Book Notification

Danny Boyd Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Danny Boyd Books

The Ever-loving Blues / Death of a Doll (1956)Description / Buy at Amazon
Terror Comes Creeping (1959)Description / Buy at Amazon
Nymph to the Slaughter (1960)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Savage Salome (1960)Description / Buy at Amazon
Wayward Wahine (1960)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Dream Is Deadly (1960)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sad-Eyed Seductress (1961)Description / Buy at Amazon
Lover Don't Come Back! (1962)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Passionate Pagan (1963)Description / Buy at Amazon
Silken Nightmare (1963)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Sometime Wife (1965)Description / Buy at Amazon
Catch Me a Phoenix (1965)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Black Lace Hangover (1966)Description / Buy at Amazon
house of Sorcery (1967)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Mini Murders (1968)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ice Cold Nude (1969)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Ice Cold Nude (1969)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder Is the Message (1969)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Coffinbird (1970)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Sex Clinic (1971)Description / Buy at Amazon
Manhattan Cowboy (1973)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Early Boyd (1975)Description / Buy at Amazon
Savage Sisters (1976)Description / Buy at Amazon
Les Frangines en folie (1976)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Pipes Are Calling (1976)Description / Buy at Amazon
Rip Off (1978)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Strawberry Blonde Jungle (1978)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death to a Downbeat (1980)Description / Buy at Amazon
Kiss Michelle Goodbye (1981)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cash-sex (1981)Description / Buy at Amazon

Carter Brown is an author of fiction. It was the pen name used by Alan Yates. The author was born in 1923 and passed away in 1985.

Alan has also used the pen names of Tom Conway, Paul Valdez, and Tex Conrad, among a huge multitude of others. He was a prolific writer of pulp fiction paperback novels and a best seller.

Yates was born in London and was educated at Essex. He ended up marrying his wife, Denise, and worked as a sound engineer for a while. Then it was time for a change and so he packed up to move to Australia, where he took up work in public relations.

He became a writer full time in 1953. At that time, he had composed up to 200 novels and put out a prolific amount of work until the time that he decided to retire at the beginning of the 1980s. A lot of his books had the United States as their setting, and despite this fact, his novels proved to be very popular among the reading public of Europe.

Carter Brown did so well in the fifties that it meant that the writer was soon given a contract to write a short novel as well as two full longer novels every single month. In the Carter Brown pen name alone, he was able to publish over 300 novels that spanned a couple of series that had feisty protagonists and intelligent main characters.

He was able to put a ton of writing out and yet a profile of the artist in a magazine showed another side. It revealed that Brown would often have a reluctance to the approaching deadlines and would stay up late trying to write or find within him the motivation of write, sometimes inevitably descending into a type of self analysis.

In the past, Horwitz and Signet published his books originally. Even though they were sold in Europe and published in the English speaking world, a lot of his stories took place in America with an all American background even though he had never even visited the country ever before. However, he said that it was a conscious choice to choose to set the books in American settings, as Australians liked that.

Once he was on the literary scene, Yates really became a popular author. He was writing all sorts of genre novels, from science fiction to westerns. He was able to write under several pen names and ended up publishing many paperback books that had that spicy pop of flavor that made them difficult to resist! He wrote under different pen names like Peter Carter Brown, eventually dropping the first name of Peter for the purposes of attempting to infiltrate the United States book market.

At the height of his fame and popularity in the literary world, there was a rumor that got started. It said that Yates was actually one of the favorite authors of politician John F. Kennedy. Even though this was hearsay and no one knew where it had got started from, the rumor successfully helped drive sales of his books in the North American book market, so it was helpful to his career (not that it needed the extra push, however).

In Europe, the books ended up doing so well that they ended up being translated. They were translated into a variety of other languages that were being spoken in Europe, from Russian to German to Finnish, Danish, French, Romanian, Swedish, and more. The novels were also translated to make them more available to the Asian market, being translated into the Japanese and Thai language as well.

Carter had a ton of success, that is for sure. At the time, only the Bible was ever really in competition when it came to him as he had over 120 million novels out in print and the variety of languages that it was being translated into. His success also led to a comic book series being written and not only that but far ore. He inspired a radio murder mystery hour, three full films in France, a television series that aired in Japan, as well as various awards.

He composed a musical in the early eighties with Richard O’Brien, an actor that has appeared in The Rocky Horror Picture Show. He died in 1985 and a few years later received a literary award for his crime fiction, the Ned Kelly award. He received it in 1997.

Carter Brown is the creator and the author of the Danny Boyd series. It kicked off in 1956 with the release of the debut novel in the series, Death of a Doll. The book is also known by the alternate title, The Ever-Loving Blues. There are tons of books in this series featuring the tough main character of Danny Boyd, one of the toughest private detectives working in New York.

The sequel came quickly after the next year, and readers were excited to get their hands on this thrilling second novel in the series, which came out in 1957. The title of the sequel is Cutie Wins a Corpse. There are many books in this series, so if you get into the adventures of this private investigator, you have a lot of books that you can work with for material!

Danny Boyd looks into cases and appeared in several books. Even though he primarily was known for working in New York, the character appeared in settings such as England, California, and Florida and even Australia, the home of the author.

Besides the Danny character, Brown also enjoyed writing different novels for private eyes and their adventures. These include Al Wheeler, a tough homicide cop that works near Los Angeles in the sheriff’s department, as well as characters like Mavis Seidlitz and Rick Holman.

Death of a Doll is the first novel in Carter Brown’s Danny Boyd series. Check out this murder mystery and find out who really did it by getting all the way to the end! If you like that book, be sure to check out Cutie Wins a Corpse to catch all of the mystery action in this thrilling and fun pulp fiction series.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Danny Boyd

Leave a Reply