Book Notification

Dan Mahoney Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Detective Brian McKenna Books

Detective First Grade (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Edge Of The City (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hyde (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
Once In, Never Out (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
Black and White (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Protectors (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Detective Cisco Sanchez Books

Dan Mahoney was born on September 21, 1947 in New York City, where he also grew up and has spent most of his life. Dan has three sisters (named Peggy, Kathy, and Pat) and a brother (named Eddie). He graduated high school at the age of sixteen, and worked for a year as an auto mechanic and machinist and then enlisted in the Marines at seventeen. A bit later he worked in Vietnam as a machine gunner with a unit called The Walking Dead.

After he served in the Marines in Vietnam, he joined the New York City Police Department, following in his dad and gradfather’s footsteps. During his time with the force, he was able to get promoted regularly and wound up serving in various detective and patrol commands. These were mostly good jobs in some rotten places.

He went to John Jay College of Criminal Justice, taking advantage of the VA Bill, and in the year 1977, graduated as the class valedictorian with a BA in Romance Languages. He worked for the NYPD for twenty-five years before he retired as a captain in the year 1989.

After he retired from the force, he started working as director of investigations for Holmes Detective Bureau, which is a well regarded and old New York PI agency. It was during this time he got a literary agent and started working on “Detective First Grade”. His agent was able to sell it to St. Martin’s Press just one week after he finished it.

Right after John Lennon was killed, he worked as Yoko Ono’s security chief. He found this to be interesting work because crazy people would come out to harass and annoy her. Yoko enjoyed traveling, as did Dan, so he was able to see very nice places in a nice way.

His hobbies include traveling, skiing, and hanging out with his buddies in pubs in town where they spend a lot of their time lying about their old cases. Their motto is: “the older we become, the better we used to be”.

He is the father of three, and lives in Manhattan with Yvette, his wife and a New York City Police Officer. He has been divorced once, after he worked for Yoko Ono, the police work he was doing, and school made it so that he was not home much during the time they were married.

His debut novel was released in the year 1993, called “Detective First Grade”, and is the first of his “Detective Brian McKenna” series.

“Detective First Grade” is the first novel in the “Detective Brian McKenna” series, which was released in the year 1993. This is the gripping and authentic tale of a secret war that lasted five days between a group of terrorists and the NYPD. The war starts after Detective Second Grade Brian McKenna eyes a man that is carrying a concealed weapon. Exiled from Manhattan’s bright lights to a Brooklyn patrol, and it makes McKenna feel sorry for himself: as he has broken just one too many rules.

All his dreams of getting promoted to First Grade have been put on hold, and Angelita, his girlfriend, wants him to quit the force. This routine gun collar winds up becoming a wild chase, and he pushes into the largest case of his career.

“Edge of the City” is the second novel in the “Detective Brian McKenna” series, which was released in the year 1995. Some terrorist stranglehold has tightened its grip on New York and there is just one cop that can break its grip.

Born in the mountainous jungles in the country of Peru and smuggled into New York City’s concrete jungles. It is the most ingenious terrorist setup that has ever been conceived, and it might bring the city, as well as the entire nation to its knees.

Brian McKenna, ex-NYPD cop, has battl;ed the Shining Path once before. His early retirement and new identity down in Florida were supposed to keep him out of reach of the terrorist army’s retribution. The guerrillas cut the son of his closest friend down, New York Police commissioner Ray Brunette, and it draws McKenna back into the heart of the action, right into a lethal fight of wits with a brilliant man as well as a dangerous and cunning lady.

“Hyde” is the third novel in the “Detective Brian McKenna” series, which was released in the year 1997. Detective McKenna has just gotten back from his bureaucratic desk job to his former Manhattan beat. He just barely has been able to readjust to the fast-paced life of a detective before he gets a case investigating a homeless man’s death, who appears to have frozen to death in his sleep. It is one of New York’s coldest winters, but the sheer amount of homeless deaths still remain a mystery.

Working with an older detective that has an intuitive sense, named Maureen Kaplowitz, McKenna finds an odd coincidence. Quite a few of the deaths that are classified “by natural causes” are homeless men infected with HIV. McKenna thinks murder is at work, and targeting the forgotten members of society. To stop these killings, he has to find out the killer’s identity, which has been hinted at in some letter he signed “Hyde”, his meticulous method, his personal motive, and the stunning secrets in his past.

“Once in Never Out” is the fourth novel in the “Detective Brian McKenna” series, which was released in the year 1998. A girl gone missing in New York. A political bombing in Iceland. No run of the mill, ordinary cop would see any connection. Brian McKenna did not earn his reputation by being an ordinary run of the mill cop.

McKenna travels all around the world to chase down his darkest enemy yet. This time it is a terrorist bomber whose next target may be New York’s St. Patrick’s Day Parade. Over the course of his investigation he finds a cunning ally and good friend in Thor Erikson, the only homicide detective Iceland has. It is a case that is going to bring McKenna right to edge of his own abilities, and puts his survival and detective skills to the ultimate of tests.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Dan Mahoney

Leave a Reply