Book Notification

D.A. Mishani Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Avraham Avraham Mystery Books

The Missing File (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Possibility of Violence (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Man Who Wanted to Know Everything (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

D. A. Mishani
D. A. Mishani, born in June 23, 1975 in Holon, Israel, is an Israeli editor, crime writer, and literary scholar, specializing in the history of detective fiction. He lives in Tel Aviv with his wife and two kids.

His wife is originally from Poland. When she was teaching in Cambridge, his plan was to finish doctoral dissertation, however he wound up writing “The Missing File”. After, he tried writing the dissertation, but just wrote a second novel.

Mishani attempts to write against the idea that detectives always say that everybody around you is a suspect. When he began “The Missing File” he wanted a detective that acquits people, that sees them as being innocent, rather than guilty. This is what Avraham’s problem is. He believes that everybody’s innocent. Unfortunately, he’s mistaken.

Mishani’s first novel, called “The Missing File”, was published in the year 2011 in Hebrew. Translation rights for the novel, the first of a crime series that features Avraham Avraham, a police inspector, were sold to over ten territories. It has since been translated to more than fifteen languages.

Dror’s cinematic and television projects include “Tik Needar”, which is the Israeli series based on the first Avraham book and “The Wisdom of the Crowd”, which is a CBS crime drama based off of Dror’s original idea.

“The Missing File” was shortlisted in the year 2013 for the Grand Prix de Literature and the CWA International Dagger Award. The novel won the Martin Beck award, for best crime novel translated to Swedish. “A Possibility of Violence” won the Bernstein Award for Best Hebrew Novel in the year 2014. “Three” was shortlisted for the Grand Prix de litterature policiere in France and for the Sapir prize (the Israeli Booker). It spent over twenty weeks on the Der Spiegel bestsellers list in Germany.

“The Missing File” was adapted into a movie called “Black Tide” (called “Fieuve noir”) by director Erick Zonca in the year 2018.

“The Missing File” is the first novel in the “Avraham Avraham” series and was released in the year 2013. Crimes occurring in Avraham are usually not that complex. However a sixteen year old boy vanishes and a schoolteacher offers up a baffling complication, Avraham lands himself questioning everything he believed he knew about his life.

The novel is a mystery that’s going to leave readers questioning the notions of guilt and innocence and guilt and the rebellious nature of truth.

The book is both a mystery as well as a fascinating glimpse into the day-to-day Israeli life and culture without any propaganda or preaching. Mishani delivers an intelligent and well built novel. Avraham is a gray man that lives in a gray world; he drinks sometimes and smokes too much, and visits with his parents yet keeps them at a distance.

“A Possibility of Violence” is the second novel in the “Avraham Avraham” series and was released in the year 2014. One explosive device is located in a suitcase near a daycare center located in Holon, a peaceful suburb of Tel Aviv. A few hours later, a threat’s received. The suitcase was just the start. And it is.

Inspector Avraham, back in Israel after a long vacation he’d taken to recover from his final case (in The Missing File) gets assigned the case. Anxious about the nursery’s kids, he acts quick. He has quite a few suspects, however, and one of them, a dad of two kids, has apparently gone on the run.

Is he related to the threat and the suitcase? Is he attempting to escape Avraham’s investigation or did he maybe commit another crime, potentially more terrible, one that nobody knows been committed?

This is a gripping and evocative novel of psychological suspense and mystery. Avraham is a very likable character that is quite vulnerable and human cop whose mistakes just enhance and complicate his personal life and the plot. Even though it’s a translation, the writing is so great and pulls you in right from the opening section.

“The Man Who Wanted to Know Everything” is the third novel in the “Avraham Avraham” series and was released in the year 2016. Called on a stormy to the scene of his first murder investigation as the new commander of investigations.

Inspector Avraham is stunned to find that he knows the victim: a widow found savagely murdered in her home, named Leah Yeager, who was the victim of a rape that he worked on some years previously. However, with her rapist still in prison, Avraham’s sole lead is an eyewitness claiming that he saw a cop leave the crime scene, a police officer that appears to have just vanished into thin air.

Avraham, who is risking the cooperation of his police force, is determined to follow the lead, working feverishly to solve the case. No matter what the cost is. However when his investigation takes him to Mazal Bengtson, a young woman that struggles to escape a tortured past and salvage her marriage gone terribly wrong, this complicated case takes an even more disturbing and baffling turn.

Fans of the novel like how realistic each of these characters are, making it easy to imagine them moving through their respective daily lives. The dual perspectives are brought together, like the pieces from a jigsaw puzzle.

“Three” is the first stand alone novel and was released in the year 2020. A deeply religious immigrant caretaker, an abandoned woman looking for love, a disillusioned researcher stuck in a marriage. Three ladies whose lives appear to be as far apart as possible united by one common secret.

When Orna meets a someone named Gil on an online dating service, their lackluster affair appears to be nothing more than just a way to stave off the pain of her recent divorce. However it quickly becomes obvious that Gil might not be quite who he claims to be. Orna’s own lies could be weaving an unexpected trap for her.

Set in the turbulent backdrop of the gritty Holon neighborhood in Tel Aviv. The novel examines Israel’s forgotten margins, and unearths complex conflicts, layers, and prejudices.

Book Series In Order » Authors » D.A. Mishani

Leave a Reply