Book Notification

David Gibbins Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Jack Howard Books

Atlantis (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Crusader Gold (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lost Tomb / The Last Gospel (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Tiger Warrior (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Mask Of Troy (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Atlantis God / The Gods of Atlantis (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Pharaoh (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Pyramid (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Testament (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Inquisition (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Total War Rome Books

Destroy Carthage (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Sword of Attila (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

A History of the World in Twelve Shipwrecks (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

David Gibbins was born in 1962 in Canada to English parents who were both academic scientists. He traveled around the world with his parents as a boy by sea. He is a proud achiever of First class honors from the University of Bristol in Ancient Mediterranean studies. He also has a PhD from Cambridge university as a Research scholar of the Corpus Christi college, specializing in Archeology which he completed in 1990. He spent most of his 90s at the University of Liverpool as a lecturer in the school of Archeology, classics and oriental studies.

Gibbins spent ten years as an academic in England, teaching archeology and ancient history before becoming a full-time writer focusing on archeological thrillers inspired by his own experiences. He left academia to write novels based on his own background.David has been a passionate diver since he was a boy and his novels are mostly inspired by his experiences as an archeologist and a diver.

He has led various archeology expeditions to investigate historic shipwrecks and other underwater sites in places like the Mediterranean, Canada and Britain. For example, he was involved in the excavation of ancient Rome shipwrecks off Sicily. He was also part of an international team involved in the 5th century BC shipwreck in Turkey.

His written works include 8 Jack Howard series books, 2 Total war Rome Series and several non-fictional works in archeology.
He has written ten novels in 30 languages with over three million copies sold. A TV mini-series based on the Atlantis novel was in preparation by Akkord film and muse entertainment with preparation planned for 2012. He is a fellow of the Royal Geographical Society, Royal Society of Arts and the Winston Churchill Memorial Trust fellow.

His various works on ancient shipwreck sites have been published in various journals, books and magazines. His first novel,Atlantis, was published in the United Kingdom in 2005 and in the United States of America in 2006. The mother of his daughter is a philosopher and a broadcaster called Angie Hobbs.


The Jack Howard Series by David Gibbins is a captivating read centered on one interesting character called Jack Howard who is portrayed as the protagonist in the thriller novels. He is a marine archeologist who loves to travel all over the world solving puzzles and in search of relics. The series comprises of eight books and is currently ongoing.

The first book of the Jack Howard series, Atlantis, was published in 2005 in the United Kingdom and in the year 2006, in the United States of America. The story comes to life with the introduction of a character who is a marine archeologist called Jack Howard. Jack has a clue on the key to uncovering Atlantis, which is a legendary sunken city that was built by a flourishing culture. In that regard, Jack assembles a team that consists of Costas, who is an MIT- and Stanford-trained expert in “submersible technology” and Katya, a beautiful Russian Atlantis specialist. Once in the Aegean sea, Jack and his team are captured by Kazakhstan terrorists. They are later involved in a multi-country fight over a missing Soviet nuclear submarine before uncovering ancient secrets of the lost city. It proves harder and harder to put the book down once you get started with reading the book a sit is very adventurous, has a great suspense, exciting drama and lots of unexpected turn of events. If you are a lover of history, fiction and technology, this is definitely the book for you!
Interestingly, David Gibbins’ second book of the Jack Howard series, Crusader Gold, was a New York Times best seller in 2007. This was soon after its publication in 2006. The book is centered on the golden menorah from the Jewish temple that was locked away in Rome. The story picks up at Turkey with marine archeologist Jack Howard and his International Maritime University team’s search for the greatest Hebrew’s lost treasure, the menorah. The menorah had been stolen from the Hebrew temple by the Romans in AD70 and it is a huge golden candlestick stolen by the Romans in AD70 when they attacked the Temple in Jerusalem and marched through Rome in triumph.Jack is thus on a hunt for ancient treasure, the menorah, in the harbor of Istanbul, which was formerly called Constantinople. Jack soon learns from his colleagues ,Jeremy and Maria, that the Menorah, which was one of the items of treasures in the harbor, has been stolen by Harald Hardrada, who was a Norse warrior during his service to Constantinople emperor. Harald Hardrada took the menorah upon his explorations of the New world.

When Jack goes to see a priest at a monastery in Iona based in Scotland, the priest tells him that the Nazi Ahnenerbe had been on the trail of the menorah in the 1930s. Later on the priest is found gruesomely murdered, evidencing the present-day Nazi who are shadowing the priests. In a twist of events, Jack and Costas dive into an iceberg in Greenland, consecutively running into a perfect Viking ship that was preserved for burial containing one of Herald Hardrada’s warriors. This sets them heading to L’Anse aux Meadows which is a Viking site in Greenland. There, they establish further clues that leads them to the Yucatan place in Mexico where Herald Hardrada and his men were having a standoff with Maya. The writer takes us into an adventurous and perilous dive with Jack into Cenote where Jack discovers the truth concerning Hardrada’s last stand and the whereabouts of the stolen menorah. It is noteworthy that the final standoff between Jack and the latter-day Nazi and his trench men who had been on his trail is a nerve-tickling book experience. Of Course, being a book with a lot of historical elaborations, the book ends with a lengthy detail of the historical and archeological facts behind the fiction in the novel.

It is very clear that the Jack Howard series is rich with plentiful and detailed descriptions of historical events and characters. It is definitely the perfect book that never disappoints your love for reading!

Book Series In Order » Authors » David Gibbins

4 Responses to “David Gibbins”

  1. Jerry O'Connor Bottari: 1 year ago

    Just finished book 10 and loved it like I did the first 9! I was really surprised when the actual pirate, Henry Avery, factored into the novel! I recognized his name right away since he has been linked to some New England history dealing with pirates! In fact, his name was mentioned in 2021 when Arabian silver coins were unearth in RI. Maybe, another Jack Howard story? Hopefully!

  2. Kathleen Buligan: 2 years ago

    Love the combination of real-life archeological information and the adventure.

  3. Jessa: 2 years ago

    Your a great author✍🏼🤝♥️…

  4. Francis: 3 years ago

    Awesome author. Keep up the fantastic work.


Leave a Reply