Book Notification

Daniel Campbell Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Morton Crime Thrillers Books

with Sean Campbell
Dead on Demand (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cleaver Square (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ten Guilty Men (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Patient Killer (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Missing Persons (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Evolution of a Serial Killer (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Double Blind (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Christmas Can Be Murder: A DCI Morton Novella (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
My Hands Are Tied (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Daniel Campbell
In the year 1988, Daniel Campbell was born in Portsmouth, England. In the year 2017, he moved to Oxford.

Together with Sean, his brother, he writes the “DCI Morton” series of crime novels. The first of which, called “Dead on Demand”, was released in the year 2012.

They began writing together since the year 2012, when they made a bet on St. Patrick’s Day that they could pen a novel in ninety days or less. “Dead on Demand” was the result. At the time they wrote the novel, Dan was just sixteen years old.

While writing the novels, Dan does a bit of the bigger picture stuff, while Sean does more of the research elements. Dan does, however, suspect that his brother just claims to do research and just makes it all up.

As they wrote “Cleaver Square”, Betram Ayala was Dan’s favorite character write, as Bertram is almost just as vain as Dan is.

He finds that the middle part is the worst section of a novel to write. You have lost that ‘just started’ motivation, and the end isn’t even close in sight yet.

“Dead on Demand” is the first novel in the “DCI Morton” series and was released in the year 2012. Edwin Murphy, a career guy, has always put more effort into work than into his family. Everything changes for Edwin after his wife files for a divorce. On the brink of losing his job, his daughter, and his home, Edwin puts together an intricate plot to eliminate his wife in order to get his former lifestyle back.

The cops are confounded as bodies start appearing all around London without any apparent link between them. Inspector David Morton has to think outside the box while he investigates the lethal web of deceit behind these murders.

This is a fast paced read that has you hooked the entire time. Sean and Dan’s prose is highly realistic and gritty. Readers loved the twist the novels ends on and how the authors are able to piece things together. These two authors prove it is possible to write a thrilling, clever, and a gripping mystery novel in a short amount of time.

“Cleaver Square” is the second novel in the “DCI Morton” series and was released in the year 2013. A rather brutal discovery and the bleakest winter on the record take DCI David Morton to the Hackney Marshes to find a clue, any clue, as to a dead child’s identity that was found near Old River Lea.

At the same time, much closer to home, Morton’s long suffering wife, named Sarah, comes to the conclusion that her husband does more than just work during the late nights he spends at the office. While he closes in on the mystery of the boy’s identity, his life starts crumbling and a horrible wrong is done to somebody he loves.

Morton’s impeccable ethics are going to be tested to their very limits, with all of London watching, while he is forced to pick between doing what is legal and what is right.

Fans enjoyed the mystery, the characters, and despite the ending being satisfying, it still leaves a few threads. All of the way through readers were engrossed in the story the entire way through. The storyline was well thought out with many underlying plots that weave together seamlessly.

“Ten Guilty Men” is the third novel in the “DCI Morton” series and was released in the year 2015. One anonymous tip sends DCI Morton to some detached house located in Richmond. Here he finds Ellis DeLange’s body, the socialite extraorinaire and celebrity photographer.

Morton has to investigate all the details of Ellis’ private life while keeping the baying mob of journalists out front and away from the investigation, and dealing with Ellis’ highly secretive celebrity friends. He also attempts to answer one question that continues to keep nagging at him: who is it that called the anonymous tip in?

The investigation takes on a bizarre turn when a key witness reveals that she saw a man fleeing from the crime scene during the dead of night. And without any clothes on.

Some found themselves well plotted and written, and readers found themselves getting deeply engrossed in this one. All of the characters and their relationships are very in depth. Dan and Sean did not waste a scene or a word in the novel.

“The Patient Killer” is the fourth novel in the “DCI Morton” series and was released in the year 2016. Bodies start to pile up, and the victims are seemingly random. At first it appears that the one thing linking the crimes is that each killing was planned out and executed in a meticulous manner.

DCI Morton finds the latest victim, Primrose Kennard, was close to death’s door, and he must ask: Who would bother to kill a dying woman?

This is a well written medical thriller novel, and was very easy to read and follow without a single dull moment in the entire novel. Some nice twists and turns, a bunch of exciting moments, and readers had a fun time with this one.

“Missing Persons” is the fifth novel in the “DCI Morton” series and was released in the year 2017. Detective Inspector Rafferty could never say no. If somebody asked her for any help, she always gave it. No buts or ifs.

A troubled girl from Rafferty’s past calls asking her for help to locate her missing boyfriend, Rafferty cannot stop herself from rushing to the rescue. She must find him, get him back home safe, and do it before Morton loses all of his patience.

It was far from the first time Rafferty went out of her way in order to help somebody. It would definitely be the last.

Readers enjoyed this one, finding right when they believed they had things figured out, another twist heads your way, especially a major one at the end. There is loads of guessing about the suspects. Fans find that these books just get better with each book they read. Morton and the rest of his team are a great cast of characters.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Daniel Campbell

Leave a Reply