Book Notification

Daisy Dalrymple Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Daisy Dalrymple Books

Death at Wentwater Court (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Winter Garden Mystery (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
Requiem for a Mezzo (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder on the Flying Scotsman (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
Damsel in Distress (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dead in the Water (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
Styx and Stones (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
Rattle His Bones (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
To Davy Jones Below (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Case of the Murdered Muckraker (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mistletoe and Murder (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Die Laughing (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Mourning Wedding (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fall of a Philanderer (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Gunpowder Plot (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Bloody Tower (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Black Ship (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sheer Folly (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Unhappy Medium (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Storm in a Tea Shoppe (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Anthem for Doomed Youth (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Gone West (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Heirs of the Body (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Superfluous Women (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Corpse at the Crystal Palace (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Daisy Dalrymple series is a cozy mystery series written by the England born American author Carola Dunn. The series consists of a total of 22 crime and thriller novels published between the years 1994 and 2015. All the novels of the series are based on the life of the main protagonist named Daisy Dalrymple. The author Carola Dunn has used a historical plot of the era of 1920s of England in all the novels of the series. Daisy Dalrymple is depicted as a journalist from Hampshire, England, where she strives to move on with her life at the time when all of England was experiencing the after effects of the first World War. Author Carola Dunn used to write historical romance novels before the Daisy Dalrymple mystery series. She changed her style of writing to crime and mystery novels and published her first mystery novel of the series in the year 1994. Since then, she has maintained a habit of writing at least one novel every year featuring the main character Daisy Dalrymple. She has described Daisy as an honorable person, who likes to be a freelance writer apart from being a journalist. Author Carola Dunn has often quoted Daisy Dalrymple as ‘Miss Daisy’ in many parts of the series.

Daisy is married to Alec Fletcher, who is a Detective Chief Inspector. Alec always tries to keep Daisy out of criminal investigations because of her own safety, however, she always seems to be adamant in carrying out investigations and solving crimes in the city. Daisy interference in the police investigations makes Alec’s superior officers in the Scotland Yard terrified. But, they cannot stop her from her attempts of interfering in the criminal cases because of her elite social position and high contacts with the powerful people of the city. Apart from the Daisy Dalrymple mystery series, author Carola Dunn has also used the character of Daisy Dalrymple in a few short stories as well. The character descriptions of Daisy Dalrymple as given by the author is that she has her own criteria of judging the good and bad about the people she meets. She always tries to like the people she meets at first, before going on to judge them on the whole. Daisy finds it a pleasant way to live this way as she does not have to look for the superficial defects of the wrong class of brown face. She has twin children. Oliver and Miranda and a stepdaughter named Belinda. Apart from stumbling upon dead bodies in unexpected places, Daisy likes to spend some quality time with her family. But, she hardly gets any free time as the crime rate of the city keeps her engrossed in her investigations and journalist activities.

The first novel of the series was published in the year 1994 by the Kensington publishing house. It was titled ‘Death at Wentwater Court’. The plot of the novel is set in England, United Kingdom during the time of the 1920s. The opening plot of the novel shows the main character Daisy Dalrymple as an honorable lady who tries to take unusual steps in order to assert her state of independence by beginning to write about exclusive estates in the 1920s. However, her Christmas gets disrupted when an unwelcome guest in the form of Lord Stephen Astwick comes to her house. Soon, he is found dead after getting drowned after his morning skate. This causes Daisy to be enlisted as the prime suspect of the murder of Lord Astwick. The attractive and discreet DCI of the Scotland Yard and the future husband of Daisy, Alec Fletcher is assigned to investigate the murder and detain Daisy for committing the crime. Previously, her decision of making her own living by becoming a writer and not living with her mother in the Dower House and depending on her relatives, had shocked the social class. As a writer, she assigned the job of writing several articles on the house of the country manor by the Town & Country. This had led her to travel to Wentwater Court in order to research her first country manor house. There she witnesses a house full of guests on the occasion of Christmas. When one of the guests, Lord Astwick gets drowned in a skating accident in the early morning, young and attractive Chief Inspector Alec Fletcher is called to investigate the death of Lord Astwick. From there on, the novel takes interesting twists and turns filled with the intriguing charm of a golden age and classic mystery. The novel depicts interesting and full-blooded characters with the taste of a modern day murder mystery. The readers found it enjoyable to read the thriller plot of the novel and gave a positive response that motivated author Carola Dunn to write more mystery novels in the series.

The second novel of the series was published in the year 1995 by the Kensington publishing house under the title ‘The Winter Garden Mystery’. Just like the first novel of the series, this novel too is set in England, United Kingdom in the year 1923 and continues to depict the mysterious life of the main character, Daisy Dalrymple. The starting plot of the novel shows Daisy, continuing with her assignment of writing about country manor houses. She starts by photographing the beautiful and shiny Occles Hall for the Town & Country magazine. During her assignment, Daisy comes across the missing report of a parlor maid named Grace Moss, who is later found dead. Daisy sees Lady Valeria and Bobbie Parslow as the probable suspects. With the matter getting worse, she is required to investigate the murder and find the real killer before he claims other victims. Daisy has observed Lady Valeria to be a demanding and ill-tempered woman. It was found that Grace was pregnant when her body was discovered in the winter garden in the buried state. When an under-gardener from Welsh is arrested for the murder, Daisy believes that he is innocent and that there is something more in the case which is tried to be kept hidden. Determined to find the real killer and prove the innocence of the Welshman, Daisy convinces Alec Fletcher to investigate the murder by himself. She believes that the murder is more horrifying and complex than anything she had heard about in her life.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Daisy Dalrymple

One Response to “Daisy Dalrymple”

  1. Sherrie: 1 year ago

    Will there be more stories in the DAISY DALRYMPLE MYSTERY series? I love the stories and the characters are wonderful.


Leave a Reply