Book Notification

Crossroads Brotherhood Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Crossroads Brotherhood Books

The Crossroads Brotherhood (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Racing Factions (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Dreams of Morpheus (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Alexandrian Embassy (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Imperial Triumph (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

The “Crossroads Brotherhood” series written by best selling author Robert Fabbri is from the historical fiction genre. This is a series of novellas, and it started in the year 2011 with the release of “The Crossroads Brotherhood”. The series is set in the same world as the “Vespasian” series that Robert Fabbri also writes.

The series dives into the criminal underworld in Rome, and stars the leader of the gang known as the Crossroads Brotherhood who is named Marcus Salvius Magnus.

“The Crossroads Brotherhood” is the first story in the “Crossroads Brotherhood” series and was released in the year 2011. Set in Rome, in the year 25 AD, and is a prequel to the first novel in the “Vespasian” series (“Tribune of Rome”). Patron of the Crossroads Brotherhood (named Marcus Salvius Magnus) has two problems right now. One of the brothels that he protects has been raided by some rival Brotherhood, and they got away with some valuable pieces of “merchandise”.

He is unable to let the attack go unpunished, that would have him lose face. At the same time, he would rather avoid starting a gang war; something that he does not know how to do right now. Lady Antonia, the emperor’s sister in law, has told Senator Gaius Vespasius Pollo know that she has a score to settle and only blood is going to settle it. Magnus has a favor that he owes the Senator.

A simple assassination would not at all be a problem for someone like Magnus, but he has been told by his superiors to be more inventive on this one. He will have to do more than just the usual knifing in the back while in a dark alley.

“The Racing Factions” is the second story in the “Crossroads Brotherhood” series and was released in the year 2013. The year is 32 AD. Marcus Magnus fanatically supports the Green Racing Faction and wants his wager to be honored. He does not expect honesty from anyone, but does believe that a Circus Maximus bookmaker should record every bet and pay out the full amount that is due to them. Ignatius (who is the bookmaker) thinks that he can get away with cheating Magnus out of the money that he is due. This makes him worthy of the wrath of Magnus and the South Quirinal Crossroads Brotherhood, too (which Magnus leads). Magnus is going to use all the resources that he has, as the leader of his criminal brotherhood to get his vengeance.

Magnus’s patron, who is named Gaius Vespasius Pollo, is trying to get Sabinus (his nephew) made quaestor in the next election. This is giving Magnus a problem. The support of the senior counsul (Gnaeus Domitius Ahenobarbus) would do the trick. Gaius wants Magnus to push the consul, a man that is known for his extreme violence, in the right direction.

Ahenobarbus has a passion for the Red Faction at the circus. Is Magnus going to be able to wash two tunics in just one tub? That would be: bring down Ignatius and get the support of Ahenobarbus by trying to fix a chariot race by a way that has never been done ever before?

Fans of the novel felt that there is so much happening here, that you feel like you have read a full story, and not just a novella. It is not for the faint hearted. The story is fast paced and a taut read. The plot of the story is winding and twisting and gives plenty of surprises and action. You get the sense that this “side character” deserves his very own series of novels, not just these shorts.

“The Dreams of Morpheus” is the third novel in the “Crossroads Brotherhood” series and was released in the year 2014. The year is 34 AD in Rome. Magnus is trying to find an eastern flower’s resin to unlock the realm of Morpheus. Senator Pollo is in need of it for Lady Antonia (who is the most powerful woman in the city) so that a considerable debt can be recouped.

There is the smell of rebellion in the air, at the same time. Magnus’s people think that they are being shorted on grain. The October festival is coming to celebrate both the agricultural and military campaigns. There is a violent riot that breaks out this time. Is Magnus going to be able to quiet things down and fix some things?

Fans of the novel found that this is an excellent read and that Magnus deserves his own novels. This is quite the character that Fabbri has written about, and quite a world that he has built. This does not hold back and shows how gritty things were back then, especially in this part of the world. Some read these stories as quickly as they are written and released and cannot wait for more.

“The Alexandrian Embassy” is the fourth novel in the “Crossroads Brotherhood” series and was released in the year 2015. The year is 39 AD in Rome. Marcus Salvius Magnus (leader of the Crossroads Brotherhood) is buying a bunch of weaponry that is considered illegal and dangerous. He is involved in a deal, one that will ensure his dominance over the underworld in Rome, that goes sour and he must get the shipment back by any means.

A rival, called West Viminal Brotherhood, threatens his whole entire operation, Magnus starts to fight to outsmart his opponents while juggling both what his patron demands and the threat of the law coming down on him. Enemies, plots, and intrigue all over the place, is Magnus going to be able to stay away from death long enough to win this?

Fans of the novel felt that Fabbri does a great job of writing short stories and make you feel as though you have read something much longer. Some enjoyed the way that the story was told; it was a great blend of scheming, humor, violence, and entertainment. There is that much put into them and that much happening. Fans are unable to put the stories in this series down, their attention is held that strongly by what is going on. You cannot help but enjoy this character, and the stories that are told about him.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Crossroads Brotherhood

Leave a Reply