Book Notification

Cupcake Bakery Mysteries Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Cupcake Bakery Mystery Books

Sprinkle with Murder (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Buttercream Bump Off (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death by the Dozen (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Red Velvet Revenge (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Going, Going, Ganache (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sugar and Iced (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dark Chocolate Demise (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Vanilla Beaned (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Caramel Crush (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Wedding Cake Crumble (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dying for Devil's Food (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Pumpkin Spice Peril (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
For Batter or Worse (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Strawberried Alive (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sugar Plum Poisoned (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fondant Fumble (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Cupcake Bakery Mysteries series is a series of thriller and cozy mystery novels written by one of the popular American writers and the New York Times bestselling author named Jenn McKinlay. There is a total of 8 novels in the series, of which seven have already been published between the years 2010 and 2015. The 8th novel of the series is also completed and is ready to be published soon in the coming days of the year 2016. All the novels of the Cupcake Bakery Mysteries series feature the main characters in the form of Angela DeLaura and Melanie Cooper, who are often referred to as Angie and Mel. The two characters are depicted as the owners and partners of a bakery shop called as the ‘Fairy Tale Cupcakes’ located in Scottsdale, Arizona, United States. Starting and running the bakery shop is the dream job of Mel Angie, and they put in a lot of hard work and dedication to make it a success. However, as their bakery shop becomes a little bit successful, they begin to face difficulties in running the shop. Soon, their famous cupcakes also tend to lose their taste as several dead bodies begin to turn up in their bakery shop.

Angie and Mel seem to lose all hopes of maintaining a smooth sailing of the shop, but then they decide to take the matters involving the dead bodies into their own hands. Together, they start investigating the cases on their own and solve them one after the other as they turn up in their lives. With their sheer determination and dedication, Mel Cooper and Angie DeLaura once again become successful in running their bakery shop smoothly and selling their famous cupcake to their satisfied customers. In the meantime, they also continue to deal with the investigative works that keep coming their way. This scenario continues throughout the series in each and every novel of the series. Author Jean McKinlay began writing the series in the year 2010, when she wrote and published the first novel of the series titled ‘Sprinkle with Murder’. This was followed by the other novels of the series as well in the successive years. Author Jean McKinlay is still working on the next novels of the series as the series is currently going on. She is expected to release a couple of novels in the series very soon as she has finished with their writing works.

The main characters of the Cupcake Bakery Mysteries series, Angela DeLaura and Melanie Cooper are introduced for the first time in the debut novel of the series, as the co-owners of the bakery shop, the ‘Fairy Tale Cupcakes’. As soon as they open their bakery shop, they get their first order of 500 custom made cupcakes from their first client, who is described as an about to be a bride for her wedding. However, the bride is discovered dead after eating one of the cupcakes and eventually, Melanie Cooper becomes the prime suspect in her murder. Now, Angela and Melanie are required to work together in order to uncover the real killer or else, their business is going to suffer a huge loss. Because of becoming the prime suspect in the murder of the bride, the co-owners hardly have any time to save their bakery shop. They need to race against time and prove their innocence if they want to start selling their cupcakes once again life before.

One of the initial novels of the Cupcake Bakery Mysteries series written by author Jean McKinlay was titled ‘Red Velvet Revenge’. It was released by the Berkley publishing house in the year 2012. The plot of this novel continues to feature the main characters in the form of Angie DeLaura and Mel Cooper, just like the previous novels of the series. In the opening sequence of the plot of the novel, the arrival of the summer season is depicted and the sales of the cupcakes in the ‘Fairy Tale Cupcakes’ bakery shop below zero, as usual. The owners of the cupcake shop, Angie and Mel seem to be quite desperate and willing to increase the sale of cupcakes in their shop. They try a number of things to heat the things up in their bakery shop. Soon, they are asked by the local legend named Slim Hazard to supply him cupcakes for the annual function of the Jupiter Pass rodeo. Melanie and Angela see the opportunity as their only chance to make a pretty awesome payday. But, it appears that not many at the Jupiter Pass are fond of the cupcakes from the ‘Fairy Tale Cupcakes’, including the star bull rider named Ty Stokes. Seeing the disliking of the cowboy, the co-owners of the bakery shop try to steer the short fuse of the cowboy with their clarity. However, the story takes a different turn when the dead body of Ty Stokes is found in the hay with his face down. It becomes very clear that the cowboy was killed by a vengeful murderer, whom the ladies are required to catch as soon as possible in order to save themselves as well as their business.

One of the other initial novels of the series was published in the year 2013 by the Berkley publishing house and was titled ‘Going, Going, Ganache’. In the opening sequence of the plot of the novel, co-owners Melanie Cooper and Angie DeLaura try to make amends of a cupcake-flinging incident during a photo shoot for one of the local magazines by agreeing to host a corporate boot camp for a week at the Fairy Tale Cupcakes. This idea is given by the billionaire named Ian Hannigan, who is the new owner of the lifestyle magazine called Southwest Style. The magazine chronicles the lifestyles of the rich and famous people of Scottsdale. Ian Hannigan assigns his staff members for a week of team building for making cupcakes for a charity event. Clearly, the staff would do as directed to them by their boss. However, when the dead body of the creative director of the magazine is found outside the bakery shop, the co-owners once again get involved in a cat and mouse chase for catching the real killer before their cupcake business gets shut down.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Cupcake Bakery Mysteries

Leave a Reply