Book Notification

Crow Investigations Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Crow Investigations Books

The Night Raven (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Silver Mark (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Fox's Curse (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Pearl King (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Copper Heart (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Shadow Wing (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Broken Cage (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Magpie Key (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Crow Investigations Series by Sarah Painter
Author Sarah Painter writes the “Crow Investigations” series of urban fantasy novels. The series began publication in the year 2018, when “The Night Raven” was released.

Lydia Crow doesn’t have any powers, not like her infamous family does, anyway. She works as a private investigator, running Crow Investigations.

“The Night Raven” is the first novel in the “Crow Investigations” series and was released in the year 2018. Meet Lydia Crow. She has known for a long time that she has no powers, particularly when compared to her infamous and more-than-only-slightly dodgy family. This is why she made a life for herself as a private investigator far away from the city of London.

A professional snafu forces her to return back home, the head of the family calls in a favor. As a result, she finds herself looking into her cousin Maddie’s disappearance. Quickly, Lydia is neck deep in problems: tensions between the old magical families rise, the forbidden yet intriguing DCI Fleet acts in a distinctly unprofessional manner, and her new flatmate is a homicidal ghost.

The Silvers have an ability for lying and they run the best law firm in all of London. The Pearl family were once costermongers and everybody knows that a Pearlie is able to sell feathers to a bird. The Crows once ruled the roost and there are rumors that they’re still the strongest. And the less said about the Fox family the better.

For over seven decades now, there has been a truce between each of the four families which has held strong, however could Maddie Crow’s disappearance be the one thing that breaks it?

“The Silver Mark” is the second novel in the “Crow Investigations” series and was released in the year 2019. Lydia Crow’s city is London so when there is a man discovered hanged under Blackfriars Bridge, she takes this personally. Driven by her own desire to improve her fledgling skills as a private investigator and her innate sense of justice, she investigates. Even when it appears as though the Silver Family could be involved, she refuses to back down.

The Silver Family, with their fine law firm in London, have got a gift for persuasion. In the Bad Old Days it was rumored that they could actually make a man jump from a roof by convincing him that he could fly. However, this is all in the past. Right?

Everyone wants something from Lydia: her ghostly flatmate wants her to test out her power, Her Uncle Charlie wants her to join the infamous Family Business, the Silver Family wants her to keep her nose out. Oh, and DCI Fleet wants a relationship. Problem is that Lydia hasn’t ever been much good at taking orders from others. And London during a heat wave is a dangerous place to be.

“The Fox’s Curse” is the third novel in the “Crow Investigations” series and was released in the year 2019. A vengeful Silver, a cursed Fox, and a whole lot of trouble.

Lydia Crow has believed for a long time that there is much more under London than just trains, however hasn’t ever been keen enough to poke around in the dark. However when Paul Fox, a powerful member of the Fox Family, blackmails her into taking on a case, she’s got no choice but to do just that.

Investigating one suspicious death in one disused tunnel of the London Underground for her former boyfriend causes some friction between DCI Fleet and her. And not in fun sort either.

Her ghostly flatmate looks for answers about his own demise, Uncle Charlie still pressures her to work in the Family Business, and Maria Silver wants blood. Lydia’s, preferably. With some old alliances being broken, it is a lot tougher for Lydia to know just who she can trust. There is a major decision coming up and it gets closer with each second. Lydia must find her path in the dark. And do so rather quick.

“The Pearl King” is the fourth novel in the “Crow Investigations” series and was released in the year 2020. Loyalty, respect, tradition, and murder. Just typical family stuff.

Lydia gets pulled into the Crow Family Business by shady Uncle Charlie, finally. He has decided that Lydia must learn the full truth about her infamous Family and to finally step into her own role within it. Whether or not she likes it. After she is wrongfully arrested, her relationship with DCI Fleet becomes decidedly rocky, however once a teenaged girl goes missing from Highgate Woods she has to set aside her emotions and work on this case.

She is increasingly alarmed by Charlie’s methods, however has been trapped by her own loyalty. Then there is a direct attack on the Crows that raises tension between all of the families to a boiling point, and the mysterious Pearl Family to come out of the shadows. Is Lydia going to be able to restore the balance to the magical Families of London without of course losing her soul first?

“The Copper Heart” is the fifth novel in the “Crow Investigations” series and was released in the year 2020. Heavy’s the head which wears the crown. Lydia just took over as the leader of the Crow Family and is attempting to keep the criminality to a bare minimum. DCI Fleet has informed her that he is ‘all in’ but there must be limits and Lydia has no desire to learn what they happen to be.

When Alejandro, the Silver Family’s head, drops dead, she has to figure out whether this was natural causes or if it was murder. And quickly. Lydia has made enemies of Maria Silver, her own uncle, and the Pearl King. Plus, her position right at the top puts her in the sights of so many more.

Lydia’s evaded death before, and is starting to gain even greater mastery over her own powers with each day that passes, however now she is not just worried about saving her own skin. Will Lydia be able to figure out what really happened to Alejandro Silver before her luck runs out?

Book Series In Order » Characters » Crow Investigations

Leave a Reply