Book Notification

Dark Angel Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Dark Angel Books

The Ideal Wife (1991)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Precious Jewel (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dark Angel (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
Lord Carew's Bride (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Famous Heroine (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Plumed Bonnet (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Christmas Bride (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon

Chronological Order of Dark Angel Books

Dark Angel(1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
Lord Carew's Bride(1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Famous Heroine(1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Plumed Bonnet(1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Ideal Wife(1991)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Precious Jewel(1993)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Christmas Bride(1997)Description / Buy at Amazon

Dark Angel is a set of historical romance books written by Welsh-Canadian bestselling novelist Mary Balogh. The series take place in the Regency– a time full of betrayal, passion, and intrigue. The first novel in the series, The Ideal Wife was first published in 1991. However, the first book in the recommended reading order is Dark Angel released in 1994. The series concluded after seven books in 1997 with A Christmas Bride was released.

Dark Angel / Lord Carew Bride

From the New York and the USA Today bestselling novelist Mary Balogh comes two tales of love that turned the awful bad set during the Regency England- a time rife with betrayal, passion, and intrigue.

Dark Angel

In this classic tale, Miss Jennifer Winwood has made her way into town for the very first season, and she is very excited. Unlike many other girls, she is not here to snag a husband since that was set half a decade ago when she was fifteen when her father arranged her betrothal to an heir to an earldom by the name Viscount Kersey. For five good years, she has developed and worshiped a mental image of Kersey and the happy afterlife they would have as a couple. The joy of finally getting to see Kersey and having their wedding arranged and made official is one thought that she cannot bear.

On the other hand, we are introduced to Earl of Thornhill, Gabriel who has recently returned to London after a long vacation on the continent with his stepmother. However, the rumors are that Gabriel had fled with his stepmother after getting her pregnant and leaving his daddy to perish of a broken heart and then deserting her in Europe when he got tired of her. However, as always even in real life, rumors are always far from the truth, and Gabriel has returned to get revenge on his stepmother faithless lover.

After getting news that the villain is recently engaged, he sets out to ensure that the engagement does not last and hopes that he will embarrass Kersey in the process. All these “scenes” takes place in the first few chapters. The author establishes Kersey as one of your stereotypical 80’s and 90’s movie villain. He is blond, has blue eyes, handsome and unfailingly charismatic. Unfortunately, for Jeny, she did not get the memo and this being Regency, she lacks HBO and Lifetime, and she does not know that blond guys are just panty-invading villains. The story now gets parched upon her ignorance and trusting every single world the villain says she plays right into a disaster that one can see in the distance.

Dark Angels is a well-written narrative. The romance that exists between Gabriel and Jennifer’s is drawn out slowly and organically through great bits of conversations. Additionally, the voice pitching perfectly matches the Regency throughout the story. The love expressed in this novel is not only evident between Gabriel and Jennifer but also between Jenifer and her cousin Samantha.

Lords Carew’s Bride

After her cousin Jennifer’s fiancé Viscount Kersey used her in a scheme that left her broken hearted and her cousin’s feelings quite hurt, she has decided that she will not fall in love again. Six years later, after she runs away with Kersey Samantha Newman is quite a happy spinster. She decides a visit to the country and takes a long walk so as to put distance between herself and the happy young family. During her walk, she meets a handsome landscape artist by the name Hartley Wade when her trail leads her to the property of the Marquess of Carew.

She finds herself at ease with him, falling into easy conversation and the comfortable silences. They quickly develop a friendship, soon meet secretly in the afternoons for leisure walks and chat amiably.

Hartley is more than just the well-spoken and the gardener Samantha presumes to be, he is the Marquess of Carew. He is surprised to find out that such a beautiful woman neither recognizes his name nor his reputation, but he plays along with her misperception.

Hartley crippled at a young age; he is afraid that women could be pursuing his fortune alone rather than love. When he discovers that Samantha loves him despite the fact that he is crippled and just a “mere gardener” he cannot believe his luck. Suddenly to him it becomes clear that he could have what he had always wished for- a woman he could love and one who could love him for who he was and not what he had.

Lords Carew’s Bride is love at first sight story at its heart. Just moments after meeting Samantha Newman, Hartley confesses that he is in love with her. On the other word, Samantha does well even though she will not use the “I love you” expression particularly for herself.

The author does a fantastic job of ensuring that the mutual attraction between the two is expressed through their peaceful silences, easy conversation, and shared thoughts.

The Ideal Wife

When Abigail Gardiner, knocks at the door of Earl of Severn, Miles Ripley, the last thing that she expects from him is a marriage proposal. She is desperate and had come to this charming stranger’s home to plea for her future. To their surprise, she accepts the proposal, but her hasty decision will have unexpected consequences neither she nor her husband can foresee.

On the one hand, Miles has his reasons for marrying her and on the other; Abigail has some hidden secrets that she does not want to share. Now as distrusts gives way to desire, but a devastating scandal threatens their marriage life. However, these two young newlyweds will risk anything for a love that has changed them for the best, the kind of love that everyone seeks but only a few ever find it.

The Ideal Wife is a great romantic read were the hero, and the heroine gets married at the initial stages of the novel and then fall in love later during the narrative. The main and the supporting in this story are likable, and the plot development is fantastic. If you love historical romance novels set during the Regency England, then Mary Balogh books will be an ideal addition to your book library.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Dark Angel

Leave a Reply