Book Notification

Curtain Worlds Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Futuristic World of St. Helen's Books

Publication Order of Futuristic World of Harmony: Ghost Hunters Books

By: Jayne Castle, Jayne Ann Krentz
Bridal Jitters (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
After Dark (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
After Glow (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ghost Hunter (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Silver Master (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dark Light (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Obsidian Prey (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Illusion Town (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Guild Boss (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sweetwater and the Witch (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
People in Glass Houses (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Futuristic World of Harmony: Rainshadow Books

By: Jayne Castle, Jayne Ann Krentz

The “Curtain Worlds” series (which is also called the “Futuristic World of Harmony”) by Jayne Ann Krentz began in the year 2000 with the release of “After Dark”. The books are written under the Jayne Castle name that this author uses for her futuristic and paranormal romance novels.

During the later part of the 21st century, something called an energy Curtain was opened near Earth. It made interstellar travel a practical mode of transportation for the very first time ever. Many humans packed their belongings and went out to find new homes and start new societies throughout the worlds that were not yet explored. One of them, was called Harmony.

Things started out going well. The new colonists brought all the luxuries from their homes; pieces of art and literary works, and great technology. They even brought the newest trends in clothing. The trade that was going on through the Curtain did well, and it allowed for people to stay in touch with their families that were still on Earth. The colonists were able to keep all of their gizmos working.

The Curtain closed one day, with no warning; it disappeared just as puzzling as it opened up. The colonists are cut off from the Earth, and have no way to get the necessary things to keep their gadgets running. It thrust them back into a primitive existence. The most major problem, now, is just staying alive.

Harmony’s colonists do what humans do best: survived. Two centuries after the Curtain’s closing, descendants of those First Generation Colonists have gotten back from the brink to being close to our own modern day Earth.

The way things go on Harmony, are just a little different. An ancient alien civilization’s remains, a puzzling underground rain forest, and an odd animal companion. Especially after it gets dark. All kinds of psychic powers turn up in the people. It seems to be due to something that is found in the environment.

That being said, there are some who already have their own paranormal abilities. This is due to many members of the Arcane Society (which is another series that Krentz writes and both this series and the Arcane is part of the same universe) were members of the First Generation Colonists.

“After Dark” is the first novel in the “Curtain Worlds” series and was released in the year 2000. Lydia is currently stressed after an awful incident that happened in an alien’s tomb, and she is obliged to work in Shrimpton’s House of Horrors (it is a low level museum). Her plans to get her fledgling career of the ground have not gone well. Things keep happening to stop her from doing well.

Like the dead body that she found in the sarcophagus. Who would need something like that, anyway? Her new client Emmett London is one of the city’s most dangerous men, finding that out sure does not help things. That is just today’s things that are setting her back. In Dead City of Old Cadence things do not really get interesting until After Dark.

Fans of the novel found this is a great way to start a series, as the author does a great job world building in creating the far away planet of Harmony. This is a story that flows nicely along, by the end of the first half, you will be gripped by excitement from the suspense found in the book.

“After Glow” is the second novel in the “Curtain Worlds” series and was released in the year 2004. Lydia Smith’s life is complex. She works at Shrimpton’s House of Ancient Horrors (a tacky and third rate museum) in an attempt to save her career in the field of para-archaeology. She also dates the town’s most dangerous man. Right about the time she believes she is getting her life together, she finds a dead body. Lydia also learns of her lover’s secret past that might get him killed.

In Dead City, trouble is brewing in the underground and glowing green place. Not to mention Fuzz (a dynamic dust-bunny) has some surprises ready and up his tatty and furry sleeve.

All of this is nothing compared to the biggest problem that Lydia is having at the moment. She has nothing to wear to the Restoration Ball that she has just gotten invited to.

Everything about this book: the people in it, the excellent plot, and the world of Harmony, and the conclusion, were all fantastically done. Some especially liked Lydia, and the way that she is able to solve problems for herself; it would seem that she has matured more in this book and is not prone to be impulsive like she was in book one. Fans of the novel found this to an incredible read that they wished they had read sooner. They stayed up late, because of the gripping story, and were hooked on each page of the book.

“Ghost Hunter” is the third novel in the “Curtain Worlds” series and was released in the year 2006. In the an ancient alien civilization’s ruins, deadly energy ghosts are lurking. Dust bunnies are actually loyal pets. A ghost hunter learns that the heart of a woman is a very dangerous ally.

Cooper Boone (who is a ghost hunter with a lot of power and a local Guild boss) is all that Elly St. Clair (a botanist) could want. He is the strong, handsome, and silent kind. He might be too silent though. Elly has to call their marriage off after some Guild secrets threaten the career she has at college. She has to leave the small town life she has lived behind her.

Starting over in a thriving metropolis, called Cadence City, is not quite easy. Not when one of the new friends that Elly makes goes missing in the creepy catacombs underground. Cooper shows up right in time to assist Elly investigate matters. The mystery gets deeper and there are some ghost myths and legends are uncovered. Cooper says that he will stay put in the town, and he will not hold anything back, this time around.

Fans of the novel like the excellent plot, the great new characters that star in the book, and the wonderful dialogue that Krentz wrote for these characters. Some think that this book is their favorite of this series so far.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Curtain Worlds

Leave a Reply