Book Notification

D.S. Jessica Daniel Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Jessica Daniel Books

Locked In / The Killer Inside (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Vigilante (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Woman in Black (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
As If by Magic (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Think of the Children (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Playing with Fire (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Thicker Than Water / The Missing Dead (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Behind Closed Doors (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Crossing the Line (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Scarred for Life (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
April (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
For Richer, For Poorer (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Nothing but Trouble (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Eye for an Eye (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Silent Suspect (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Unlucky Ones (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Cry in The Night (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Chronological Order of Jessica Daniel Books

Locked In / The Killer Inside(2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Vigilante(2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Woman in Black(2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
As If by Magic(2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Think of the Children(2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Playing with Fire(2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
April(2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Thicker Than Water / The Missing Dead(2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Behind Closed Doors(2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Crossing the Line(2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Scarred for Life(2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
For Richer, For Poorer(2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Nothing but Trouble(2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Eye for an Eye(2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Silent Suspect(2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Unlucky Ones(2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Cry in The Night(2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Detective Jessica Daniel is the lead character in a crime fiction series written by all-time British author Kerry Wilkinson. Sergeant Jessica Daniels is referred to as one of the most compelling and enduring female detective sergeant after Jane Tennison character created by Lynda La Plante.

Sergeant Jessica Daniel made his debut with the publication of the first novel (Locked In) in the series in 2011. The series consists of over seven novels and is currently ongoing with more books expected to be published shortly.

Descriptions of early books Locked In
A woman is murdered in her house. Investigations conducted reveal that she did not let anyone in the house and also that she did not commit suicide. Detective Jessica Daniel is left with no other choice but to not only find the serial killer but also to investigate on how the killers got in and out of the house. With petite information regarding the brutal murder and a journalist whom Jessica suspects that she knows more than she should, pressure mounts, a second body shows up in a similar scenario as the first one. This is not only a puzzle for Jessica to solve but also a mystery to the entire police fraternity. How can several victims be killed in a similar scenario? To Jessica this means one thing, a serial killer is on the loose and will stop at nothing to ensure that his atrocities are accomplished. For Jessica, she must act pretty fast before other people fall into the hands of the killer.

This is a good detective story, Jessica; the lead character has a good character development and seems to fit quite well into her new job as a detective. The character introduction, which is from the main character to the secondary character, is done exemplary well while the plot flows quite well as well.

In this second book of the series, Detective Jessica is in search for a serial killer on the loose. However, people do not seem to care whether she manages to bring the serial killer to justice since the people the killer is after are criminals. The results of the DNA test conducted on the victims indicate that the suspect is a criminal but already serving life imprisonment. As the Jessica and her team conduct their investigations they result with generating more questions than answers.

As more questions arise, Jessica wonders to herself that should the vigilante be a person who upholds the law rather than taking it into his hands.

As If by Magic
Detective Sergeant Jessica Daniels finds a deserted package at Piccadilly Station in Manchester; she has two decisions to make. First, she either opens the box, or she brings the entire west transportation network to a stop and misses her train. For Jessica Daniel, the decision is clear- but she wonders to herself, what is in the package? Moreover, who could have possibly left it? Did the owner leave it intentionally or just by a simple mistake?

This “half a book” novel consist of 50,000 words and it was published to mark a year anniversary celebration of the United Kingdom bestselling book Locked In. The book can be read as either as a part of the entire D.S Jessica Daniel series or as a standalone.

The woman in Black
A severed hand is found at the center of Manchester, D.S Jessica and her team conduct investigation on how the hand got to Manchester. The only clue they end up getting is a CCTV footage showing a woman in a long black robe and placing the hand on the ground.

Fears and suspicions graze through the town as many of the residents ponder whether the body part could have belonged to one of their loved ones. A second hand is found at the same spot and by this time the wife to the local MP is reported missing as well. Jessica is left to solving the puzzle of who could have committed such acts and whom such appendages belong to? How are the two hands connected and whom could the person in black be?

Think of the children
When a stolen car crashes during a foggy day in Manchester, Detective Jessica Daniel is the first to arrive at the scene. The driver of the stolen car is dead. However, the biggest surprise awaits detective Jessica when she finds a body of a dead child wrapped in plastic bag and placed in the car boot.

As the Sergeant struggles to get the real ID of the driver, a tiny clue leads her to a dozen of clothes hidden in the forest and to a list of names of children who are abandoned in an allotment. As the parents search for answers and the winter chills setting in; Jessica must utilize her detective skills to discover the person who has keenly been watching over the children and To find out the relationship between this case is related to a 14-year-old mystery.

This novel is a real page-turner with exciting twists and turns thus making the reader believe in one point of view while masking the hidden truth. The author tackles the murder, and the crimes of the children reported missing in an accurate and a very humane way, a subject that causes tension and scares the hell out of everybody that has a child.

Playing with fire
Martin Chadwick is released from prison after serving his time for allegedly setting a fire at a club in Manchester that led to the death of a teenager, the victim’s dad reports to the media that Martin is out to avenge for his arrest. D.S Jessica Daniel is left with no other alternative rather than to keep any eye on Martin Chadwick together with his teenage son. Jessica is also occupied with investigating a suicide ring operation by certain school girls.

Jessica’s professional and personal life is in the balance. Thus she barely has enough time to keep a close watch on one person in her midst who will stop at nothing to ensure that everything is burnt to the ground.

This novel is a fast paced full of action and suspense with a good character interaction throughout the book.

Book Series In Order » Characters » D.S. Jessica Daniel

Leave a Reply