Book Notification

Daniel Friedman Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Buck Schatz Books

Don't Ever Get Old (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Don't Ever Look Back (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Running Out of Road (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Lord Byron Mystery Books

Riot Most Uncouth (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Claire's Last Secret (By: Marty Ambrose) (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Shadowed Fate (By: Marty Ambrose) (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Forever Past (By: Marty Ambrose) (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Chronological Order of Lord Byron Mystery Books

Claire's Last Secret (By: Marty Ambrose)(2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Shadowed Fate (By: Marty Ambrose)(2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Riot Most Uncouth(2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Forever Past (By: Marty Ambrose)(2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Daniel Friedman is a famous author from The United States, who is well known for writing successful novels of mystery fiction and thriller genres. He is particularly well known for his debut novel titled Don’t Ever Get Old. This novel introduced the popular character of the retired police detective from Memphis, named Buck Schatz. The novel received a nomination for the prestigious Edgar Award in the category of the Best Debut Novel. It was also nominated for an Anthony Award and then went on to win the Macavity Award in the same category. After the immense success of the book, author Friedman penned its sequel and published it in 2014. Friedman was born in the year 1980 in Memphis, Tennessee, United States. He completed his school education from the White Station High School and graduated in the year 1999. Following this, he enrolled himself at the University of New York for studying law. Currently, he resides and practices law in the New York City. The father of author Friedman, named Robert Friedman, was a noteworthy lawyer from Memphis. He was killed by gunshots around 10 years ago in the parking lot of a building in the city. Robert was 52 years old at that time. When the killer was arrested, he told the police that he came disguised as a gentleman, wore a nice suit and had a legal folder in his hand. Robert was not able to make out that he had come to kill and when he saw that it was the right moment, he ambushed Robert with multiple gunshots. The reason for killing Robert Friedman as is given by the killer is that he was angry with the outcome of his divorce that Friedman was involved in as a lawyer. After killing Robert, the killer had also planned to kill his former wife, her lover, and the Chancellor DJ Alisandratos. Author Friedman says that he is still struggling to get over the brutal killing of his father over a decade ago. The debut book written by author Friedman was optioned for developing it into a Hollywood movie by the Sherlock Holmes movies’ producers. Author Friedman maintains a blog of his own through which he connects with his fans and indulges in conversations with them so as to solve their queries.

The Buck Schatz series written by Daniel Friedman is comprised of a total of 2 books, which were released between the years 2012 and 2014. Both the books of this series feature the lead character as Buck Schatz, who is described as a retired police detective living in Memphis, Tennessee. The first novel of the mystery series is entitled ‘Don’t Ever Get Old’. It was released by the Minotaur Book publishers in the year 2012. Author Friedman has introduced the central characters in this story as Buck Schatz, Jim Wallace, Norris, and Lawrence Kind. At the start of the novel, it is shown that Buck Schatz, who is a former Memphis cop and a senior citizen, comes to know that one of his old adversaries might have escaped from Germany and he might have stolen a fortune in gold. Buck thinks of hunting down this fugitive and get the possession of the loot from him. However, he later learns that a number of people are behind the stolen treasure and want a piece each from it.

The investigation of Buck Schatz attracts unwanted attention. A dangerous crew starts tracking his activities after learning that he knows a lot about the treasure. The novel appears to have done well in every sense, from its humorous mystery to its clever characters’ cast. The plot also brings to light the fear of Buck Schatz of getting old. But, he tends to hide his fear in front of others. The voice of Buck appears to be darkly comic. The advices that he gives about aging and life seem very entertaining. Buck’s character stands out as an honest and complete man. Author Friedman was praised for creating such a mind blowing and memorable character. It seems to be an accomplishment in itself for author Friedman. Even though the central plot of the book is about a mystery, author Friedman has mainly described the journey of Buck Schatz, about the business hat he left unfinished in the past. The story keeps the readers guessing till the very end. Overall, the novel is violent, humorous, and insightful, but not gritty. It proves to be an excellent read and an excellent first novel by Friedman. The producers of Harry Potter movies and the Sherlock Holmes films approached author Friedman for the film rights of the novel. Lionel Wigram, who has penned the script of the sequel of Sherlock Holmes, has been selected to write the script of the movie based on this novel and to also produce it.

The next interesting book of the series is called ‘Don’t Ever Look Back’. It was also published by the publishers at Minotaur Books in 2014. Along with Buck Schatz, author Friedman has mentioned a new character in this story by the name of Elijah. He is described as a bank robber and long time enemy of Buck Schatz. Just like the previous book of this series, this book also takes place in Memphis, Tennessee. The time period is depicted as 4 months after the events in the first book take place. At the beginning of this book, it is shown that Buck Schatz has reached the age of 88 and looks very reluctant to accept the fact that he will now be able to move only with the support of a walker. Also, his dementia is getting worse day by day, which worries him even more. When one of the long time foes of Buck Schatz, named Elijah, comes to him for help, he does not agree to help him. Elijah is a notorious bank-robber and is looking to protect himself from several mysterious pursuers. Later, Buck Schatz thinks of putting an end to a series of unsolved mysteries and fulfill his desire of cementing his legacy. And this overwhelms him to give up his antipathy of not helping the ones he does not like. Buck approaches Elijah and agrees to broker his surrender in front of the authorities on the condition that he will promise to give confession about all the crimes that he had committed long ago. However, nothing that involves Buck Schatz or Elijah is as simple as it looks. In fact, Elijah seems to have made more sinister plans for Buck than the one that he had made during their first meeting. But, Buck is not able to see the hidden motive of Elijah behind his surrender and the loss that it could cause him if Elijah becomes successful in executing his plans. The prose of this novel is written in the signature voice of Buck Schatz and features a mystery that keeps the readers intrigued till the last page. The story is about an old feud between 2 dangerous men and ends into an explosive, final conclusion.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Daniel Friedman

One Response to “Daniel Friedman”

  1. JEAN BACHMAN: 1 year ago

    I am reading “Don’t Ever Look Back”. It is a great read and I love Buck’s wit and the way he expresses himself! Now, I must read the other two books in the series…I am 88 and can identify with Buck!!!I am not Jewish, but am learning a great deal!!!Thanks you Daniel!


Leave a Reply