Book Notification

Craig A. Hart Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Maxwell Barnes Adventure Thriller Books

with S.J. Varengo
Mayan Shadows (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mayan Thunder (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mayan Tempest (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tibetan Secrets: The Origin Scroll (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Buried Danger (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Shadows of Taragam Books

Rise of the Phantors (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Shelby Alexander Books

with S.J. Varengo
Serenity (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Serenity Stalked (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Serenity Avenged (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Serenity Submerged (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Serenity Engulfed (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Serenity Betrayed (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Serenity Reborn (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Serenity Possessed (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Serenity Hunted (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Serenity Trapped (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Serenity Divided (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of A Simon Wolfe Mystery Books

Publication Order of SpyCo Books

with S.J. Varengo
Assignment: Athens (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Assignment: Paris (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Assignment: Istanbul (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Assignment: Sydney (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Assignment: Alaska (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Assignment: Dublin (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Assignment: London (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Magician of Wrigley Street (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Becoming Moon (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Stark and Stormy Night (With: Paul G. Brand) (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

The Son-in-Law (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Collections

The Girl Who Read Hemingway (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Passing Through (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Writer's Tune-up Manual (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Busy Writer (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Amber Cross Books

with David F. Berens
Her Lost Alibi (With: David F. Berens) (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

The Murder Files(2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Craig A. Hart is an American author and audiobook narrator. He debuted as a writer in 2013 with The Magician of Wrigley Street and then in 2015 he wrote, Becoming Moon, that was published on Kindle Press. The book was featured on Northern Public Radio as a selection in their Winter Book series. The book would then go on to win the Best Novel of Summer 2015 award from Pinnacle Awards.

In addition to that book, Hart is also the author of the historical mystery book, Night at Key West, and is also the author of two thriller series of book: the SpyCo thriller series that he writes with S.J. Varengo and the Shelby Alexander Thriller series that he writes on his own.

Hart has done a lot of work in the publishing world leading up to publishing his first novel. Hart served as editor-in-chief for The Rusty Nail literary magazine for some time, he was also a manager for Sweatshoppe Media, and publisher for Northern Lake Publishing. He’s seemingly held every job you could in the publishing industry. Craig also worked as a d director for Northern Illinois Radio Information Service, a broadcast outreach that brings daily news to the visually impaired.

Craig has also worked in the world of podcasts and radio shows. He was the host of the interview program The Games & Writers Show. He now works as the host of the Good Sentences podcast with author S. J. Varengo, who he writes the SpyCo Thriller series with.

He was a native of Grand Rapids, Michigan, but now lives and writes in Iowa City, Iowa. He is married with twin boys who he raises as a stay-at-home dad. The family also has an anti-social cat. He gets most of his writing done when the kids aren’t tearing the house apart which means mostly after they have gone to bed. Hart keeps a blog at his website where he focuses on posting articles that help other writers to write or improve their writing.

Craig always loved reading from a young age and started writing when he was in his teenage years. When he was in his twenties, writing turned from a hobby into an obsession. Like many writers, he doesn’t always love the act of writing but he loves when he has written. His is highly inspired by the works of Hemingway and Capote, but he admits that he doesn’t write quite like them. Still, reading them can’t help but to be inspirational for any writer.

One of Hart’s most popular series is the Shelby Alexander series of books that starts out with Serenity. The book focuses on the Shelby Alexander who is an ex-boxer and retired fixer that has just moved back to the small town that he grew up in. The town is called Serenity and he has plans to retire and spend his golden years relaxing and fishing in the lakes of Michigan state.

One day while making his coffee, he looks out the window to see a pile of rags outside. He goes to check it out and finds that the rags is actually a person, Jenny Ellis of the notorious Ellis family. Shelby does what he can to save her, but the damage has been done. It doesn’t take long for Jenny’s drug dealer brother to turn up at Shelby’s and try to get him to find out who killed his sister. Shelby will soon realize that there is another drug lord in town, plus crooked lawmen in his way. Shelby is a man of principles, but in this book he might be in over his head.

Another series by Craig A. Hart is the Simon Wolfe Mystery series. The first book is called Night at Key West and focuses on a private investigator named Simon Wolfe who is hired to follow his friend’s wife as the friend suspects her of adultery. Wolfe reluctantly takes the case, but he would never believe that this one would lead him into a friendship with the world’s leading writer, Ernest Hemingway. This book is based on a real life tale that Hart did a ton of research into to fully get the feel of the story and he does a great job with recreating the era and the mood of Key West at the time.

The case accelerates when the wife is found murdered in a Key West hotel and her secret life comes to the surface. Simon should be investigating, but he’s caught up with Hemingway and ends up on a three-day boat cruise with fishing, drinking, and careless celebration. When he returns he finds that he has a ton of work to do on the case as the body of his friend’s wife has disappeared and his friend has now been arrested for murder. The plot thickens and Wolfe will need to act fast if he wishes to clear his friend’s name.

Hart’s first breakout novel was called Becoming Moon. The story is a coming-of-age tale about a young man struggling to be himself in a repressive family. He has a dream to become a writer and is forced to turn away from everything he knows in order to accomplish that dream. As he struggles to make a name for himself in the world, he’s given an opportunity of a lifetime and in order to achieve it he will need to compromise his entire belief system. The compromise leads to wealth and recognition, but those feelings are fleeting and he soon finds himself depressed. He heads of to Michigan’s Upper Peninsula where he hopes to find his muse and restart his writing career. It is here that he meets an older author named Nigel Moon who gives him a second chance to prove himself and put the past away. This is a story about exorcising past demons and finding redemption through the written word.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Craig A. Hart

Leave a Reply