Book Notification

David Allin Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Night Laager (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Storming the Gates of Eden (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Crescent (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Parrot's Beak (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Ba Nha Incident (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Attack on Nui Ba Den (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Snipe Hunt (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Firefight (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Prey for the Sniper (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Delta Tango (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Combat Loss (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dirty Work (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Body Count (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Vengeance (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Broken Heroes (As: David L. Allin) (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Valley of Death (As: David L. Allin) (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ambush Patrol (As: David L. Allin) (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Dalton Boys (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

David Allin is a military fiction novelist from Oklahoma who is best known for his “Vietnam War” novels.

Allin published “Snipe Hunt” his debut novel and the first of the “A Viet Nam War Novel” series of novels in 2018. The series of novels would become so popular that he would kick on from there to publish at least a dozen works of fiction in the same setting.’

Going back even earlier, David Allin went to the University of Oklahoma in 1968. Following his graduation from college, he joined the U.S. Army almost immediately, given that they needed people to fight the “Vietnam War.”
He would become an infantryman in Vietnam and was so good at his job that he won several awards including two Bronze Stars, the Purple Heart, and the Combat Infantryman’s Badge.

After coming back from Vietnam, he served as a Russian language specialist at Military Intelligence and served in West Germany on three separate tours. It was during this time that he also became an arms control inspector and traveled to the Soviet Union.
In 1991, Allin retired from the US military as a First Sergeant and then spent two decades in the healthcare industry before he retired. He now makes his home in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma where he loves to play with cars.

David Allin’s novel “Snipe Hunt” tells an interesting story of inexperienced Army snipers who are dropped in the deep end. They were sent to a Michelin rubber plantation controlled by the communists, where they were to spend five days on a mission trying to intercept a critical target.

The two snipers are the recently promoted Trey Jefferson and Nash Jaramillo who work alongside two spotters. The fifth team member is a former Viet Cong Man who betrayed his countrymen but has not managed to earn the trust of his colleagues in the sniper team.
The hastily assembled strike team needs to find the enemy, which is not so easy in the endless rows of rubber trees with no one to back them up. Their first contact with the enemy reveals a dangerous but valuable secret that turns them from hunters to hunted.
They have to deal with some very dangerous encounters with the enemy while hoping that they will ultimately get some help from the mechanized infantry platoon.

It is an exciting work full of nonstop action that is very intriguing to the end where you also get a very surprising ending.

“Firefight” by David Allin opens with a helicopter crash landing deep in the woods of Boi Loi. It is up to Lieutenant Carr and his platoon to go rescue the men in the wreckage but the rescue turns out to be particularly difficult.
Mechanical problems and a swamp force Carr to send their armored personnel carrier back to camp and proceed on foot, even as they race against oncoming nightfall and are hounded by the Viet Cong.

When they get to the wreckage, they find the pilot seriously injured and the co-pilot dead, even though there are several survivors on board. Carr now has to deal with a demanding nurse, an obnoxious colonel, and three USO entertainers from Japan.
Unsure of their location and hunted by the enemy, the motley crew will have to survive a dark and stormy night, even as they engage in firefights as they wait for a dawn rescue. Throw in a mysterious monk, a lost temple, and a fake Viet Cong, which makes for even more bizarre circumstances.

It is another great installment with plenty of drama, unexpected humor, constant danger, and intense action that you just cannot put down.

David Allin’s novel “The Crescent” opens with Aaron Samples a battle-hardened sergeant having just arrived in Vietnam.

He has always hated lieutenants, particularly Stephen Carr the second lieutenant and new platoon leader. Since he just arrived in the country, Carr is unsure of his competence and courage and resents Samples attitude.

Somehow, they need to find a way to work together to protect and lead their men during three days of heavy fighting in the heavy woods west of Dau Tieng, which is known as “the Crescent.” It is a stretch full of North Vietnamese soldiers, who are looking to ambush their units in increasingly vicious battles.

The most vicious of these is the third ambush and Samples and Carr who are believed dead are left behind. They have no hope as they are tapped behind enemy lines and only have to rely on each other to evade capture, as they walk for miles to get out of a zone crawling with the Viet Cong.

Book Series In Order » Authors » David Allin

Leave a Reply