Book Notification

Dan Starkey Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Dan Starkey Books

Divorcing Jack (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
Of Wee Sweetie Mice & Men (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Turbulent Priests (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
Shooting Sean (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Horse with My Name (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Driving Big Davie (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
Belfast Confidential (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Nine Inches (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fire and Brimstone (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Dead Pass (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

Before he became a full-time author, Colin Bateman worked as a journalist in Northern Ireland. Divorcing Jack was Bateman’s first novel, which won the prestigious Betty Trask Prize. All of the novels that Colin Bateman has ever worked on have been critically acclaimed. Bateman was also involved in the penning of the various screenplays for some of his books, which were adapted to feature films. Currently, Colin Bateman resides in Ireland with his wife and children.

Dan Starkey Book series

Divorcing Jack

Set in a pre-good Friday, Northern Ireland, Divorcing Jack is an enigmatically comic crime adventure that features Dan Starkey, a newspaper columnist. Dan is a journalist who works for one of the leading newspaper and is married to one, Patricia. Patricia and Dan both live a life that is packed with parties and drinks. During a house party, Dan Starkey kisses a girl and in turn, is given 24 hours to move out of the house by his wife. After some time, the girl turns up dead with her last words being, Divorce Jack. Margaret, the girl who died in Jack’s hands apparently happens to be the daughter of a politician, and her last words apparently send Jack in pursuit of a tape that brought to light, the sordid past life of one of the leading politicians and candidates in the upcoming elections for a prime minister. As Jack hunts for the tape, different parties including the IRA contingent with a reputation for violence and mayhem pursue him. Apart from the ending of the novel turns into a double murder, the plot mechanizations are formulaic, nonetheless, Bateman never really lets the action flag.

The setting is exceedingly crucial to the storyline and also offers depth to everyone and everything. Nobody is able to live amidst the troubles unblemished. Bateman authentically and accessibly brings the history of Northern Ireland to the fore. The plots move at an exceedingly constant pace. Thus the readers will never get bored at any one point. The resolution finally comes with relative believability, irrespective of how impossible it appeared to be from the outset. Despite the fact that Divorcing Jack may appear to be a simple story with several major twists, the writing ensures that the reader coasts instead of dragging their way through. With that said, Divorcing Jack is not only witty but also fast paced as well and quite engaging. With that said, what makes this narrative stand out is the charm and the wit of the protagonist, a sweet tempered cynic, who has a devilish sense of humor. The intricate Irish politics are gracefully rendered, and the author’s wry on the gritty Belfast landscape adds an exceedingly appealing light touch.

Of Wee Sweetie Mice and Men

Dan Starkey, an Irish Journalist, makes his second appearance in this highly intriguing book series. This time around, the boozy journalist brings once again his hilarious sarcasm as well as highly misguided action hero antics back to New York city. His mission, this time around is to cover the heavyweight championship bout between Mike Tyson and an unlikely Belfast boxer, Fat Boy McMaster, on St. Patrick’s Day. It does not take long before Fat Boy McMaster’s wife is kidnapped after he made an exceedingly racist comment during a press conference; Dan Starkey turns into a sleuth along with Peter Smith, an ex-cop to look into the case. As the story progresses, Dan Starkey will be part of a commando attack in a Muslim mosque, saved from the jaws of death by a huge Minkle whale and serve as a punching bag for a group of homosexual waiters.

With a characteristic and an imaginative flair, author, Colin Bateman works on some astonishing issues within the plot including bigotry, racism, alcoholism, religious extremism as well as inter-ethnic romance. Overall, this is an extended romp, just as tight and neat as most of his previous works. Author, Colin Bateman has managed to deliver the kind of sense and humor of the ridiculous, something that his fans will undoubtedly relish.

Turbulent Priests

Turbulent priests is another brilliant satirical novel, which stays true to Colin Bateman’s style of writing. In this installment, we meet once again with the protagonist; Dan Starkey is marooned on an island with no drinks at all. The inhabitants of the island are a bunch of people who believe that a certain girl is the actual daughter of God. Patria and Dan appear to be fairing on well with their marriage, despite the fact that their baby has red hair. This, in turn, shows how Dan Starkey timing is impeccable considering the fact that he loves to get himself involved in situations that may have large signs right above them saying, do not go there. As it is the case in the previous installments, Dan Starkey is still an alcoholic. Dan was sent to the island to investigate the second coming of Christ. He is also supposed to present a report concerning the villagers’ claim that the Messiah was born on the island. With that said, if you are a fan of Colin Bateman’s comics, then you are going to fall in love with turbulent priests. Just like Divorcing Jack, Turbulent Priests is filled with Colin Bateman’s clever wit and plot as well.

Shooting Sean

Shooting Sean is the fourth book in the Dan Starkey book series. In this installment, we meet once again with the booze-loving protagonist, Dan Starkey, who this time around is caught in the world of terrorism, movie hype and writing, in an exceedingly crackling adventure that is going to take him all the way from Dublin to Cannes film festival. Dan’s straightforward undertakings is complicated by money problems, poor marital relations, a drug using movie star, psycho gangster, attempted murder and kidnappings. At the Cannes movie festival, the eponymous Sean during the Cannes film festival. With that said, Shooting Sean is filled with intelligent and clever plotting. As it is normally the case with thrillers, Shooting Sean is fast paced and full of Colin Bateman’s Irish wit and physical comedy. If you are a fan of the Dan Starkey book series, then you are going to fall in love with Shooting Sean.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Dan Starkey

Leave a Reply