Book Notification

Cul-de-Sac Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Cul-de-sac Kids Books

The Double Dabble Surprise (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Chicken Pox Panic (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Crazy Christmas Angel Mystery (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
Frog Power (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Mystery of Case D. Luc (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
No Grown-ups Allowed (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Stinky Sneakers Mystery (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
Pickle Pizza (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mailbox Mania (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Mudhole Mystery (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fiddlesticks (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Crabby Cat Caper (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tarantula Toes (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
Green Gravy (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
Backyard Bandit Mystery (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tree House Trouble (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Creepy Sleep-Over (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Great TV Turn-Off (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
Piggy Party (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Granny Game (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mystery Mutt (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
Big Bad Beans (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Upside-Down Day (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Midnight Mystery (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Cul-de-Sac series is a wonderful book series written a bestselling and award winning American author named Beverly Lewis. This series is comprised of a total of 24 books, which were released between the years 1993 and 2001. All the novels of this series are of Christian fiction, juvenile, mystery, and fiction genres. The books’ stories mainly revolve around the lives and adventures of two sisters named Abby Hunter and Carly Hunter. Something or the other keeps happening in their lives, which keeps them engaged all the time. The sisters find themselves running around trying to solve the mysteries. Author Beverly has set the stories mainly on the Blossom Hill Lane. Other than Abby and Carly, the other important characters of this series include Stacy Henry, Grandma Hunter, Granny Mae, Jimmy, Shawn, Jason Birchall, Ellen, Dunkum, etc. As the series progresses further, a number of other secondary characters get introduced in the plots. Overall, the series seems to be quite an amazing one. It shows the challenges and surprises that these kids go through, and steps they take to overcome every situation.

The debut book of the Cul-de-Sac series written by author Beverly Lewis is entitled ‘The Double Dabble Surprise’. This book was released by the Bethany House publication in the year 1995, after its original release in 1993. At the start of the book’s story, it is shown that Abby Hunter joins her little sister Carly Hunter to wait in desperation to for meeting with their new ‘Korean’ sisters. They even purchase some welcoming gifts to take them along with themselves to the airport and welcome their new sisters home. However, they receive a big surprise when they are told that the Korean sisters are not in the plane. Carly and Abby begin wondering where they could be or what might have happened to them? The sisters team up with their friends from Cul-de-Sac on Blossom-Hill Lane and go on to find the missing Korean sisters. While doing so, they receive the surprises of their own lives. This book appears to be a useful tool for teaching kids about the cultural differences and their acceptance. However, they are placed in the story where the plot appears to be condescending and patronizing towards the people who are not from America. Several critics have hinted that the book is more of a religious tract and has been disguised in the form of a story for children. Leaving this thing apart, the story looks quite interesting to read. It has a lot in it for children. They get to learn a lot of things in addition to undergoing an exciting adventure by following the story of the Hunter sisters. The sisters are told that they are going to have new sisters, but their mother is not pregnant with another child. Well, it seems that the new pair sisters are arriving from Korea. Both Abby & Carly seem very excited about it. They plan to welcome their new siblings and do a lot of stuffs together. But, when they reach the airport, they become surprised to find that instead of 2 girls, 2 boys have shown up. Now, the Hunters don’t seem to have any idea what happened or how did the mixup take place? Nevertheless, they decide to take the boys in. They also decide to let the boys go away once the girls come. The boys do not look lost or dejected or tired. They just do whatever the Hunters tell them to do and don’t show any sign of nervousness or sadness. But, having boys instead of sisters doesn’t go well with Carly & Abby. But, they don’t have any other option, but to accept the boys. After a few days, the Hunters feel the need to change the name of the boys and given them western names. Their original names, Joon Koo and Sung Jin, are taken down are they are given their new names as Jimmy and Shawn.

The next installment of this series is called ‘The Chicken Pox Panic’. It was published by the Bethany publishers in 1995. The central characters of this book are shown as Abby Hunter, Stacy Henry, and Carlt Hunter. At the beginning of the story of the book, it is depicted that Abby Hunter makes the plan of preparing a birthday for her brother and hopes that he will not forget it ever in his life. She wonders if she is going to be able to keep her plan a secret and give him a surprise. Abby prays that the big mouth of her little sister does not come in the way of her plans. When the day of the party nears, Abby is approached by her friend named Stacy Henry, who asks her for help in solving a mystery related to her family. Abby tells Stacy that she has become tired of playing a detective, but she keeps on insisting. So, Abby doesn’t see any other choice than accepting to help Stacy Henry. Soon after, she learns that the kids in the Cul-de-Sac club are getting sick with chicken pox one after the other. This makes Abby feel that nothing worse could have happened in such a busy time. She is not going to have the help of any of her friends is dealing with Stacy’s mystery problem and making preparations for her brother’s birthday. This book’s story seems a good one to give lessons to the kids about how to make lemonades. On the whole, the book looks to be very engaging and interesting. It is a perfect read for children as it gives them lessons on how to deal with problems in life and come out victorious, no matter how grievous the problems may look. The book also gives a positive moral to the kids that they should not give up before trying. Author Beverly Lewis has done a wonderful job by coming up with such an exciting story. She received numerous praises from the critics for her excellent contribution. The success of this book knew no bounds within a few days of its release. And the huge success helped author Beverly become highly motivated for writing several more books in this series in the future. Author Beverly succeeded in attracting a vast number of readers from all corners of the world, especially in the form of children. Each person who read the story recommended it to others and helped in its overall success.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Cul-de-Sac

Leave a Reply