Nick Petrie Series

D.S. Butler Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of DS Jack Mackinnon Books

Deadly Obsession (2012)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Deadly Motive (2012)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Deadly Revenge (2012)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Deadly Justice (2013)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Deadly Ritual (2014)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Deadly Payback (2015)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Deadly Game (2016)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Deadly Intent (2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Harper Grant Mystery Books

A Witchy Business (2016)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Witchy Mystery (2016)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Witchy Christmas (2016)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Witchy Valentine (2017)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Harper Grant and the Poisoned Pumpkin Pie (2018)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of East End Books

with Dani Oakley
East End Trouble (2016)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
East End Diamond (2016)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
East End Retribution (2017)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of DS Karen Hart Books

Bring Them Home (2018)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Where Secrets Lie (2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Don't Turn Back (2020)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
House of Lies (2020)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
On Cold Ground (2021)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
What She Said (2022)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Find Her Alive (2023)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Lost Child (2017)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Her Missing Daughter (2018)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

D.S. Butler is a published author of fiction and the pen name that is used by Dani Oakley. She’s an English author.

Dani likes to write books that are in the crime fiction genre and began her career with the release of the Jack MacKinnon fictional series. Before she was a writer, Oakley worked in a totally different field. She was a scientific officer and a research scientist in a hospital pathology lab. Part of the benefit of having this type of background is that she gets the chance to draw on it for her writing.

Butler worked to obtain a degree in the field of biochemistry. Once she had her PhD, she would go on to the University of Oxford and work there for a total of 4 years. Then she would relocate, choosing to move to the region of the Middle East and even lived in Bahrain and Dubai as well as Abu Dhabi. Dani currently resides in the United Kingdom, the place that she is currently calling home.

She is a fan of crime fiction novels that are written by authors such as Peter James and Mark Billingham. Oakley is also a huge fan of the music group Queen. When she is not busy reading or living her life, she is writing her next popular story for her fans and readers to enjoy!

D.S. Butler is the creator and the author of the D.S. Jack MacKinnon series. This cozy mystery series first became available for readers to enjoy back in 2012. That is when the first book in the series was released, titled Deadly Motive. The second novel to come out was titled Deadly Revenge. There are several more books in this series, so check it out if you are looking for a mystery series that is interesting and has several installments to enjoy!

Deadly Motive is the first novel to come out in the MacKinnon series by D.S. Butler. This is a detective series that once you get started, you will not want to put it down! Check it out and see what you think or just read on to get a brief synopsis of what this exciting mystery debut will hold.

The weapon of choice that was used was poison in the murder. The murder was premeditated and carried out on a vicious scale. It was done using aconite, a toxin known for its deadly nature. The victim of this toxin never saw it coming.

John Weston was a man that you would assume had made his fair share of enemies along the way. He not only had all of the money that a man could want but all of the power too. With plenty of foes lurking out there, it was only a matter of time before one of them decided that it was the time to try something and get even.

The act of revenge was successful, and John Weston did indeed meet his untimely demise. The death was not just a normal death of someone that was to be sent straight to the next life. This death would have been excruciating way to go, and whoever decided that they wanted this done would have known that and chosen the toxin intentionally.

Knowing this, it is time for D.S. MacKinnon to figure out who the guilty party is. He is going to have to work with the investigation team and find out who would have hated Weston enough to carry out this act or pay someone to carry it out for them.

They do have some leads to follow up on, however, Jack and his team quickly start to become aware that the poison may have come from somewhere. Some investigative work reveals that its source must have been the prestigious University of Oxford.

They follow up and speak to the students that go there and the staff. Surely they cannot all be guilty, but everyone that they speak to seems like they’ve got something that they are hiding. Maybe they were just nervous about speaking to officials in what is clearly a very serious murder case, but for Jack, none of this is adding up the way he would like it to yet.

He is going to have to do some serious leg work if he is going to have this whole investigation work. An arrest may have been made, but when it comes to this case, it’s anything but closed. His coworkers certainly seem to think that they’ve finally solved it, but is this really true? Jack is scratching his head, trying to figure out what he’s missed.

Everyone seems to think that this is a done deal, but MacKinnon just can’t shake that gut feeling that they have a long way to go still. It never works out this easy, and this detective is about to soon find out that his premonition was right. The nightmare is just getting started, but when it comes to justice, will it ever be delivered?

It will be if Jack has anything to do with it. Pick up Deadly Motive to find out what happens, and check out the prequel– Deadly Obsession– to get even more action!

Deadly Revenge is the second book in the Jack MacKinnon fictional series by D.S. Butler. If you loved the adventure and the mystery of the debut story, then be sure to tune in and check out this sequel!

D.S. Jack MacKinnon has always worked to make sure cases get solved and he keeps his job. But now, his career may be in some serious hot water. Jack continues to be in the bad books of his D.C.I., and now he’s been totally excluded from the team assigned to major investigations that he would normally have.

Jack has no choice but to grit his teeth and try and get back in the good graces of the Chief Inspector again. That way he can go back to solving murders. For now, he’s got an unwanted case that may end up being tied to a ten year old crime.

What will Jack find in his investigation? Read the second book in the series by Butler to find out!

Book Series In Order » Authors » D.S. Butler

Leave a Reply