Book Notification

Darcie Wilde Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Regency Makeover Books

The Bride Behind the Curtain (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Stepsister's Triumph (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
An Exquisite Marriage (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Rosalind Thorne Mysteries Books

A Useful Woman (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Purely Private Matter (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
And Dangerous to Know (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Lady Compromised (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Counterfeit Suitor (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Useful Woman Mysteries Books

The Secret of the Lost Pearls (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Secret of the Lady’s Maid (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Lord of the Rakes (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Accidental Abduction (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

Darcie Wilde is a historical romance and historical mystery author who is best known for writing the “Regency Makeover” and the “Rosalind Thorne Mystery” series of novels.
The author has asserted that most of her novels and especially the historical mysteries have been inspired by Jane Austen.

Wilde published “Lord of the Rakes,” her debut novel in 2014 and the novel went on to become a bestselling title. Since then, she has gone on to write more than ten titles across more than two series and several single standing novels.

In 2014, she was the winner of the Best First Historical Romance for her novel “Lord of the Rakes.”
When she is not writing her novels, she can often be found raising her son, reading, climbing things, cooking, swimming and hiking. She also tries to convince Buffy the Vermin Slayer, her cat, to stop doing damage to her precious furniture.

As a teenager, Darcie Wilde was a huge fan of fantasy and science fiction, which is what she pretty much read exclusively. When she thought of becoming a fiction author, those were the genres she believed she had to write in.

In addition to the science fiction and fantasy novels that she read, she has also been significantly influenced by modern and vintage films and a little of theater. Since she also writes historical fiction, she finds some inspiration from bygone eras.

As a person that never boxes herself in, she also tends to mine current events for some of the ideas that she includes in her novels. Ever since she started, she has been known for writing adventurous and steamy romances that always have her readers coming back for more.

Darcie Wilde’s novel “A Useful Woman” is one of those Jane Austen inspired works set in the 19th century. The work is an introduction to Rosalind Thorne, a resourceful and charming woman living in London.

She has access to the elite of society and their secrets including just who is capable of crimes such as murder. She was born a minor heiress and daughter of a baronet and she was depressed when her father left when she was still young.

To make a living she became a manager of the lives of some of the most powerful women in London who depend upon her discretion and wit.
When Jasper Amesworth the aristocratic wastrel is discovered killed at Almack’s one of the most exclusive ballrooms in the city, Rosalind is called upon to use her connections and skills to find the killer.

The list of suspects includes Lord Cassdelmaine who had once been known as Devon Winterbourne when he dated Roslaind Thorne and some other powerful patronesses of Almack’s.

She now has to unravel the mystery of Jasper’s death while also fighting a growing attraction to an old love.

In “A Purely Private Matter” by Darcie Wilde Rosalind has established herself as a useful woman that helps high society women who find themselves in a jam.
In this outing, she is working with Margaretta Seymore, a desperate woman who finds herself pregnant. This is at a time that her husband has been getting letters that claim that she had been having an affair with Fletcher Cavendish, the notorious actor.

Margaretta needs Rosalind to investigate and find the person behind the disparaging letter. But before she can even begin her investigations, Cavendish is found murdered. Suddenly, she is at the center of one of a murder so sensational all of London is hooked into it.

The police have pinned Margaretta as the prime suspect in the murder and she now has to try to get her off. Working with Adam Harkness a charming Bow Street runner, she has to resolve the murder mystery before it can ruin more lives.

Darcie Wilde’s novel “And Dangerous to Know” opens to Rosalind Throne charged with recovering some highly sensitive documents for Lady Melbourne.

The contents of the documents are of interest to Lord Byron. He is the famous poet who had an infamous love affair with Lady Caroline Lamb, the daughter in law to Lady Melbourne.

To do her job, she is going to live in the Melbourne House and pretend to be the confidential secretary to Lady Melbourne. At the house, she needs to find the thief and repossess the letter before they can be used to ignite another scandal.

But her employer had left out one critical detail which Rosalind gets from Adam Harkness the Bow Street runner. She is informed that an unidentified woman had been disocvered murdered in the Melbourne House courtyard.

According to the coroner, the woman had been poisoned and Adam requested her to try to investigate the muder since she is resident at the house.

As she unearths a tangled web of blackmail and secrets, she finds that she needs to risk her own life to bring an end to all the nasty business.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Darcie Wilde

Leave a Reply