Book Notification

Cory McCarthy Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of B.E.S.T. World Books

Ace Takes Flight (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Under Pressure (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Some Assembly Required (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Once & Future Books

with A.R. Capetta
Once & Future (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sword in the Stars (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Color of Rain (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Breaking Sky (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
You Were Here (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Now a Major Motion Picture (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Man o' War (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Children's Books

Hope Is an Arrow (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

That Way Madness Lies: Fifteen of Shakespeare's Most Notable Works Reimagined(2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Collectors: Stories(2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Cory McCarthy previously Cori McCarthy is an Arab American trans screenwriter who is best known for the “B.E.ST. World” series of novels.

He got a very early start to his artistic career as when he was in the eighth grade, he was asked to be the comedic MC for the school’s talent show.

McCarthy would then study at UCLA where he got a degree in screenwriting and poetry. At some point, he went to the Vermont College of Fine Arts, which is where he developed a love for writing for young adults and children.
He also partnered with the film department at Ohio University and for some time, he was partnered with Josephson Entertainment and Sony Pictures to develop a movie from Breaking Sky his novel.

Cory published “Ace Takes Flight” his debut and the first of the “B.E.S.T World” series. He now has at least four titles to his name in the young adult contemporary, middle-grade, and nonfiction picture books.
Writing alongside A.R. Capetta his spouse, he was the author of “Once & Future,” the bestselling novel that was a New England Book Award finalist.
Some of his other highlights include “Now,” the romantic comedy, and “Breaking Sky,” the genre thriller all of which have appeared on the Bloomer List and been made into Major Motion Pictures

Like many novelists, Cory McCarthy loved reading and writing from when he was very young. As a child, he remembers that his father loved to read “The Hobbit” to him and his siblings.

Since he was just five years old at the time while his siblings were older, they used to enjoy the readings more, even though McCaarthy pretended that he understood the characters and the story.
In actuality, he was terrified of Gollum and for much of his childhood, he believed that his entire life would be determined by a game of riddles.

It was while he was in middle school that he fell in love with memoir writing and poetry, and in undergrad, he transitioned to screenwriting.

He had always known that he wanted to write as an adult but it would take endless ambition and three writing degrees before he found his niche.

Cory has often said in interviews that he got into young adult fiction by falling backward into it.

He had been involved in the writing of high fantasy when he enrolled at the Vermont College of Fine Arts where he came to realize that he was writing what publishers called young adult fiction.
Since then, he has gotten into other age ranges and formats but learned the most about writing from young adult fiction.

Cory McCarthy currently makes his home in the Vermont mountains where he lives with Amy Rose Capetta his fellow young adult author and partner. Together they raise Maverick their young son and hope that they can one day get a puppy.
When he is not writing his novels, Cori can usually be found teaching writing, reading poetry, and playing the guitar. Similar to many of his characters, he is a prominent member of the LGBTQ+ community.

“Ace Takes Flight” by Cory McCarthy is an intriguing work of fiction set in 1948.

The lead is an eleven-year-old named Ace Wells whose two mothers Mama Jay and Mom are sending him to the “Tower of Power” for two years.

This is the campus for the Biological Enhancement Systems Technolgy otherwise known as the “B.E.S.T.” program headquartered at a well-known skyscraper. At the program, he will study, train, and be screened for any biological augmentation.
Ace finds it hard to escape the shadow of Finn his older brother who was a superstar student and the first to graduate after mastering the TruboLegs augmentation. This had given him the capability to run at unbelievable speeds.
Ace is held back by his social awkwardness and impetuousness, and he fears that he might never achieve the flight augmentation “SupeSoar,” which he has dreamed about for years.
However, tensions start building and suddenly Ace has a terrible feeling that there is something going on at the institution than meets the eye.
Will he ever get the aug of his dreams and make it to graduation?

Cory McCarthy’s novel “Under Pressure” is a work in which the leads head into a secret underwater world, where they hope to save one of their friends from a life-altering bionic augmentation and find another that had gone missing.
The work is told from the alternating perspectives of Jayla and Leo who had been boxmates at the B.E.S.T. Academy. The two are lost at sea where they have gone to find Grayson Bix their friend who had gone missing.
Their craft is badly damaged, their hopes are crushed and their stomachs are growling as it has been a long time since they last ate.

When they are approached by a mysterious vessel, Jayla, Leo, and Ace believe they are about to be taken back to the “Tower of Power” to be punished for escaping.
However, they are rescued and taken to a thriving and vibrant underwater world out of Bixonics eye and off the grid but one step closer to finding Grayson.

From the stratosphere to the depths of the Pacific Ocean, adventure, hijinks, and emotional challenges ensue as our leads meet a wide range of characters, blow the top off a huge secret with worldwide implications, and make hard decisions on bionic enhancements.

In “Some Assembly Required” is the thrilling conclusion to the “B.E.S.T” trilogy by Cory McCarthy as the leads learn of shocking discoveries about the near future world and themselves.
The last adventure of the boxmates takes them from the deepscraper Resistance and the iconic “Tower of Power” campus to the international space station and Bixonic Co.

It is in this outing that their augmentations are put to the ultimate test against a corporate global superpower.
Leo, Ace, Gray, and Jayla all have to make some difficult decisions that may forever change their lives.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Cory McCarthy

Leave a Reply