Book Notification

David Baddiel Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Time For Bed (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
Whatever Love Means (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Secret Purposes (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Death of Eli Gold (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Children's Books

The Parent Agency (With: Jim Field) (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Person Controller (With: Jim Field) (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Boy Who Could Do What He Liked (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
AniMalcolm (With: Jim Field) (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Birthday Boy (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Head Kid (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Taylor Turbochaser (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Future Friend (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Boy Who Got Accidentally Famous (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Virtually Christmas (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Mary Whitehouse Experience Encyclopedia (With: Robert Newman) (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Official Baddiel and Skinner Fantasy Football Diary (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
Jews Don't Count (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The God Desire (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

The Atheist's Guide to Christmas(2009)Description / Buy at Amazon

About David Baddiel

A highly vocal author and performer with a lot to say, British comedian David Baddiel is recognized around the world. Coming up in the nineties through shows like ‘Fantasy Football League,’ he’s made a name for himself with his unique and distinctive brand. Working with fellow comedians such as Rob Newman and Frank Skinner, he’s become a permanent fixture of the British comedy establishment. Regularly seen on both the television and radio, he’s become a familiar presence for many, speaking and performing often.

Known for a wide-range of work, from stand-up, comedy TV shows, to documentaries, articles and books, he’s a highly visible personality. His activism has also been instrumental in bringing to light various different contemporary issues, as he has made his voice heard. With an active presence online as well, he’s regularly spoken out through social-media sites such as Twitter as well. A prolific figure, he’s recently come to have written a number of books as well, including titles for readers both young and old.

His work has gone to reach a worldwide audience, with his name and writing now being recognized far and wide. Publishing both fiction and non-fiction titles, he’s released a number of different books that vary in their styles and genres. Often discussing subjects that are close to him, he writes for a variety of different outlets and publications, along with his own books. With more titles to follow there’s further books in the pipeline, as he doesn’t appear to be finishing any time soon.

Early and Personal Life

Born in Troy, New York, on the 28th of May in 1964, David Baddiel would move with his family to England at the age of just four months old. Coming from a Jewish family, his father, Colin Brian Baddiel, was a chemist, while Sarah, his mother, was born in Nazi Germany, escaping the regime with her parents when she was five months of age. Growing up in the area of Dollis Hill in London, he was raised with his brothers Dan and Ivor, with Ivor going on to become a writer himself.

Attending North West London Jewish Day School based in Brent, he would go on to Haberdashers’ Aske’s Boys’ School, a public school in Elstree. He would then go on to study at King’s College in Cambridge, becoming a Cambridge Footlights member, and going on to gain a double first BA in English. Studying for his PhD for a period of time at University College in London, he would soon turn to performing and writing, which he continues to do, living with his wife Morwenna Banks in North London.

Writing Career

Starting out in stand-up as a professional comedian, David Baddiel would also write for other acts and television shows, including for Rory Bremner and Spitting Image. He would then go on to star in TV sitcoms and shows himself, beginning with ‘Filthy, Rich and Catflap,’ followed by the radio and TV sketch-show ‘The Mary Whitehouse Experience.’ Partnering with fellow comic Rob Newman, the two of them would go on to create ‘Newman and Baddiel in Pieces,’ which would later sell-out Wembley with a live stage version of the show.

After this he would go on to star alongside the comedian Frank Skinner in ‘Fantasy Football League,’ and this would later see them performing the Soccer anthem ‘Three Lions,’ co-written with The Lightning Seeds. Following this he would begin writing books, the first of which was titled ‘Time For Bed’ released in 1996, and he’d also write several children’s books later on as well. Winning awards for his work and writing, he continues to write to this day, as well as making appearances in the media, which he will continue to do for some time yet.

Jews Don’t Count

First published in 2021 on the 4th of February, this would come out through the ‘TLS Books’ publishing imprint. Well received by critics upon its release, it would also go on to become a bestseller achieving commercial success worldwide. A work of non-fiction, it’s a stand-alone title, looking at anti-Semitism across popular media, focusing on social media for large portions of the book.

Taking a look at the problem of modern anti-Semitism, this book casts a light on how it has become ingrained in society. Often overlooked when it comes to racism, Baddiel provides an analysis of anti-Semitism, and how it can be better handled in the future. As a form of racism, he explains how being anti-Semitic has been sidelined, and how this needs to be rectified in order to make real progress. The history of anti-Semitism is highlighted, as it brings to the forefront the roots of this insidious and pernicious form of racism.

Over the course of the book Baddiel highlights why it is that Jewish people aren’t regarded as a real minority in comparison to others. Using a semi-autobiographical structure for the book, he comes to understand this problem through his own experiences as a British Jewish man. Adapted as a television documentary produced by Channel 4 as well, it’s now brought the issue to light for an even larger audience worldwide.

The Parent Agency

A children’s book aimed at younger readers, this would initially arrive in 2014 on the 9th of October, working as an entirely stand-alone title. Published through the ‘HarperCollins Children’s Books’ imprint, it was a fantasy adventure story, and was illustrated by Jim Field. With Fox 2000 Pictures owning the film rights to a film adaptation, it’s also all set to be adapted for the big-screen as well.

Sick and tired of his parents, Barry Bennett feels that they’re too strict and boring, so he makes a wish for some new ones. His wish then whisks him off to an alternate world where children get to choose their parents on their tenth birthday, which for Barry is in five days time. Over the course of those five days he must pick a new parent, as he wonders if he’s really getting everything he wants. Will he find the perfect parents, what will happen to his old ones, and how will he fare while dealing with the Parent Agency?

Aimed at a young audience, the book has a fantasy narrative using elements of science-fiction to tell its story. The first book in ‘The Blockbuster Baddiel Box Series’ of novels, each story would be an entirely self-contained narrative, with them all being books for children. Each of them would also be illustrated by Jim Field, himself a winner of the ‘Roald Dahl Funny Prize,’ as he would follow up with two more books over the following two years.

Book Series In Order » Authors » David Baddiel

Leave a Reply