Book Notification

Dan Wells Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of John Cleaver Books

I Am Not a Serial Killer (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mr. Monster (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
I Don't Want to Kill You (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Next of Kin (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Devil's Only Friend (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Over Your Dead Body (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Nothing Left to Lose (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Partials Sequence Books

Publication Order of Warcaster Chronicles Books

The Butcher of Khardov (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Mirador Books

Publication Order of The Zero Chronicles Books

Publication Order of Frederick Whithers Books

A Night of Blacker Darkness (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Pear-Shaped Funeral (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Hollow City (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Extreme Makeover (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Dark One Books

with Brandon Sanderson

Publication Order of Anthologies

Pitch Dark(2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Shadows Beneath(2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Knight in the Silk Purse: Ghosts of Taux(2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Altered Perceptions(2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Shared Nightmares(2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Life Inside My Mind(2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Kaiju Rising II(2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Twilight Tales(2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Dan Wells is well known for his books that deal with genres ranging from dark humour to supernatural thriller and science fiction. Nominated for both the Campbell(for Best New Writer) and Hugo award(Best Novella), Dan Wells has also won two Parsec Awards (Writing Excuses).

Private life
Daniel Andrew “Dan” Wells is the brother of author Robison Wells. He was born in March 4, 1977. This American horror and science fiction writer is a native of Utah and presently resides in North Salt Lake, Utah, US.

Wells started his career as early as when he was in second grade. His first thriller was based on the Choose Your Own Adventure series. Later in high school he wrote a serial, several novellas, and a series of comic books. He completed his first serious novel at the age of 22. Later on he graduated from Brigham Young University, with a bachelor’s degree in English. His emphasis was in writing and editing.

Famous works of Dan Wells
Wells became most popular after writing I Am Not a Serial Killer. It was published by Tor Books in the United States and later released in other places like Australia, the United Kingdom, Germany and Taiwan. Another of his great works include the Podcast Writing Excuses. Other famous works of Dan Wells include A Night of Blacker Darkness, Isolation (Partials series), Mr. Monster, Fragments (Partials series), I Don’t Want to Kill You, Partials and The Hollow City.

John Wayne Cleaver series

John Wayne Cleaver series comprises two trilogies. The first trilogy includes I Am Not A Serial Killer published in 2009, Mr. Monster published 2010 and I Don’t Want To Kill You published in January 2011 in the UK and in March 2011 in the US. The second trilogy was presented by the novella Next of Kin. It includes The Devil’s Only Friend published in June 15th, 2015 and Over Your Dead Body published in May 3rd, 2016. There are no more details about the upcoming work yet.

The plot of this trilogy series revolves around the central character, John Wayne Cleaver, who is a potential serial killer. He is a dangerous man obsessed with serial killers but does not really aspire to become one. He tries to stay away from this dangerous potential within him until one day he faces an external threat which goes out of his control. Written in a very interesting manner, this trilogy series will keep your nerves tensed and haunt your dreams.

I Am Not a Serial Killer

The first book of his first trilogy is the most famous one. I Am Not a Serial Killer was published in 2009. This thriller novel talks about the 15-year-old John Wayne Cleaver who is diagnosed sociopath. He lives in his mother’s mortuary and fears that he would one day become a serial killer. So he assigns himself a set of rules which he strictly abides by. This was he is able to keep his homicidal impulses. But one day he comes in touch with a serial killer when his senses feel a connection with the killer.

The critical reviews of this book was very positive. The teenage sociopath who has a nice heart gets a lot of admire from its readers. This dark humour and the spellbinding mystery that enthrals the plot of this book is worth praising.

The Other Books

The sequel of I Am Not a Serial Killer was released in 2010 in the UK. Soon after Mr. Monster, the third instalment of this trilogy was released in January 2011 in the UK. I Don’t Want To Kill You was released in March 2011 in the US. The Devil’s Only Friend is the fourth instalment, which was released in June 15th, 2015 followed by the fifth instalment, Over Your Dead Body, which was released on May 3, 2016

Partials Sequence

Partials Sequence by Dan Wells comprises four parts- Partials, which was published in 2012, Isolation published in August 28, 2012, Fragments which was published in February 26, 2013 and Ruins published in March 11, 2014.

The first book, Partial, centre around a group of teenagers who are looking to find a cure for the unknown and dangerous virus called RM. Kira Walker is a 16-year-old doctor in-training is dying of the virus and is unable to bear any more babies. She calls her closest friends, who helps her in finding the cure for this virus. After a lot of search, she finally finds the cure in a Partial called Samm but this gives rise to dire consequences that not only risks her life but also puts the human race in hazard.

The second book of this series is called Isolation. The story narrated in Partials is taken to further dimensions in this book. It takes its readers two decades backwards when the world was still experiencing The Isolation War. In this book Heron, the new Partial by ParaGen, tells us about the front lines of the war.

Fragments is a part of the sci-fi blockbuster Partials, which talks about the time after the cure for RM was discovered. Here, Kira Walker explore the ruins of postapocalyptic America and delves into the shadiest wishes of her heart to find the reason for humanity’s survival. This book introduces some very rich characters which stay in the readers’ memory for years.

In this book all the characters -Kira, Samm, and Marcus struggle to prevent an ultimate war between Partials and humans. The exciting action of The Hunger Games makes this book very interesting. Specially the provocative themes of The Stand and Blade Runner is worth an appreciation. The war which decides the fate of the humans and the partials is very cleverly narrated in the book. Both sides possess weapons that are equally powerful to destroy the other. It is interesting to know how this war is prevented and both the species is saved from destruction.

The highly imaginative and rich construction of plot and its interesting stories keeps you on a look out for more. F. Paul Wilson, the famous Horror writer Dan Wells’s I Am Not a Serial Killer as a “dazzling, unputdownable debut” with a character “as chilling as he is endearing.” Jack Heath, the adult fiction writer, admired Wells’ work by phrases like “plenty of thematic merit”.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Dan Wells

Leave a Reply