Book Notification

D.M. Haggard Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Buck Jackson: Mountain Man Books

Buck Jackson: Mountain Man (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Buck Jackson: Mountain Man 2 (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Buck Jackson: Mountain Man 3 (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Buck Jackson: Mountain Man 4 (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Journey (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mountain Life (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Cody Dakota: Mountain Man Books

Cody Dakota: Mountain Man (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Unexpected Encounter (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Colorado Rockies (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Deadly Justice (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Survival (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Open Wounds (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Goin' Home (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Shadow Dwellers (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Hunted (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Dusty McCoy Books

Publication Order of Jake Walker: Texas Ranger Books

Publication Order of Wilder Hawk: Mountain Man Books

D.M. Haggard
D. M. Haggard (aka D. M. Horridge) was born in Texas, and raised on dust, cactus, and a strong family. While he was very young he’d visit his uncle’s farm in San Antonio and working side by side with his seven cousins baling hay, hunting rattlesnakes, and swimming in a round cow trough. He has fished and hunted all around the United States, and has worked like a trojan on his own ranch in Texas.

He has written professional articles and short stories for a variety of professional and marketing magazines, but it was only in 2019 that he started writing western adventure stories. Haggard likes learning about the real characters of western history and then using them in a fictional way. He feels like he’s preserving their memory and the heritage they left for us over time.

Haggard has been blessed with a wonderful wife, a million friends, two fantastic kids. Haggard’s family is the most important part of his life. He’s also been blessed with four grandkids.

His message in every book is that we’re all a part of this world of ours and we need to work together in order to keep it from falling apart.

One of his favorite topics is the Texas Rangers, a group of honorable, tough, and law abiding men and women.

His children’s series “The Amazing Adventures of Two Boys” represents many of the stories that his dad told his brother when they were kids. These are always exciting, yet not at all frightening, they gave him great pleasure to write and have published under his dad’s name of Don Horridge, and his name D. M. Horridge.

Haggard believes his dad made him want to be a writer when he was older. He would tell them these stories which were adventures his dad pulled from his own life experiences and his wonderful imagination. He implanted this wonderful palette for both of his kids to dream about while painting story pictures vividly by using his words. While Haggard grew up, he just had to write them down. Over time, he’s written a variety of outdoor short stories and business articles, which were well received and gave him the encouragement to keep on writing.

He started “Pursuit”, his first novel, in 2012 and got to a point in the novel where he just couldn’t get the characters out of this cave. So he set the book aside and six years later, woke up this one morning and realized he knew how to do it. He finished the novel in about a month after that.

“Mountain Bound” is the first novel in the “Wilder Hawk: Mountain Man” series and was released in 2021. Half white and half Jicarilla Apache, Wilder Hawk has got a foot in the Anglo and Indian worlds, however he doesn’t fit in either one fully. His dad, who was a mountain man that married some Apache chief’s daughter, died in this hunting accident before Wilder was even born.

Wilder, who is a man grown at the age of eighteen, decides to leave his tribe and roam around the West, heading wherever the spirits take him in search of adventure and to have a connection to the man whose blood and name that he bears. Wilder’s travels take him from New Mexico up to the Colorado Rockies, which pits him against bandits, wild animals, rough terrain, and one would-be swindler.

His toughest challenge is the one that he least expects: guiding one pretty widow and her kids home on this 600 mile trek across the Kansas prairie, which is a place that no mountain man would typically be. When disaster threatens, it takes all of his strength and ingenuity to ensure his and the family’s survival.

“A Deadly Trail” is the first novel in the “Dusty McCoy” series and was released in 2022. Head em up and move em out! It is cattle drive time.

Back in the days before refrigeration, moving beef cattle from the Texas ranches where they were raised to the stockyards of Wichita and Dodge City, Kansas, was not an easy task. It was hundreds of hot, slow, dusty, and boring moments punctuated just by instants of sheer terror, from storms, rustlers, and stampedes. It took this special breed of cowboy to get such a job done.

Dusty McCoy fits this bill. He is nineteen, with these dark eyes that will turn pitch black whenever he is angry, and you really don’t want to make him angry. He is a fearless and ferocious fighter with his six gun and his fists, and he has already dispatched with the guy that wronged Dusty’s family. However Dusty is also deeply loyal to his fellow cowhands and family when he gets hired to help drive 5,000 head of cattle from Channing, Texas, two hundred miles away to Dodge City, and then another 150 miles to Wichita.

Saddle up and hit the trail in this exciting new cattle drive adventure from D. M. Haggard, however also bring plenty of ammo and your six guns, because this won’t be an easy ride.

“Cody Dakota” is the first novel in the “Cody Dakota: Mountain Man” series and was released in 2022. Cody Dakota, who was orphaned at fourteen, and then worked odd jobs all around Colorado Territory. He’s twenty when his life changes forever. Jeremiah “Liver eatin” Johnson, famed mountain man steps into the mercantile where Cody works as a gunsmith, and Cody takes his chance to follow in Jeremiah’s footsteps. Luckily, Jeremiah takes a shine to this eager youngster.

Jeremiah spends the next two years teaching Cody about hunting, trapping, and survival in the Rocky Mountains. And then Cody strikes out on his own, testing himself against the perils of the wilderness: grizzly and cougar attacks, snow and bitter cold, and encounters bandits intent on stealing his valuable furs from him.

Cody, while the northern fur trade continues to decline, heads for the southern Rockies and New Mexico to search for some better luck. A harrowing escape from this small town posse leads him to a chance meeting with this farmer that shelters Cody on a single condition: Cody has to help locate the man’s son, who was falsely accused of horse robbing and taken away by Mexican soldiers.

Trouble is, however, nobody knows if the young man that Cody has to search for is even still alive, or dead.

Book Series In Order » Authors » D.M. Haggard

Leave a Reply