Book Notification

Damien Drake Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Detective Damien Drake Books

Butterfly Kisses (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cause of Death (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Download Murder (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Skeleton King (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Human Traffic (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Drug Lord, Part 1 (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Drug Lord, Part 2 (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Prized Fight (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Straw Man (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Almost Infamous (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dangerous Company (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Happy Face (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

“Detective Damien Drake” is a series of thriller and horror novel by Patrick Logan the award-winning and bestselling American author. His novels have made it to number one on several horror categories on Amazon and gone on to sell more than 100, 000 units. The first novel of the “Detective Damien Drake” series was “Butterfly Kisses” an explosive thriller first published in 2017. The series have been described as diabolically suspenseful, intense, and perfectly terrifying narratives. This makes sense given that Logan spent the best part of a decade studying pathology and has a masters and PhD in the subject. He no longer does pathology, preferring to write about autopsies in his novels while sucking on a Cuban cigar rather than smelling formalin. He keeps up with his fans on his website where he organizes bizarre giveaways and contests, drops anecdotes, and provides updates on upcoming novels among other literary pursuits. He is also active on social media. When he is not banging on his keyboard producing his next masterpiece, Logan likes to sip on a single malt, drag on a cigar, play hockey, or wrestle with his kids.

Patrick Logan was born in Toronto Canada but moved to Montreal as a young man to continue his schooling. It was in Montreal where he undertook his master and doctoral studies in the processing of dead bodies. After several years dissecting and cutting up bodies, the only place he was going to fit was in the writing of paranormal and horror fiction. After taking a break from pathology, he went on to publish more than 20 peer reviewed articles in the discipline, ghost wrote more than two dozen and was editor for more than a thousand. But he soon got tired of pathology and despite the alphabet soup of letters that accompanied his name and showcased his accomplishments, he decided to quit to become an author. He published his debut novel “Mother” the first of the Family Values Trilogy. His other series include the” Insatiable” and the “Haunted” series, all of which have become bestselling titles. With more than a twenty novels to his name, he believes he finally found his true calling. He describes his novels as pull no punches narratives that will make one scream, cry, and puke with their vivid and gruesome horrors and thrills.

Detective Damien Drake is the lead protagonist of the “Detective Damien Drake” series of novels. He is an excellent detective who seemingly is never flustered even in the face of some of the most complex of homicides. As such, he is often assigned to some of the most brutal, ritualistic, and bizarre of cases which he is happy to take, as he deems them something of a puzzle. Over the course of the novel, he goes from NYPD detective and sets up his own investigations firms, where he is often contracted by legal enforcement to help in resolving a range of murders. His cases range from wealthy respected men of society found brutally murdered, to missing persons believed dead, and serial killer legends reborn. His cases typically start out with a single victim who usually seems to have the perfect life. However, upon closer investigation Damien will find links to other murders either in the same city or in other cities. The killers will typically leave a tell-tale signature sign of their involvement such as a bloody butterfly in “Butterfly Kisses”, lipstick of the victims blood in “Cause of death”, and skinless bodies dissolved in acid in “Skeleton King”. The murdered victims typically have something connecting them including horrible secrets. While he always maintains a façade of calmness when trying to resolve the cases, Damien often feels like he is going insane. His villains are not your usual run-of-the-mill deranged psychopaths but rather killers that take their time to plot the murders leaving behind virtually no clues except for their signatures. But one thing that he is always certain of is that more people are likely to die if he does not solve the mystery and apprehend the killer soon enough. The novels of the “Detective Damien Drake” series are fast paced thrillers full of turns and twists that will draw in the reader from the first page to the last.

“Butterfly Kisses” the first novel of the series opens to a drug addict stumbling upon a dead body in a New York City warehouse. Damien Drake the city’s best detective is called in as lead investigator into the case. The dead man had been an upstanding member of society being a partner of one of the foremost law firms in the city, doting husband, father, and philanthropist. He seems to have had an almost perfect life even though Damien’s investigations reveal that there had been two similar deaths of persons fitting his profile in Detroit and Montreal. Moreover, in both cases the victims had their bodies branded with the same butterfly print he found on his victim. Could the lawyer have been involved in some secret society or what could he have been hiding? But the closer he comes to unraveling the mystery, the more he feels that the killer is a threat not only to him and his family, but also to his job. He may just have met his match and needs to catch him before his next strike.

“Cause of Death” the second novel is an intriguing novel that takes even detective extraordinaire Damien Drake aback. He had left the New York Police Department after resolving the case of the “Butterfly Killer” to start his private investigations outfit. For the most part, he deals with the concerns of rich middle class New Yorkers suspecting their nannies of helping themselves to their silverware, and paranoid housewives wanting to spy on their husbands. But then a client comes into his office with a bunch of photographs of supposedly dead people. But there is one problem, all the PIs he has approached do not believe the people are dead let alone murdered. But then a body is found confirming the man assertions and providing Damien with his first lead. He quickly determines that the people are the victims of a serial killer but determining the cause of death turns out to be his biggest headache. The novel is a breathtaking narrative that is full thrills twists and turns that will leave the reader on the edge of their seat with suspense.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Damien Drake

Leave a Reply