Nick Petrie Series

Darcy Sweet Cozy Mystery Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Darcy Sweet Mysteries Books

Death Comes to Town (2013)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Mists of the Past (2013)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
From the Ashes (2013)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Ghost of Christmas (2013)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Stolen Valentine (2014)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Hiding From Death (2014)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Murder of Crows (2014)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Family Secrets (2014)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Language of Death (2014)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Greatest Gift (2014)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Resorting to Murder (2014)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Death at the Wheel (2014)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Ghost Story (2014)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Christmas Spirit (2014)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Murder of Consequence (2015)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Til Death do Us Part (2015)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Murder Down Under (2015)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Laid to Rest (2015)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Death Comes Home (2016)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Missing Years (2016)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Naughty List (2016)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Death Takes a Letter (2017)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Count Your Blessings (2017)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Ghost of Murders Past (2018)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Vote for Death (2018)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
When it Rains it Pours (2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Death Lends a Hand (2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Have Yourself a Merry Little Murder (2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Dream a Little Dream (2020)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Murder Under the Mistletoe (2020)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Death is in the Deal (2021)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Promise of Murder (2021)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Worth a Thousand Words (2022)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Ghost of Christmas Present (2022)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Candidate for Murder (2023)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Author K. J. Emrick began publishing the “Darcy Sweet Cozy Mystery” series in the year 2013 when “Death Comes to Town” was released. This was a big year for the series, as the first four books were released, and the year after, 2014, the next ten stories were released. The series of books is from the genres of mystery, suspense, and romance.

The series stars Darcy Sweet who owns Sweet Read bookstore, and she has visions about certain things that are going to happen. She has a cat named Smudge, who is a psychic. There is also the ghost of Darcy’s great-aunt who is named Millie. Darcy has a sister, who is a cop.

“Death Comes to Town” is the first novel in the “Darcy Sweet Cozy Mystery” series, which was released in the year 2013. Darcy Sweet would just like to believe that she has an ordinary life and is happy only running the Sweet Read bookstore. She is far from ordinary, though. The connection she has to the other side pulls her into some mysterious situations more often than it doesn’t. Add in a naughty and kinda psychic cat and her eccentric great-aunt Millie’s ghost, and it makes for a recipe that is many things but not ordinary.

Darcy’s neighbor is killed and she is pulled right into the mystery against her wishes because she is the one who finds the body. She wants to just let the cops investigate, one of these cops is her own sister. A tiny nudge from one side and a conversation she hears gets her investigating things. The stakes are raised once again, when the killer strikes once more. Who is killing the people in Darcy’s life?

Things get more complicated by the growing attraction she feels to her sister’s new partner. He has made it quite clear that he is not appreciating her interference in the case. Sparks fly as they start getting to the bottom of the mystery surrounding the killings.

Fans of the novel found this to be a nice story, it is well paced and fits it length well, without feeling at all rushed. Readers were glad they found this book, as it gave them a good cozy mystery series to follow. The book even had an interesting mystery, and some were amused reading about how Darcy solved it. Some want to see these characters in future books to get to know them more and see them grow over time.

“Mists of the Past” is the second novel in the “Darcy Sweet Cozy Mystery” series, which was released in the year 2013. Darcy is not exactly a girly girl. She does not wear makeup and just likes to wear her comfiest pair of sneakers, jeans, and a tee shirt. It felt strange for her to get ready for her date with her cop boyfriend. All they were doing was having a nice romantic dinner in a pleasant restaurant. Nothing to worry about. Or so she thought.

Darcy should know that even something like a date is not immune to such things as the other side. She has a vision during their date. To make things worse, it was about her boyfriend. Did she really know a whole lot about him at all? She knew he was a cop, yeah, but that is not to say he is squeaky clean. If the vision is to be believed, anyway.

She makes a hasty exit out the back of the restaurant, and heads on home, with him following her. She fakes a sickness, but she can tell he does not believe her lie. She is unable to ignore her vision, and looks into it more while she avoids him. Darcy tries to figure out something reasonable to explain what she saw. The more answers she is able to find, the more she begins to suspect that he might not be as nice as everyone first thought him to be. Is he really a killer?

Fans of the novel found this to be a superb follow up to the last one. Both Jon and Darcy grow quite a bit here and this book, both as characters and as a couple. Some liked how the book is able to go into Jon’s past and make it part of the mystery. Readers wish that the books were longer, as these are quite intriguing and exciting; it seems like the book is over much too soon with them this short.

“From the Ashes” is the third novel in the “Darcy Sweet Cozy Mystery” series, which was released in the year 2013. Darcy’s friend asks for some assistance to find out more about a woman’s mom and believes it is just going to be just another routine communication with the other side. It is confusing then when she cannot establish any kind of contact with the woman at all. Only one thing can explain it, however, that made zero sense.

She keeps the suspicions she has to herself and begins to investigate herself, to try to see why there was no way to establish a connection. The mystery gets more perplexing when she investigates further. What actually happened to this woman?

To top it off, Darcy’s proper mom stops by for a visit. She has never had the simplest relationship with her mom and so it comes as a shock when she and her sister are showered with some unexpected attention. The whole time, her mother does not act like her usual self.

Fans of the novel, enjoy learning about this town, which seems like a real place through the way it is described by the author. It is like she brings the town to life. The book is written exceptionally well, and the characters are developed more in this story. Jon and Darcy continue to grow as a couple, as they work with one another to solve the case. This story builds very well on what the last two novels did. This made for another interesting read for readers, as they enjoy getting to know this town, the cast of characters, and see Darcy solve cases.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Darcy Sweet Cozy Mystery

Leave a Reply