Book Notification

Damion Hunter Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Borderlands Books

Shadow of the Eagle (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Empire's Edge (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Birds of Prey (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The Centurions Books

The Centurions (1981)Description / Buy at Amazon
Barbarian Princess (1982)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Emperor's Games (1984)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Border Wolves (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Legions of the Mist (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Wall at the Edge of the World (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Damion Hunter
Damion Hunter is a pen name used by author Amanda Cockrell. She has a master’s degree in English and creative writing from Hollins, and is the managing editor of The Hollins Critic, the university’s literary journal. She’s privileged to have taught creative writing at Hollins for many years.

She was born in the year 1948, and grew up in Ojai, California, which was a wonderful place where you could ride your horse right down Main Street and there was a hitching post right outside of the library.

It was a bedroom town for Hollywood, filled with actors, directors, and writers, so there was always something happening, and famous people’s discarded trousers tended to find their way to the local thrift store. Ojai even had a branch office for every single religious and philosophical movement to arrive in California going as far back as the twenties.

Amanda loved it and it later became the template for Ayala, which is the setting for several of her novels.

Amanda first started writing, badly, during high school, where she created characters that her high school English teacher, named J.B. Close of blessed memory, told her were shallow. He was right, and the rightness of such an assessment was knocked into her head in creative writing workshops at Hollins College.

The only thing she actually does well is write, and as a result of that, she’s managed to make a living doing so in one form or another for much of her life. Besides her novels, she’s written a bunch of other things. She’s written radio commercials for Custer’s Last Sandwich Stand, which features the singing pickles. She’s penned book reviews, local history, obituaries, wedding stories, and a paperback plantation saga under a name which will forever stay a secret. Amanda’s written ads for panty girdles, the text for a book of incredibly bad paintings of California missions.

“What We Keep Is Not Always What Will Stay” was named one of the best children’s books of the year by The Boston Globe.

“The Centurions” is the first novel in the “Centurions” series and was released in 1981. Against the mighty splendor of the glorious Roman empire, unfolds a magnificent saga.

Flavius and Correus are half brothers, and the sons of one brilliant general. One, the son of a slave woman, is a born warrior destined to excel. While the other, is a nobleman by birth, has to struggle relentlessly in order to succeed.

When they both join up with the Centuriate, which is a position that Flavius has always known he’ll inherit someday, and one which Correus has coveted for a long time, it’s together they face war’s brutal reality. Battling German barbarians is going to prove most dangerous, not just to their bodies, however to their souls too.

“Barbarian Princess” is the second novel in the “Centurions” series and was released in 1982. Flavius and Correus have found the life of a Centurion to be a dangerous one. After being imprisoned and tortured, Flavius has found strength and proven his own mettle. Correus, a slave’s son, has found some glory on the battlefield.

However the brothers have now been stationed to Wales, a land filled with barbarians, freezing rain, and mud. Here they have to face the shame of a lost battle, the pain of lost love, and the thrill of a whole new era for their beloved Rome. And in Wales awaits a princess which could change one of their lives forever.

“The Emperor’s Games” is the third novel in the “Centurions” series and was released in 1984. The strong will triumph, while the weak will die. Flavius and Correus, rivals and half brothers, have won respect in their service to the Empire. Correus, an esteemed soldier in the Roman Army of Eagles, has just been entrusted with the honored task of running the brutal games of the Emperor. Flavius, who is a Centurion at his brother’s side, has just risen to become the Emperor’s most trusted advisor.

Correus has now been given the lethal task of quelling a barbarian German uprising. However as he struggles to negotiate a treaty which could very well save the lives of thousands of people, he uncovers a lethal plot against the Emperor which could cast the Empire, and his own family, into ruin.

“The Border Wolves” is the fourth novel in the “Centurions” series and was released in 2021. The final thrilling story of the House of Appius Julianus. A new and lethal threat has just emerged at the outskirts of the Roman Empire on the Danube, one which threatens to toss the whole region into chaos.

Correus, who has risen to prefect of a cavalry ala on the border, and Flavius, the advisor of the emperor, have each tried warning the erratic Domitian of the seriousness of this enemy, but they have had no success. With trouble back home in the form of some irate senator, along with the impending doom of a devastating military loss, these two brothers have to use their accumulated experience, trust and girt in one another to ensure their family’s safety, for good.

The final novel in the epic “Centurions” series, and the first book in the series for close to forty years, is a moving and powerful adventure, as well as a must read for all historical fiction fans.

“The Wall at the Edge of the World” is a novel in the “Legions of the Mist” series and was released in 2020. Save lives? Or take them?

Army Medic Postumus Justinius Corvus is far from his native Britannia, in the Syrian provinces, located at the far corner of the Empire. However now he’s heading back home, unexpectedly getting promoted to Senior Surgeon in the Sixth.

The new Emperor faces some problems in the far flung island at the edge of the Empire. Trouble has been brewing north of the Wall. Tribes have been stirring, there’s a new conflict looming, new and old loyalties are going to be tested.

Postumus is going to find himself being in the middle of this maelstrom, and with his hands soaked in blood.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Damion Hunter

One Response to “Damion Hunter”

  1. don hall: 9 months ago

    i only wish she could extend the centurion saga i have all ur books i think scarrow could learn from u


Leave a Reply