Book Notification

Craig Lancaster Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Edward Books

600 Hours of Edward (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Edward Adrift (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Edward Unspooled (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Summer Son (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Fallow Season of Hugo Hunter (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
This Is What I Want (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Julep Street (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
You, Me & Mr. Blue Sky (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
And It Will Be A Beautiful Life (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dreaming Northward (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Quantum Physics and the Art of Departure (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Art of Departure (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Stop the World: Snapshots from a Pandemic(2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

An exemplary essayist and veteran journalist, Craig Lancaster is a American man of letters who is renowned for his much-admired series, a notable list of standalone novels, acclaimed anthologies, and non-fiction work among others.

Lancaster is a classic example of the significance of the popular National Novel Writing Month. His literary work, which has an out-and-out autobiographical element, is especially based, at least partly, on Montana and his own treasured childhood moments. According to popular opinion, the novel titled 600 Hours of Edward is the most popular book penned by Craig Lancaster.

Here is a comprehensive description of the attention-grabbing author. Lancaster’s birthday is February 9, and he was born in 1970. His birthplace was Lakewood City, located in Pierce County, Washington state. Unfortunately for Craig Lancaster, he had a troubled childhood. His parent’s divorce, an aspect exhibited by most Americans, bedeviled his then family, and it caught up with Lancaster in his own life.

Shortly after his birth, his parents Leslie and Ron adopted him. By then they used to live in Casper, a city in Natrona, Wyoming state. His father had a job in the petroleum industry. Craig Lancaster comes from a broken home as his parents divorced. Following the divorce, Lancaster and his mother relocated to Texas where she met and later on married a man called Charles Clines. He was a sportswriter and worked Star-Telegram, a daily newspaper. Therefore, Lancaster grew up predominantly in Fort Worth, Texas.

Clines, who was the step-father of Craig Lancaster, sparked his step-son’s quest for writing. Even then Lancaster was passionate about the craft and had a penchant for the English language. He established himself as a noteworthy writer-cum-editor who has worked with various publications spread across the US, ranging from Texas to Washington. He has worked at copy desks and executed writing assignments.

Lancaster eventually got a job in Montana. This augured well for his eventual relocation to that place because of his childhood memories, something which had always been overshadowed by other commitments and pursuits. Some of the famous authors who inspired him include Stephen King, Ivan Doig, and Ernest Hemingway.

By the time of his relocation to Montana, in 2006, Craig Lancaster was aged 36 and he had always wanted to write a book. A godsend moment came through the National Novel Writing Month. This prompted him to write his first manuscript with a word count a little shy of 80,000. It was November 2008 by then. The book was later on published as 600 Hours of Edward. According to Craig Lancaster, he writes books with the aim of seeking the truth, to scrutinize the world, to reflect on his life, and probe other people’s dilemmas.

The first series (and the author’s debut book is contained therein) penned by Craig Lancaster is titled Edward. The first Edward series was first published on February 2009 by Montana-based Riverbend Publishing. It is titled 600 Hours of Edward. By the way, Lake Union Publishing has also republished this book. 600 Hours of Edward is shelved as contemporary fiction.

The book revolves around the adult life and times of Edwards Stanton. Stanton, who seeming has anthropophobia and is a lonesome middle-aged resident of Montana just like the real-life Craig Lancaster, has been diagnosed with two medical conditions: the development disorder called Asperger’s syndrome and the mental health disorder called Obsessive compulsive disorder.

Stanton has a routine schedule. He wakes up, go for his medical therapy, and views an episode of a TV series, at specific times. At first, his schedule is unwavering. However, when a single parent together with her child relocate near his house, he gives scant credence to the schedule. Instead, Stanton uses the allotted time (and for 600 hours) to sob out his heart to the mother and child, and starts gripping about his separated parents. (This aspect is curiously similar to that of Craig Lancaster).

The epitome of this book is the up and downs of friendships. Stanton, who is at crossroads, is contemplating leaving his hitherto secluded life and start socializing amid the urge to draw back to his cocoon and introverted life.

Edward Adrift is the second book in the Edward series authored by Craig Lancaster. The book was first published in April 2013 and expounds on protagonist Edward Stanton’s situation, albeit with a damnable twist. For one year, Stanton’s life has been turbulent. There is a plethora of problems. Hard on Stanton’s heels is joblessness, the trustworthy therapist is now a retiree, and his close companions have relocated. He is boxed in.

Stanton’s female friend, Donna and who lives in Boise, informs about her problematic teenager. Stanton resolves to travel to Boise and is out of town after a long time. A spur-of-the-moment decision to visit a Colorado town, which evoked childhood memories, seems godsend; he chances upon a motel proprietor who might possibly be a kindred spirit and lover.

Craig Lancaster is a notable author. He has won accolades, awards, and been nominated for prestigious prizes. In 2009, Lancaster’s book 600 Hours of Edward clinched the Montana Honor Book award. In 2010, the said book was nominated for the High Plains Award under the category of the Best First Book. Also in 2010, his book The Summer Son was among the finalists for the Utah Book Award.

In 2012, Quantum Physics and the Art of Departure by Craig Lancaster clinched the Independent Publisher Book Award in the Best Regional Fiction. The said book was also yet again a finalist for the High Plains Award the same year. In 2014, the book titled The Fallow Season of Hugo Hunter won the Kindle First Selection. Furthermore, Lancaster’s This Is What I Want was among the finalists for the High Plains Book Award.

Craig Lancaster makes his home in Billings, Montana, where he is a contributor and doubles as the design director of a publication called Montana Weekly. He has since divorced his first wife, and, on October 2016, he registered for his wedding with author-cum-writing coach Elisa Lorello at a wedding registry.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Craig Lancaster

Leave a Reply