Book Notification

D.P. Lyle Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Samantha Cody Books

Devil's Playground (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
Double Blind (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Original Sin (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Dub Walker Books

Stress Fracture (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hot Lights, Cold Steel (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Run To Ground (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Royal Pains Books

Publication Order of Jake Longly Books

Publication Order of Cain/Harper Thriller Books

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Murder and Mayhem (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
Forensics and Fiction (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Howdunit Forensics (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
More Forensics and Fiction (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Forensic Science (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Love is Murder(2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Nothing Good Happens After Midnight(2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

D.P. Lyle is one of the prominent authors of the mystery, science fiction, and thriller genres of novels. He hails from Huntsville, Alabama, The United States. Author Lyle received many prestigious awards in her writing career, including the Benjamin Franklin Silve and Macavity Awards. Also, he has been nominated on numerous occasions for several other prominent literary awards such as the Agatha, Silver Falchion, Edgar, Best Book, Anthony, and the Scribe Awards. During his writing career, author Lyle has written numerous nonfiction books as well as a number of fiction works such as the Samantha Cody, Jake Langly, and Dub Walker thriller novel series. He has also produced a few media tie-in books of Royal Pains. Author Lyle has written an essay based on The Mysterious Island written by Jules Verne, which is listed among the top 100 must read thriller novels. One of the short stories written by him, which is titled as Even Steven, is included in the anthology stories of ITW. Throughout the course of his career as an author, Lyle has collaborated with many other novelists on many occasions. He has even worked with some of the most popular writers of the widely popular television shows, including CSI: Miami, Judging Amy, Law and Order, Cold Case, Diagnosis Murder, Peacemakers, Monk, House, 1-800 Missing, Medium, The Glades, etc.

Author Lyle was born and brought up in Huntsville, Alabama. The interests of his childhood days revolved around baseball, rocket building, and playing football in the backyard. His pursuit of making rockets was very much common in Huntsville during the 1950s and 1960s because of the presence of a Space Flight Center of NASA/Marshall in the nearby region. Author Lyle moved out of Huntsville after graduating from his high school and joined college at the Alabama University. He also enrolled himself in the medical school and even worked for an internship at the same university. This was followed by a residency course in the subject of Internal Medicine from the Texas University, located in Houston. Author Lyle followed it up with a Fellowship at the Heart Institute of Texas in Cardiology, which is also situated in Houston. Author Lyle has been practicing Cardiology for the last 35 years in the Orange County, California. With such a vast experience in the field of medicine, author Lyle has earned the qualification of an MD and proudly adds it after his name. In addition to spending time in his medicine in writing careers, author Lyle co-hosts a radio show based on crime and science along with Jan Burke on the Suspense Radio. This show is a twice monthly program and author Lyle likes to host it without fail as per the schedule.

One of the most successful novel series written by D.P. Lyle is known as the Samantha Cody series. This series features three novels, which were released between the years 2001 and 2014. All the three books of this series feature Samantha Cody as the chief protagonist. She is depicted by author Lyle as an ex-officer from the LAPD, who now works as a deputy sheriff in the town of Mercer Corner in California. The debut book of this intriguing mystery series was published under the title of ‘Devil’s Playground’. The Bengal Press released this book in the year 2014, after it was originally published in the year 2001. Author Lyle has described the main characters in the book as Samantha Cody, Judge Westbrooke, and Richard Earl Garrett. As the novel begins, Samantha Cody or Sam, as she is often referred to as, is shown as successfully catching a wanted criminal named Richard Garrett. She makes her stand before the judge and jury for trial and jury give its verdict as a death recommendation by injection of lethal poison for 3 counts of murder. Now, the only thing standing between the death row and Richard Garrett is the final verdict of Judge Westbrooke. The trial runs for three exhausting weeks and during this whole time, Sam gets frequently haunted by the images of the sacrificial mutilations of the 3 children who Garrett had brutally murdered. The only defense that he shows is that he was made to do those sacrificial murders by the devil. Sam tries to shift her focus towards the professional boxing competition for women, which is her dream, and hopes that the chaos in the town will settle down soon with the death row Garrett. However, she receives a great shock after learning that 2 jury members and the jury foreman have died suspiciously. Soon, a few more murders take place in the town, each having the signature style of Garrett. Following this, a large group of characters arrives in the town, including members of the pseudo-Satan and a crazy reverend with his disciples. Sam could do nothing but watch the whole turn into a mob. Things look like going out of control and she thinks of taking a huge step before something more nasty happens.

The next intriguing book in the series written by author Lyle is titled as ‘Double Blind’. It was first released in 2002 and then by the Bengal Press in 2014. Author Lyle has set the plot of this book in Gold Creek, Colorado, and has once again described Samantha Cody as the deputy sheriff. At the beginning, she is depicted as winning the third match of professional boxing. Now, she looks forward to a stress free vacation at the new B & B of her friend Alyss Cameron, located in the small mountain community of the Gold Creek Colorado. However, her hopes of having a relaxing time get shattered when Samantha comes across an incident of brutal killing. During the incident, she too gets nearly trampled by a big, shadowy figure. Soon, a couple more murders take place which force Samantha to be in the uncomfortable state of being both the investigator and the witness. She learns about the existence of a big creature roaming near the mountain slopes, which terrorizes the hikers and mutilates the cattle. This makes her wonder whether a bear or a huge creature is hiding near the foothills. But, Forest Wade, who is the Police Chief, suspects Billy Wingo as the culprit because his bear-like physical appearance is like a huge mountain man and also matches the description of the killer. Now, Sam faces the tough challenge of surviving the harsh conditions on the mountains, the deep mines, as well as a conspiracy full of corruption and greed in order to be able to get closer to the truth.

Book Series In Order » Authors » D.P. Lyle

Leave a Reply