Book Notification

David Brunelle Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of David Brunelle Legal Thriller Books

Presumption of Innocence (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tribal Court (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
By Reason of Insanity (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Prosecutor for the Defense (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Beyond a Reasonable Doubt (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Case Theory (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Substantial Risk (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Corpus Delicti (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Accomplice Liability (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Lack of Motive (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Missing Witness (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Diminished Capacity (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Devil's Plea Bargain (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Homicide in Berlin (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Premeditated Intent (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Alibi Defense (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Defense of Others: (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Necessity (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

David Brunelle is the lead character in a legal thriller novel series by New York best-selling writer Stephen Penner. Brunelle works as a homicide prosecutor working in Seattle Washington. The author Stephen works as a part-time writer, adjunct law professor and an attorney based in Seattle Washington. He spent his childhood years in Detroit Michigan and began writing fantasy adventures and murder mysteries while still in elementary school. He began his career as a legal defense attorney in downtown Seattle, later switched sides and became a prosecutor, and finally changed to homicides.

As an author, he currently writes David Brunelle thriller series which features the lead character District Attorney David Attorney and a repeatedly cast of police officers, forensic experts, and defense attorney. Apart from the Legal thriller, the author also writes Maggie Devereaux paranormals which are themed on an American graduate student working in Magical Highlands of Scotland.

David Brunelle Series by Stephen Penner began with the first publication of the debut novel Presumption of Innocence in 2012. The second book Tribal Court was published the following year after the debut novel, By Reason of Insanity, is the third novel published the same year as the second one. Currently, the series is ongoing and consist of 7 stories with the latest on the show being Accomplice Liability.

Presumption of Innocence
This is the first book in which the series, District Attorney makes his debut, but faces the most challenging case of his career life. One innocent girl is brutally murdered in the evilest and cruel manner. The only evidence the prosecutor has against the serial killer is a confession by the killer accomplice- a girl that he also victimized. Unfortunately, the murder accomplice is also charged with murder, therefore, meaning that she has the right to remain silent. Also, she is also afraid of the killer and thus refuses to testify against the murderer. District Attorney Brunelle cannot just let the killer walk get away with a murder that he has no evidence and while the presumption of innocence protects the murderer? Brunelle must do whatever it takes to ensure that the killer is brought to justice.

This novel is tight, while the pace is consistent representing a courtroom drama with the court scenes vividly described and cleverly drafted to keep the reader’s attention captured throughout the entire novel.

Tribal Court
A man is brutally murdered in Seattle Pioneer Square, and the killer is caught some yards away with blood still on his hands. It is later discovered that both the victim and the killer belong to the same Native America tribe which now demands that D.A Brunelle prosecute the case in their tribal court. Things get sour when the defense attorney sums up that the killing justified according to the ancient customs of blood revenge. It all gets from worse to worst when the blood revenge eventually turns into a blood feud, and soon bodies begin piling up, and almost seemingly, Brunelle might be the next victim. Now Brunelle is faced with two most challenging options, first to stay alive and secondly to win the case.

The author, Penner is quite a remarkable writer, he has a great imagination which he utilizes t create an interesting plots, twists, and turns, lots of drama sprinkled with humor rye.

A Prosecutor for the Defense
Throughout his career, the lead character Seattle D.A has spent almost his entire career life prosecuting criminals. However, when Kat Anderson, a medical examiner also Brunelle girlfriend request him to travel to California to defend her estranged husband charged with murder he just cannot say no. Not only Brunelle has to deal with his prosecutorial instincts but also with the unhelpful detective, a smooth talking D.A, and a client who will not give straight answers. As the case unfolds and evidence piles up, Brunelle waits for the perfect moment to save his client from being convicted.

By Reason of Insanity
Sometimes the easiest cases can be the toughest. In this, the defendant, a mentally ill woman positively killed her mother. In this case, David Brunelle, the homicide prosecutor is tasked with proving and holding her responsible despite the efforts of the defense team and a psychologist who firmly believes that the accused is innocent While the case precedes more pressures build making Brunelle question his sanity as well. D.A David Brunelle must, therefore, crack the case mystery, or the case breaks him.

Corpus Delicti
A murder case with a missing body, even the most qualified D.A in the whole world on a good day would have trouble in winning the case where the police officers could never get the victims remains/body. It has been long since Dave Brunelle had a good day. His romantic life is a mess, and his good friend does not want anything to do with him. With the defense team armed with the top qualified defense attorney and a defendant with his guts, it will take almost everything for Brunelle to make the killer pay for his sins.

Accomplice Liability
When a drug- addict serving as a police informant is found killed, and his body disposed of in public as a warning, Homicide prosecutor Brunelle now faces a prosecution nightmare of his life. The principal suspect in the murder is a drug lord whom the dead man was snitching, and the witnesses are also accomplices to the assassination itself. Deals need to be cut, decisions made as Brunelle struggles to go through a maze defense and conspirators to get the answer to his dilemma. Will justice be served, with a collection of scared hangers-on and drugs addicts? Brunelle encounters past opponents, new friends, as he tries to make the killer responsible.

David Brunelle series is one of the top rated legal thriller book series, the main and secondary character are well and clearly drafted with a good flow and character interaction from each scene to another.

Book Series In Order » Characters » David Brunelle

Leave a Reply