Book Notification

Daniel Humphreys Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Paxton Locke Books

Fade (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Night's Black Agents (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Come, Seeling Night (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Sacred Radiance (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Dragon and His Wrath (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Vital Breath (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Z-Day Books

A Place Outside the Wild (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Place Called Hope (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Place For War (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Places Beyond the Wild (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

You Pay; We Slay(2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Daniel Humphreys is a renowned writer from the United States, who is famous for writing horror, science fiction, post apocalyptic, and dystopia stories. He has written two successful book series, the Paxton Locke series and the Z-Day novel series. The books of both these series are widely successful and well known throughout the world. Author Humphreys has also written a few standalone books apart from his novel series. Many of them are in the form of cookbooks and recipe books for healthy living. In the Z-Day series, Humphreys has described post apocalyptic science fiction thriller stories, while in his other series, he has shown tales of urban fantasy. His writing career’s first novel was a finalist for the Dragon Award in 2017 in the category of the Best Apocalyptic book.

Besides writing novels and reading exciting sci-fi stories, author Humphreys loves to watch sci-fi movies. He also likes to indulge in the activities of tinkering with his computer and target shooting. After his graduation, Humphreys started working in the IT industry and took up writing after several years. He is said to have spent a large part of his life in the corporate IT. Humphreys is a hardcore fan of the Arizona Cardinals. He believes that the loud cheering and support for his favorite team has given him high blood pressure, but he does not mind as long Arizona Cardinals keep performing and entertaining on the field. Author Humphreys’ took birth in Columbus, Indiana, United States. He has lived for many years in Colorado and Arizona.

As of today, he is happily married and resides in Indiana along with his beautiful wife and family. When he was in the 4th grade, Humphreys had written a dinosaur story that had won him a movie ticket. It is believed that the copies of this story are now being sold on eBay for thousands of dollars. Many of author Humphreys works are easily available on Amazon and several other literary sites. When Humphreys was 20 years old, he had written a novel called Warhawks. He and his family belonged to one Commodore house when he was in junior high school. At 16 years of age, Humphreys started working for Software City, a small chain of software sellers. It was his second job and a dream come true. Humphreys was highly focused and serious about this job. Even though Humphreys was into productivity software business, there were a lot of options for him at that time. As the computers at his school were Mac-based, he didn’t have much to do except writing papers for his school.

After waiting for some more time, Humphreys received a new opportunity at making a successful career. One of his older clients approached him for his PC reconditioning business. He assembled a PC for himself and started playing games on it. It was during this time that the idea of writing struck his mind. Humphreys started writing on his PC with great seriousness. In his first attempt, he ended up writing 900 pages for Warhawks, and then followed it up with a 600 page manuscript of Spectre. Author Humphreys believes that there are many pivotal people in our lives, who have a great impacts in many ways. For him, this impact was caused by his friend Kent. After writing Spectre, Humphreys did not write for several years. And in between this time, Kent lost his life. So, when wrote the Paxton Locke novels, he described Paxton as having a friend like Kent in his life. This was Humphreys’ way of remembering his dear friend and giving him a tribute for all that he has done for him.

The Z-Day series written by author Daniel Humphreys is comprised of a total of 2 books, which were released between the years 2016 and 2017. Each of the books describes the battle of the mankind against the undead zombies following the devastating Z-Day. The debut book of the series is entitled ‘A Place Outside The Wild’. It was self-released by author Humphreys in the year 2016. At the start of the story of the book, it is shown that 8 years pass after the Z-Day and the mankind’s surviving remnants begin facing the deadly unknowns. Until now, they were safe from the ravenous undead because of the walls and fences. These deadly creatures were kept at bay due to the blocking fences & walls, but now they are all wasted away. So, there is very less chance that the mankind saves itself from the zombies.

For the undead, the overwhelming mankind foes have now turned weak and feeble. Their world seems to have gone wild and appears quite ripe to reclaim. The war’s scar runs very deep. Mankind can only hope for the best, but that too seems a dangerous thing, especially when they become survivors themselves. The setting of this book appears acknowledgeable. Author Humphreys writing is enjoyable. Even the characters look believable and likeable. The critics praised the character building and appreciated the overall setting. On the whole, the book provides an enjoyable read and is perfect for the lovers of post apocalyptic stories.

The sequel to the first novel of this series is called ‘A Place Called Hope’. Humphreys self-published this book too in 2017. At the beginning of the book’s story, it is depicted that the survivors of the Z-Day build a community and name it as Hope. After keeping themselves away from harm for 8 years in Hope, the survivors begin to think that they have overcome the source of the zombies and their hordes have started fading away. However, they receive a setback when they learn that the deadly enemies, they believed to be extinct was actually evolving. During the time the humans were hiding, the zombies were growing stronger, faster, and becoming more cunning. The survivors had won the first battle with the help of the United States Marine Corps’ First Reconnaissance Battalion’s timely return.

Now, the prospect of another war against a stronger enemy will require them to have much serious power and some sterner stuff. The survivors must make desperate attempts to go beyond The Wild’s overgrown wastes and recover the much required military equipment. The outcome of this attempt will determine whether the mankind will remain among the living or the dead. For writing this particular book, author Humphreys has focused more on the military detail. The pacing looks much better than the previous book. There are many new characters, excellent action sequences, intriguing plot settings, etc. The readers seemed to enjoy this one more than the first one and it led to its grand success all over the world.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Daniel Humphreys

Leave a Reply