Book Notification

Darcys Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Darcy Books

Mr. Darcy's Daughters (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Exploits & Adventures of Miss Alethea Darcy (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
The True Darcy Spirit (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Second Mrs. Darcy (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Darcy Connection (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mr. Darcy's Dream (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Darcys series is a popular novel series written by one of the prolific authors from The United Kingdom named Elizabeth Edmondson. She wrote this series under the pen name of Elizabeth Ashton and set it on the themes of romance, fiction, and comedy. The series is comprised of 7 books in all, which were released between the years 2003 and 2012. Author Ashton wrote this series after studying the popular works of author Jane Austen, just like most of her other famous books. She has included some of the settings and characters directly from Austen’s novels and has written the books of this series in her style of romance and comedy. The success of this series helped author Ashton become famous as one of the prolific authors of the fiction works related to author Austen. Her first novel of this series, Mr. Darcy’s Daughters, was published as a sequel book to the popular novel ‘Pride and Prejudice’ in the year 2003. This book features the lead characters in the form of the 5 daughters of Elizabeth Bennet and Mr. Darcy. They are depicted as navigating through the London society when their parents decide to stay back in Constantinople. Published by the publishers at Simon and Schuster, the novel went on to become a grand success for author Ashton. Following this success, the company decided to produce some more sequels and adaptations of author Austen by other prominent authors. Author Ashton went on to contribute with a total of 5 books in the Darcys series. Even though the series shared several common characters, author Aston gave each of the books a unique heroine and story. She even stated that it didn’t matter in which order the readers read each book as all of them consist of unique independent stories from the rest. However, she also said that if the series is followed from the beginning, then it will be more enjoyable to read. Following the immense success of the original novels, author Ashton wrote 4 novellas between 2013 and 2015. These novellas were highly successful and received a lot of praises from one and all.

The debut novel of the Darcys series written by author Elizabeth Ashton was published under the title of ‘Mr. Darcys Daughters’. It was released by the Orion publication in the year 2014 after it was first released in 2013. Author Ashton has set the storyline of this book in the year 1818, 21 years after the events described in Austen’s Pride and Prejudice. At the beginning of the story, it is shown that Mr. Darcy and his wife Elizabeth Bennet travel to Constantinople, while their 5 daughters go on to descend to the dashing and dangerous world of the Regency London. The world seems to be undergoing a great change, but the opportunities for women still continue to be limited. One among Darcy’s five daughters is Camilla. She is described as an independent, open-minded, and intelligent girl. She too goes on to experience that women really get very less opportunities and the Society in London does not seem to forgive the ones who tend to break the rules of the men-dominated society. In spite of all this, the sisters keep getting assailed by the temptations of the city of London from all sides. They become excited after knowing about the balls, parties, scandals, gossips, schemes, and intrigues in the city. They also experience the inevitable heartbreaks which arise due to the proximity to a number of eligible and ineligible men. Through the story mentioned in this book, author Ashton has tried to present a new and effective variation on the theme of Jane Austen. She has introduced an interesting array of the amusing and memorable 19th century characters in the form of a lively, perceptive, and witty tale of the Regency life.

One of the other well known books of the Darcys series is known as ‘The Second Mrs. Darcy’. This adventurous book was released in the year 2007 by the Touchstone publication. This another exciting novel by author Ashton describes the story of one of the reluctant heiress whom Darcy’s cousin named Christopher leaves as a widow. The book opens up by stating the universally acknowledged truth that a single woman having the possession of tremendous fortune must be in need of a husband. And when the formerly poor widow named Octavia Darcy goes on to inherit a very good fortune unexpectedly, her family and friends also suggest her the same thing. However, she does not seem to have any interest in getting married again as she has different views. Octavia Darcy looks forward to live a new and independent life. When she sees that her half sisters and brothers are making efforts to get her married, Octavia decides to run away. She moves to Yorkshire and begins the adventure of trying to know more about her family that she did not actually know much about. During one of her stops on her adventurous journey, Octavia Darcy comes across a politician and landowner named Sholto Rutherford and indulges in a sword crossing with him. After some time, Octavia feels that she has been relieved of the tension of remarrying. Therefore, she decides to make a return back to London city.

While Octavia is there, she shares a house with Lady Susan, whom she finds a dashing woman. Just as Octavia begins to think that she has become secure in her life and does not have any more problems, a new problem comes into her life. This time, she gets caught up in her niece’s romantic problems. Due to this, the shadow of an old nemesis of the members of the Darcy family, George Warren, falls on Octavia Darcy. Because of his interaction with George Warren, she feels the threat of losing both her reputation and inheritance. This book was very much appreciated by the readers as well as a number of critics. It proved to be another amazing book derived from Jane Austen’s already popular novel. On the whole, it appears to be a fantastic romance book. The readers found it to be a pleasant read. Author Ashton has not written this book as a normal romance novel. In fact, she has used most of the elements similar to that of Austen’s, the main focus not being on the romance of the lead characters. The romance actually involves the families, friends, relatives, and loved ones of the main characters, and not them alone. Many readers found it very refreshing to read a story like this. Author Ashton was highly appreciated for her well written description of the story.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Darcys

Leave a Reply