Book Notification

Dan Santat Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Aquanaut Books

Publication Order of Children's Books

Sidekicks (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Adventures of Beekle (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Guild of Geniuses (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Are We There Yet? (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
After the Fall (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
A First Time for Everything (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Elephant & Piggie Like Reading! Books

The Cookie Fiasco (With: Mo Willems) (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
We Are Growing! (By: Mo Willems,Laurie Keller) (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Good for Nothing Button (By: Mo Willems,Charise Mericle Harper) (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
It's Shoe Time! (By: Bryan Collier,Mo Willems) (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Itchy Book! (By: LeUyen Pham,Mo Willems) (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Harold & Hog Pretend For Real! (With: Mo Willems) (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
What About Worms!? (By: Mo Willems) (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
I'm On It! (By: Mo Willems) (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
It's a Sign! (By: Mo Willems,Jarrett Pumphrey,Jerome Pumphrey) (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Fluffy Bunnies Books

Attack of the Fluffy Bunnies (With: Andrea Beaty) (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fluffy Bunnies 2: The Schnoz of Doom (By: Andrea Beaty) (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Guys Read: The Sports Pages(2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Creativity Project(2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Share Your Rainbow: 18 Artists Draw Their Hope for the Future(2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Dan Santat
Dan Santat is an American illustrator and writer known for his Caldecott Medal winning “The Adventures of Beekle: The Unimaginary Friend” book for distinguished illustration.

He was born in 1975 to Thai immigrants in Brooklyn before they moved to California when Dan was three years old. After he went to Adolfo Camarillo High School, he graduated from the University of California at San Diego with a bachelor’s degree in microbiology. Then he went to the Art Center College of Design, and graduated with distinction. During his time there he became friends with Peter Brown, an illustrator.

Dan created the show “The Replacements” for Disney Channel in 2005. It was based on a children’s book idea that he was going to write, and it premiered in July of 2006. He’s spoken about his admiration for people that are able to do the drawing necessary for animation.

Dan’s also spoken of the challenges he experienced working on “The Replacements”, saying that working creatively with a large corporation and many executives was a frustrating experience since there was a feeling that there was this process of homogenization to attempt to appeal to as many kids as possible. He much prefers the freedom of illustrative styles that is afforded by book editors.

As a commercial illustrator, with clients like Village Voice, Esquire, Macworld, The Wall Street Journal, Macy’s, and GQ Russia, as well as many others. His work has shown up at gallery shows, including the I Am 8 Bit art show in 2006, 2007, and 2008. In the year 2010, he turned down the chance to create Google Doodles since he didn’t want to abandon his dream of making kids’ books.

He has completed illustrations for more than sixty books, 14 of which were published in the year 2014 alone. He has illustrated books for other authors, including R. A. Spratt, Rhea Perlman, Barbara Jean Hicks, Dan Gutman, and Anne Isaacs.

“Sidekicks” is a graphic novel released in the year 2011. Introducing Static Cat! Metal Mutt! And Fluffy?!?

Captain Amazing, the hero of Metro City, is so very busy catching the criminals that he rarely has any time left over for his pets back home. He does not even notice when they begin developing superpowers of their own.

So when he announces that he needs a sidekick, his hamster, dog, and chameleon decide it’s time to audition. Yet with each pet determined to win the position, the biggest battle in Metro City may just be at the Captain’s own house.

Then archvillain Dr. Havoc returns to the town, and all of a sudden the Captain is in some serious trouble. Can these warring pets set their squabbles aside? Or is it going to be curtains for the Captain? It is stay, sit, and save the world in this romp of a graphic novel!

“The Adventures of Beekle: The Unimaginary Friend” is a picture book that was released in the year 2014. This magical tale starts on an island far away where an imaginary friend is born. He waits patiently for his turn to be selected by a real kid, however when he gets overlooked time and time again, he sets off on a rather incredible journey to the bustling city, where he meets his perfect match at last and, at long last, is given his special name: Beekle.

Dan Santat combines classic storytelling with some breathtaking art, and creates an unforgettable story about imagination, friendship, and the courage to find one’s own place in this world.

“The Guild of Geniuses” is a picture book that was released in the year 2015. A picture book about the cure for feelings of neglect.

Are you having a bad weather day? Then you should try Dr. Lancaster’s Portable Weather Machine. Want to rise above all of it? Then check out Dr. Torrance’s Anti-Gravity Belt. Yes, the Guild of Geniuses has created so very many fantastic inventions to satisfy man’s most pressing needs.

So when Mr. Pip, Fred’s best friend, seems a bit down, Fred knows exactly who he can call. The Guild introduces Mr. Pip to other monkeys, in case he ever gets lonely, and throws a parade just for him, so that he can feel more important. Yet it turns out that Fred might just hold the solution after all, and he does not even have to be a genius in order to just be a good friend.

“The Cookie Fiasco” is the first picture book in the “Elephant and Piggie” series that was released in the year 2016. Four friends with three cookies and one huge problem.

Croc, the Squirrels, and Hippo are determined to have equal cookies for all! How? There are just the three cookies! And there’s four of them! They need to act quickly before the nervous Hippo breaks all three of these cookies into nothing but crumbs!

“A First Time For Everything” is a graphic memoir released in the year 2023. Dan’s awkward middle school years and the trip to Europe which changed his life.

Dan has always been a good kid. The sort of kid that helps his mother out with the grocery shopping, listens to his teachers, and keeps out of trouble. However being a good kid does not stop him from getting bullied and feeling like he’s invisible, which is exactly why Dan’s got low expectations when his parents send him on a class trip to Europe.

And, at first, he’s right. He gets stuck with the same girls from his middle school that just love to make fun of him, and he has no idea why his teacher insisted on coming on this trip. Yet while traveling through Switzerland, Germany, France, and England, there’s a series of first experiences which start to change him. First fondue, first Fanta, first time stealing a bike from some German punk rockers. And first love.

This book celebrates a time which is universally challenging for so very many of us, yet also life changing too. It is funny, poignant, and heartwarming and is a feel good coming of age story.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Dan Santat

Leave a Reply