set this story’s plot in Penvarris and Penzance. At the start of the book’s story, it is shown that Carrie Trimble decides to leave the familiar surrounding of Terrace and moves to Penzance to start her service job. After shifting there, Carrie Trimble finds it very difficult to forget about her relationship with an artist from Newlyn. She goes on to meet Ernie in Penzance and begins to adapt herself to living the life of the wife of a clayer over at St. Austell. However, she is not able to forget Penvarris and always keeps it close to her heart. Carrie Trimble also remembers about the Frenchman, who she would meet there near the cliff path. The series continues to depict the life story of Lizzie Treloweth, the 4 Jago brothers, and Tamsin Beswetherick, as well as the romantic relationship of the primary characters. This story is also set in Penzance and Penvarris. Lizzie Treloweth is shown as one among the 10 children of her parents, living in Penzance. Because of the outbreak of the First World War, her father gets enlisted to fight for his country in the war. As he was the only bread-earning person in the family, they begin to struggle after he leaves for the war. Lizzie Treloweth even finds it very hard to run the butcher’s shop of her father located in Penzance. So, she takes the decision of getting trained for the job of a nurse by a local gentry’s daughter named Tamsin Beswetherick. While receiving the training, the two girls develop friendship with the Jago brothers. And eventually, romance in their individual lives starts blossoming.

Another highly motivating and intriguing book written by Rosemary Aitken in the series is called ‘The Silent Shore’. It was published by the Severn House publication in 2002, following its first release in 2001. The central characters described in this novel’s plot include Tom Courtney, Denzil Vargo, Sprat Nicholls, a few others. Author Rosemary has done the setting of this story in London and Cornwall. At the beginning of the story of the book, it is depicted that Sprat Nicholls and Denzil Vargo are childhood sweethearts. But, following a startling revelation, Sprat decides to end her bonding with Denzil Vargo and breaks up with him. She even quarrels with the family members of her own. After this heartbreaking incident, Sprat Nicholls makes up her mind to go as far as possible from her native town in Cornwall so that she is able to forget Denzil Vargo and her relationship with him. The city of London, located around 300 miles from her hometown, appears to be a good option to give a new beginning to her life. When Sprat Nicholls settles down in London, she finds some amazing diversions in the capital city for a short period of time. Some of the amusements that Sprat discovers over there include her introduction with Denzil Vargo’s nemesis named Tom Courtney and a suffragette acquaintance. But, after a short duration, the stifling city atmosphere begins to make Sprat Nicholls long for the peaceful and fresh cliffs at her hometown. She also starts feeling the need of her parents and wishes to reach out to them and ask for forgiveness for fighting with them over her unfaithful lover. Sprat even wants to have the company of the bewildered Vargo, her idiotic boyfriend, who does not seem to have any idea as to why they cannot come together again and stay as each other’s sweethearts like old times. This novel was liked by many readers all over the world. Also, numerous critics appreciated the storyline and the rich setting. The unique writing style and excellent storytelling skills of author Aitken were also praised by them. On the whole, the story turned out to be very successful and it helped author Aitken achieve more fame and success in her writing career. The success also helped her to come up with more interesting historical fiction in the future.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Cornish Sagas

Leave a Reply