Book Notification

Daughters of Lancaster Country Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Daughters Of Lancaster County Books

The Storekeeper's Daughter (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Quilter's Daughter (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Bishop's Daughter (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon

Daughters of Lancaster County

The Daughters of Lancaster is a trilogy Amish/Christian fiction books by Wanda E Brunstetter. Wanda is a renowned author of Amish novels, and her storytelling ability has put her among the best authors on the market. The Daughters of Lancaster series is in no way different, it’s intriuging and tells beautiful stories of an Amish family and their journey through a life riddled with sorrow, challenges, and their triumph over love and faith in the face of adversity.
While the series centers on one family, the story weaves in many other characters, and all books are filled with exciting twists and turns. Wander E. Brunstetter began her Daughters of Lancaster County series in 2005 when The Storekeeper’s Daughter, the first in the series was published. The trilogy concluded with The Bishop’s Daughter in 2006. Each book in the trilogy can be read as a standalone.

The Storekeeper’s Daughter

The Storekeeper’s Daughter is the first book in Daughters of Lancaster County trilogy. Think of an Amish family with a child coming of age and thinking about starting her own family. All her plans seem to be going on well until ma passes on unexpectedly. Now, the young woman is tasked with the responsibility of running a household and taking care of her seven siblings. Also, she has to help her father, Abraham, who is still coming to terms with his wife’s loss, run the family store.

Naomi is the firstborn in the Fisher family when her mother dies; she automatically steps into her mother’s shoes and is tasked with taking care of her siblings. Understandably, she is overwhelmed, what with the numerous jobs she has to complete daily, and the constant bickering of the younger children. It does not help that her father compares her to his late wife, and he expects her to carry out all her duties to perfection. Because of her responsibilities to the family, Naomi’s father also prevents a man who loves Naomi from courting her.

Life takes an exciting twist when Naomi’s small brother disappears. The kidnapping of the youngest of the children brings back all the hurt and resentment between father and daughter, and hurtful words are exchanged. Naomi’s dad does not hide the fact that she blames her for her younger brother’s kidnapping. Naomi decides to run away, accompanied by her English friend, Ginny. It is not until Naomi runs away that the grieving father realizes just how much he has lost. With the help of Fannie, he discovers just how unfair he has been to his eldest daughter.

Once Naomi comes back home, her father apologizes to her and put a lot of effort to try and mend their relationship. He goes to the extent of reaching out to Caleb, the young man he initially didn’t want to court his daughter despite knowing that Naomi also had deep feelings for him. Finally, Naomi catches a break and gets her happy ending.

The Storekeeper’s Daughter is one of the books where you will fall in love with all the characters. Despite their misgivings, their pain will make it easy for you to understand them. It is a good thing that this is not an all gloom story. There are some happy moments, some hope, and the joy that accompanies mended relationships. There are also bible verses that depict the faith that the characters have in God, and it’s a great read that combines different plots into a masterpiece.

The Quilter’s Daughter

The Quilter’s Daughter is the second book in this series. It’s a continuation of the Fisher and the Scotts family. While these are two families live miles apart and do not know each other in the first place, their connection is interesting. At the end of the first book in this series, we get to see that Abraham has reconnected with Fannie, and the love between Naomi and Caleb is thriving.

The book features Abby Miller, a hardworking young woman with an unshakable faith in God. Abby is the daughter of Fannie, and just like her mother, she is a good woman. She is madly in love with her fiancé, Lester, and is looking forward to a happy marriage soon. Her passion for quilting sees her setting up a business that is already doing well. Life could not be better for this young girl.

Abby’s mother, who has just remarried in Lancaster County, is pregnant with twins. Abby chooses to leave her quilt shop and her fiancé in Ohio to go and help her mother. She stays with her mother for a while until she is strong enough to care for her twins. Just when Abby is preparing to go back to Ohio, disaster strikes, and Abby’s is shaken to the core. She questions her faith goes through the motions of bitterness, and for some time, Abby wallows in depression.
Abby and her Mom’s cousin set on a trip to Washington. Abby is looking to make something out of the ashes, and time away from family and friends seems like a good idea. To everyone’s relief, this trip to a far off land changes her life for the better. It is in Washington that Abby comes to terms with the tragedy and gets rid of her depression. After her stay in Washington, Abby gets ready to continue living and enjoying her life.
A lot goes on in this book. On one side, Abraham and Fannie are happy and already expanding their family. Naomi, who had her fair share of troubles in the first book, is finally happy, and Abby is dealing with a devastating loss. In the end, love wins. The love shared by family and friends works to lessen the burden and help Abby in coping with her loss.

If you enjoy Amish fiction, you will love this book. The plot is simple, yet the twists and turns in the story will have you captivated till the end. Unlike most sequels, you can enjoy this book as a standalone. There are enough hints in the book to give you a rough idea of what happened in the first book.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Daughters of Lancaster Country

Leave a Reply