Book Notification

Crimson Worlds Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Crimson Worlds Books

Marines (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Cost of Victory (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Little Rebellion (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The First Imperium (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Line Must Hold (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
To Hell's Heart (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Shadow Legions (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Even Legends Die (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Fall (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Red Team Alpha (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Crimson Worlds Prequel Novellas

Publication Order of Crimson Worlds Refugees Books

Into the Darkness (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Shadows of the Gods (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Revenge of the Ancients (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Winds of Vengeance (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Storm of Vengeance (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Crusade of Vengeance (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Crimson Worlds Successors Books

MERCS (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Prisoner of Eldaron (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Black Flag (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Crimson Worlds is a series of Military Science Fiction novels written by Jay Allan. The books follow the exploits of a marine as he rises through the ranks of the military and attempts to save mankind from internal and external threats.

+The Story

Crimson Worlds takes place in the 23rd Century. As tends to happen in most literary Space Operas, the future has not been kind to the earth. Most of the planet’s resources have been depleted.

The dregs of mankind still left on its surface live in abject poverty and misery, this excluding the elite. Long ago, many brave men and women set off for space, intent on conquering new worlds and crafting societies that would preserve the human species.

While they succeeded, their gains only brought about bloodshed. With their economies exhausted, the despotic Superpowers of the earth sought to gain and maintain total control over the new colony worlds, determined to use their vast resources to fuel their agendas.

By the time the Crimson Worlds series starts, a war has erupted. The so-called Third Frontier War finds the men and women of the Colony Worlds being assaulted by the Superpowers of the earth.

Erik Cain takes center stage as the main character, introduced in ‘Marines’, the first book in the series. As a death row inmate, Erik was sure his life was over. But then the unexpected happened; the powers that be offered him a deal.

Erik would be pardoned for all his crimes and in return, he would enlist in the army and take to space to fight Earth’s battles. Erik quickly found that war in the 23rd Century was a vastly different affair.

As a marine, Erik would not only undergo extensive training but he would be outfitted with special nuclear-powered armor with which he would crush earth’s enemies. With his new tools, Erik found that he was faster and stronger than the average human being.

Unfortunately for the former convict, he quickly learned that the enemy was also just as well equipped and, as such, it would still come down to men and blood to win battles. And if he wanted to survive long enough to enjoy his newfound freedom, Erik would have to quickly adapt to the new rules.

The first book in the Crimson Worlds series gives special emphasis to Erik Cain’s journey. The book delves into his training and the brutal campaigns he fought, Jay Allan using his hero’s travels to explain the Universe of the Crimson Worlds.
Over time, it becomes clear that Erik is extraordinary in his efforts and readers are allowed to follow him as he proves his mettle and rises through the ranks. However, as the campaigns grow in intensity, Erik begins to question his place in the universe.

The Third Frontier War allows Erik to engage and interact with a variety of individuals. At first, this is just restricted to fellow marines. But then Erik begins to engage with the men and women of the colonies. He finds that they have created peaceful societies that continue to preserve the rights and freedom that earth abandoned a long time ago.
As the series progresses, Erik’s perception of things changes and he begins to wonder whether or not he has been fighting on the right side of things.

While the first book definitely elevates the importance of Erik’s character, later books in the Crimson Worlds series begin to look beyond Erik to the universe at large. The Superpowers of Earth are afforded further in-depth exploration.
Over time, a new stronger Alliance emerges to fight against these Super Powers. All the while, the renown of Erik and characters like Admiral August Garrett continues to grow. They are forced to make high stakes decisions that affect the lives of millions, if not billions.

And it quickly becomes clear that there can be no easy answers. For every despot Erik and his Alliance destroy, a new foe rises to take his place. The galaxy is a big place and Erik finds that there are always new enemies waiting to assault him from all the shadowy corners he cannot see.

The Crimson Worlds books are military fiction because they feature a lot of battles both in space and on land. And Jay Allan has been praised for his ability to describe vivid conflicts and easily understandable war strategies.
However, these novels also have a lot of political aspects. There are several chapters that are dedicated to exploring the debates and discussions that take place in the halls of government.

+The Author

Jay Allan is a USA Today Bestselling author that writes science fiction and fantasy. Allan spent his childhood reading science fiction and fantasy. He remembers being especially drawn to military and dystopian science fiction. He also had an affinity for alternate history stories and epic fantasy.

Allan typically prioritizes world-building in his books. He also tries to create complex characters and rich histories.


Erik Cain was on death row. He was waiting to die. Then he was given the option to either join the Marines and or die. Erik chose to become a soldier. And he became a damn good one, utilizing the nuclear-powered armor that is all the rage in the 23rd Century and making it his business to spill blood on behalf of the superpowers of Earth.

But once Erik began to actually engage with the enemy, his perception shifted. Suddenly he wasn’t so sure that the men and women of the societies they were attacking actually deserved to die.

Erik found himself questioning whether he was fighting on the right side of the war.

+The Cost of Victory

The Third Frontier War threatens to destroy all the human-occupied words. And after so many years of conflict, the Western Alliance looks strong. Admiral Augustus Garrett is making waves as he leads the Alliance fleet from one victory to another.
With Erik Cain in play, it looks like the enemy might soon crumble.

However, Erik is hearing whispers of despotic Superpowers crafting a scheme that will give them control of space.
There can be no backing down, though. Erik, Garrett and the Alliance will either win it all or lose everything.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Crimson Worlds

Leave a Reply