Book Notification

Covert-One Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Covert-One Books

The Hades Factor (By:Gayle Lynds,Robert Ludlum) (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Cassandra Compact (By:Robert Ludlum,Philip Shelby) (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Paris Option (By: Gayle Lynds) (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Altman Code (By: Gayle Lynds) (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lazarus Vendetta (By: Patrick Larkin) (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Moscow Vector (By: Patrick Larkin) (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Robert Ludlum's The Arctic Event (By: James H. Cobb) (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Ares Decision (By: Kyle Mills) (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Janus Reprisal (By: Jamie Freveletti) (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Utopia Experiment (By: Kyle Mills) (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Geneva Strategy (By: Jamie Freveletti) (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Patriot Attack (By: Kyle Mills) (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Covert-One Series

Robert Ludlum was a celebrated American author renowned for his gripping and suspenseful stories, often with a crime-solving element. His skill for bringing his tales to life and creating characters that felt real and connected with his readers was remarkable. His literary legacy lives on today, and his books remain very popular.

Many authors have been influenced by his writing style and storylines, with some even continuing his series, such as The Bourne Identity, giving readers more to discover within a world they already know. His works have been adapted into films, plays, and radio dramas, highlighting the power of his stories.

The Covert-One series is another beloved franchise which began in 2000 when he co-wrote the first book, ‘The Hades Factor,’ with famous thriller novelist Gayle Lynds. Following the adventures of the top-secret ‘Covert-One’ agency, readers were enthralled with stories of the agency tracking down crime and corruption at the highest levels. With a cast of recurring characters, the espionage thrillers were an instant hit.

There have been twelve titles published so far, with a selection of authors taking the series in their own direction. Along with Gayle Lynds and Robert Ludlum, the series has also been written by Philip Shelby, Patrick Larkin, James H. Cobb, Kyle Mills, and Jamie Freveletti. There was a two-part miniseries in 2006 on CBS, and in 2016 film rights were announced.

The Hades Factor

The espionage thriller ‘The Hades Factor’ was jointly written by Robert Ludlum and Gayle Lynds, and was published by St. Martin’s Press on March 15th, 2000. This joint effort marked the beginning of the ‘Covert-One’ series, although sadly it was one of Ludlum’s final novels before he passed away in 2001. This book was published in paperback format, and has since gone on to become a popular part of the Ludlum series.

Lt. Colonel Jonathan Smith was left devastated and enraged after the death of his fiancé, Dr. Sophia Russell, from an unknown virus. Determined to find out if it was an accident or a sinister plan, Smith formed a private team to investigate the virus and its source. He and his team soon realize that the virus is part of a larger agenda, and they must travel to the highest levels of power and the darkest corners of the earth in order to stop the pandemic from claiming countless millions of lives.

With the fate of the world in the balance, they must outwit a determined genius in order to save humanity.

The Cassandra Compact

The espionage thriller ‘The Cassandra Compact’ was written by Robert Ludlum and Philip Shelby, and was published on March 15, 2001 by St. Martin’s Griffin. This book was the second of the ‘Covert-One’ series, and was written posthumously after Ludlum’s passing. It continues the story with another thrilling adventure.

Yuri Danko, an officer in the Russian security service, was shot dead by a team of assassins. After his demise, Covert-One operative Jon Smith and CIA undercover agent Randi Russell uncovered a global conspiracy involving a biological weapon. A Serb terrorist was tasked with delivering the weapon to an unknown American agent.

Smith and Russell’s mission was to find the person responsible for the theft and stop them before they could cause irreparable harm. Unfortunately, both the agent and the terrorist were found murdered, leaving Smith and Russell now with the task of finding the bioweapon and its captor before it’s too late.

The Paris Option

The third book Robert Ludlum’s Covert-One series, ‘The Paris Option,’ was once again written with Gayle Lynds and published on June 3, 2002. It was released by St. Martin’s Griffin and was the second posthumous book published after Ludlum’s death. This classic spy thriller was met with great success and continues to draw readers to this day.

In the dead of night, an explosion rocked the Pasteur Institute in Paris, resulting in the death of Emile Chambord, a leader in the race to develop a DNA computer. Covert-One agent Jon Smith is sent to investigate, and discovers a web of deception that could have devastating consequences. On his journey across two continents, Smith must uncover the connection between the explosion and those who now possess the molecular computer.

With Chambord’s notes destroyed in the blast, Smith has to rely on his own skills and intuition to save the world from the forces plotting to reshape it.

The Altman Code

The spy thriller ‘The Altman Code’ was written by Gayle Lynds and published by St. Martin’s Press on June 17, 2003. This was the fourth novel in the ‘Covert-One’ series and was also released under the Ludlum brand.

Jon Smith is sent to Taiwan to rendezvous with another agent to obtain a document. However, before he can get the document, he is ambushed and the second agent is murdered. Smith escapes with only his life and a verbal message that the President’s biological father is alive and held prisoner by the Chinese. As the ship approaches its destination, Smith must race against the clock to uncover its secrets and the truth about the international cabal that is pushing the world ever closer to war.

The Lazarus Vendetta

Patrick Larkin’s spy thriller ‘The Lazarus Vendetta’, the fifth installment in the popular and long-running ‘Covert-One’ series of novels, was published by St. Martin’s Griffin on October 19, 2004. Lt. Col. Jon Smith, a Covert-One agent has been tasked with uncovering the truth about the Lazarus Movement, a powerful and eco-conscious, ‘anti-technology’ led protest movement.

An attack on a nano-technology research facility leaves thousands dead, and it quickly becomes apparent that this is only the beginning of a much larger and sinister plan, one with the potential to threaten the lives of billions. Smith must race against the clock to stop Lazarus’ plan before it’s too late, and soon discovers that the stakes are higher than he ever imagined – the fate of the world hangs in the balance.

‘The Lazarus Vendetta’ is a gripping spy thriller that will leave readers on the edge of their seats as they follow Smith’s every move. Patrick Larkin’s latest is a must-read for fans of the Covert-One series and of spy thrillers in general.

The Covert-One Series

The Covert-One series, overall, is a great tribute to Robert Ludlum, full of thrilling espionage and captivating characters. The books have proven to be immensely successful, fitting in seamlessly to the Robert Ludlum universe. These stories are sure to excite readers for many years to come.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Covert-One

Leave a Reply