Book Notification

Cynthia Hand Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Unearthly Books

Publication Order of The Lady Janies Books

with Jodi Meadows, Brodi Ashton
My Lady Jane (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
My Plain Jane (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
My Calamity Jane (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
My Contrary Mary (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
My Imaginary Mary (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
My Salty Mary (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Last Time We Say Goodbye (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Afterlife of Holly Chase (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The How and the Why (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
With You All the Way (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Life Inside My Mind(2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Cynthia Hand is an American author well known for use of historical romance and young adult fantasy in her writing. She is one of the New York Times bestselling author .Some of her two early famous books include; `Unearthly’ and `Hallowed’ .They have featured in the unearthly book series. Other books which have featured in the series include; Boundless and Radiant novels. She is a part time lecturer in Pepperdine University where she teaches creative writing. Having begun her writing in 2011, she has managed to write historical comedy and contemporary novels. Cynthia is a graduate of Boise State University having pursued literary fiction. Further, she advanced her studies by pursuing fiction writing at University of Nebraska at Lincoln. She graduated with a PhD. Since she published her first book in the unearthly series, she has successfully written five more novels that relate to Harper teen. Having met several friends, she now writes together with Lady Janie.

Cynthia was born and brought up in southeast Idaho. At the age of 6 years, she developed passion for writing and with the support of her second grade teacher. Her teacher helped her turn the dream to a reality. Throughout her grade school, she could write stories about supernatural beings but they could not win in any competition. However, she didn’t give up .Due to the passion she had to win in a writing contest; she started writing about unicorns but didn’t win either. When she went to high school she decided to form a writing group where they could write about movies and their favorite novels using fan fiction. When she joined the college of Idaho, Cynthia had to major in English where she continued writing as a hobby. However, her father wanted her to get a well paying job so he put emphasis on her to study law. She knew she wanted to be a writer so she had to convince her parents not to let her pursue law. After she successfully convinced her parents, Cynthia applied for a M.F.A. program in Boise State University for a creative writing course. She has had a rough ride which makes her a successful writer today. She lives with her husband and their son in Southern California.

Unearthly novel is a tale of a character’s fate and love. It shows a struggle between follow rules or follow the heart. The novel is featured in unearthly series where it brings out the character Clara; a 16 year old girl who is a gardener. She discovers she is like an angel with supernatural powers. She believes she is more than a human through the blood that runs through her veins. She is much stronger and smarter than humans. She believes she has a purpose and starts discovering it. Clara faces the challenge of facing her destiny where she joins school after experiencing visions that showed her a raging fire in the forest. She was also being allured by a stranger. Clara meets a boy named `Christian’. She had to choose between her duty and following her heart. Further, she meets another boy named ` Tucker’ who she believes understands more of her angelic side .She later discovers she was destined to save a young boy from forest fire. She is very resourceful and quite smart. After she discovers her purpose, they pack with the mother and brother and live for California. The book is fun, easy to read and brings about the aspect of paranormal love at some point. All characters are present in the book and you just adore them. Clara’s mother is always present for her .It’s stunning to build the angel picture in your mind. It builds charisma and realism. The book has an eye catching cover and likeable characters .The methodology used is one of a kind. It’s an awesome book that you would like to keep reading. The story continues in the hallowed book.

Hallowed is another early book that has featured in Unearthly series. It shows Clara’s next adventures as she faces the aftermath of her first encounter. She faces another challenge of her complicated feelings among the two boys. The story of Clara continues where we see her recovering from fire. However, she gets a dream that explains good things about her future. After the fierce wildfire, she thought that her heavenly purpose had vanished. She discovers that saving the young boy in the forest was not her purpose. The book shows she was not fully prepared to face the day and that she had made the wrong choice. Jeffrey; her brother starts to act strange while Angela tries to help her test her powers. In fact nothing about her is straightforward. Having fallen for Tucker, she realizes she had a role to play with Christian .She gets torn between the two. It turns out to be horrible love triangle. Later, she discovers that a person she loves had to die in a few months to come. Her future is uncertain and she realizes that the fire was just the beginning of her problems. Having read the first novel in this series it’s almost possible to predict how the love triangle will play in the hallowed. Christian and Tucker respect Clara and are deeply in love with her. The ending is so heartbreaking the reader feels so much for Clara. Cynthia makes the book very additive and heartbreaking until the reader can feels for the characters. It appears to be better than the first one due to Clara’s family involvement, the dreams, the purpose, drama and the emotions that come out. It answers all the questions that appear at the end of the first book with dramatic turnarounds. The story continues in the third book `lost scene in the Hallowed’ in the Unearthly series

Books into a TV show

The Unearthly and Hollowed books have made it to CW Television network. No book has made it to a movie yet.

Cynthia Hand has done other novels like; my lady Jane, the last time we say goodbye and boundless. She recommends that you read the `Once’ book. Her books evoke genuine emotion and are straight forward. She will take you for a delightful journey and you will start begging for more.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Cynthia Hand

Leave a Reply