Book Notification

Dark Scream Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Dark Screams Anthology Books

Dark Screams: Volume One (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dark Screams: Volume Two (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dark Screams: Volume Three (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dark Screams: Volume Four (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dark Screams: Volume Five (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dark Screams: Volume Six (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dark Screams: Volume Seven (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dark Screams: Volume Eight (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dark Screams: Volume Nine (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Dark Scream is a series of Sci-Fi/Fantasy/Horror anthologies. The series brings together some of the biggest names in the horror business.

+The Story
These books began publication in 2014. The first volume brought five stories to readers from the likes of Stephen King.

The anthology was very varied in its structure, delivering stories about meteorites falling to earth, sane men going to asylums and innocent bystanders getting chained to murderers.

The volume was not exactly a breakout hit. The stories were hit and miss for many people, and the divisive opinions killed some of the interest amongst skeptical readers.

However, the work was by no means a failure. And even Brian James Freeman will tell you that the anthology primarily succeeded because of its prestige. Even with the divisive opinions surrounding the stories within, it is hard to imagine anyone turning down the chance to read a volume constituting the works of authors like Stephen King and Ramsey Campbell.

And that has always been the genius of these anthologies, which continued to publish new volumes in the years that followed. The books use the popularity of their contributing authors to add a sense of prestige and credibility to the stories within.

According to Freeman, he intended the series to become a collection of short stories that would exceed the expectations people had about horror and suspense.

But he didn’t just want to highlight the works of the world’s most popular authors. He also wanted readers to sample the works of those writers that had largely gone unnoticed but whose talent as storytellers and content creators is unmatched.

Even though Brian James Freeman is most commonly associated with Dark Screams series, he typically collaborates on the project with Richard Chizmar, his fellow editor. They have both done a lot of work with Cemetery Dance Publications.

+The Author
Brian James Freeman was born in 1979 in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. He began his writing career by contributing fiction to magazines and anthologies. His first novel wasn’t published until 2004. At the time, the author was using the James Kidman Pseudonym.

His debut novel was a success, with Black Fire’ earning a Bram Stoker award nomination. A graduate of the Shippensburg University from where he studied journalism, Brian has his own publishing company.

The author has had the opportunity to work closely with Stephen King.

+Dark Scream 1
King, Campbell, Simon Clark, Pronzini and Armstrong were the first people to contribute to Brian James Freeman’s Dark Screams series.

Stephen took the first slot with Weeds’, a story that follows Jordy Verrill, a gentleman who must make some adjustments to his expectations about life when a meteorite comes down near him

The man is so certain that the rock will make him bucket loads of money. It doesn’t occur to him that the meteorite might be dangerous. And by the time he learns of the uncompromising force hiding within, it is too late. He has been identified as its first target.

Kelley Armstrong follows King with The Price You Pay’. This tale follows Kara and her friend Ingrid who have a date with vengeance.

Magic Eyes’ from Bill Pronzini finds Edward James Tolliver taking some solace from the insane individuals that are now his companions. Edward isn’t crazy, that much is clear. However, he also knows that if he begins raving about the invaders, people are going to confuse him for a madman. But he might not have much of a choice in the matter. Someone needs to learn the truth before it is too late.

Simon Clark’s Murder in Chains’ is a heart-pounding story about an individual that wakes up to find that his life has been linked to that of a massive man with murderous intentions. There is nothing he won’t do to save himself.

Ramsey Campbell rounds things out with The Watched’, a tale in which Jimmy sees something he shouldn’t have and lives to regret it.

Of all these stories, Stephen King’s Weeds’ is normally the most popular. The story was included in the movie Creepshow’. However, the adaptation was panned for its cheesy approach to storytelling. The story was far better received in its literary format because it provided added insight into the mind of Jordy.

Ramsey Campbell’s The Watched’ was the most negatively critiqued. Its characters were accused of being flat and its overall plot boring.

+Dark Scream 2
The 2nd volume continues Brian James Freeman’s trend of collecting the best short stories the most renowned authors of horror fiction have to offer and presenting them to readers.

Volume two of Dark Screams features Robert McCammon, Norman Prentiss, Shawntelle Madison, Graham Masterton and Christian Matheson.

McCammon kicks things off with The Deep End’. The story follows Neil Calder who everyone thinks tragically drowned to death in the local swimming pool. However, Neil’s father seems to know the truth of what really happened. When Neil finally comes back on the last night of summer, the only thought on his mind is revenge. And he has no intention of letting anything or anyone get in his way.

Norma Prentiss writes Interval’, the story of a flight that goes missing on its way from St Louis to Nashville. The ticket clerk is largely helpless, watching the friends and family of the passengers on the missing flight as they mill around the gate. As the situation escalates, the clerk witnesses a moment of great evil and inhumanity.

Shawntelle Madison offers to readers If These Walls Could Talk’. The story looks at Eleanor who goes to Maine to prepare an old Victorian house. Eleanor loves her work and it isn’t long before she loses herself in the tasks at hand. She has no idea how far her current job will take her.

Graham Masterton contributed The Nigh Hider’ to the volume. The story follows Dawn as she comes to the realization that there is a door in her wardrobe that leads to a place of nightmares.

Matheson’s Whatever’ brings the volume to a close with the tale of a 1970s rock band taking one hell of a trip.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Dark Scream

Leave a Reply